We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family celebration”
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Oak Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Great Ayton B&B and Inns
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family celebration”
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

A warm friendly place with lovely staff. The beer is execent. Four of us went for a meal. The starters were very good but a couple of us were slightly dissapointed with our main - my pork was overlooked. I have been here on several occasions in the past & always been happy. I will certainly go again despite my slight disappointment. The Parmo was lovely.

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    34
    16
    7
    4
See reviews for
23
24
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, England
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stopped here for a night and was more than happy with the room I had which was clean albeit a little tired and dated.

I've stopped in plenty of Pub/Inn type places and this was more than satisfactory, the staff were friendly and the beers were good (for real ale fans too) and I can't grumble for the £55 room rate. Breakfast was also really really good with quality sausages and bacon which always goes down well, plus there was plenty of it!

Next time i'm in the area I'll definately stop here again and although the rooms are a bit dated the pub is lovely and that and the friendly staff more than makes up for it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here as part of our walk along the Cleveland Way which was a brilliant walk. The surrounding countryside at this hotel is hard to beat. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful and the waiter who served us evening meal was amusing. The food is very good with a good choice - braised steak was excellent and veg weren't soggy. But the rooms are very tired and our bed was spongy and the springs popped as we moved in the night. They are also still using blankets and counterpanes instead of duvets which I prefer because you don't have your face close to blankets that others have sat upon. It's difficult to tell when blankets were last washed and I'm sure they're not washed between each visitor. One really good thing was the bath - after a long walk it was most welcome and rare nowadays.

The hotel is located opposite a lovely green and has a number of shops close-by; chemist, grocers, small supermarket and bank with ATM etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ponte55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Vistited in a group of 6 the Oak seems a bit more restaurant and less pub at the back after its buy out. Meat eaters served well but my 'lasagne' was a small amount of veg in a dish with about 3 inches of cheese on top. Dull. Wine was nice and service friendly professional and prompt, just the usual lack of thought for veggies as in most places.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HellyBoro27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
needham market
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

If i was marking this pub for its atmosphere and its food it would have got top marks.The friendly welcome when you hit the door starts the visit on a good note.The place was packed for the evening meal and my party were well pleased with the food provided.The only thing that lets it down is that the bedrooms and stairway are on the tired side and need a make over.Breakfast was good value.Would i visit again?yes but not for that something special .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crackermean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We were very glad to arrive at the Royal Oak after a 20m walk from Osmotherly, and were not disappointed. The rooms were clean, a bit old fashioned in decor and furnishings, but more than adequate for our needs.
The restaurant served good food, and was clearly very popular with the locals, always a good sign.
I'll certainly choose this place again, Everything we needed!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gos618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Booked here for a midweek walking break. Rooms were clean with soft fluffy towels, changed daily - though not asked for. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner who gave his personal attention to most things. His evening bar/catering staff worked extremely hard and managed to cater for everyones wishes, A very popular eating establishment with a good menu- early bird 'til 6-00 pm then another 'til 7-30 and the main menu to choose from. Beer a little pricey but cheaper than the only other pub in this pretty village.

Room Tip: Room 6 suffers slightly by being over the kitchen extractor, though not a problem when ccoking has c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotfeat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Ayton
2.7 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
5.2 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,459 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#6 of 11 in Middlesbrough
330 reviews
2.8 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
219 reviews
7.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Property: Royal Oak Hotel
Address: 123 High Street, Great Ayton TS9 6BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Great Ayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Great Ayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO THE ROYAL OAK HOTEL Situated on the beautiful High Green, in the heart of the picturesque village of Great Ayton, lies the Royal Oak Hotel. Built in the 1700s, originally a coaching inn, it has welcomed visitors from afar for centuries. With our cosy log fires, beamed ceilings and rustic charm, the Royal Oak offers excellent cask ales, fine wines, home cooked food, and a warm, welcoming atmosphere. On the edge of the North York Moors, the Royal Oak is the perfect place to call in for coffee, a pint, a delicious meal or to stay the night in one of our ensuite hotel rooms.If its private dining that you want, our function room can seat up to 35 for your occasion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Oak Hotel Great Ayton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing