We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, lovely place :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Great Ayton B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Stayed here last night for the first time and will definitely be looking to go back even if just for food. The 3 course set meal had great choice and was very tasty, the room was quaint and very comfortable and the breakfast this morning was beautiful. Great value for money at just £99.50 for two :)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Emma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Thank you for an excellent review and five stars too. We hope you return to stay and dine in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 278 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

My wife and I have been here lots of times over the last 20 years , I now know that the owners have changed and sold this to another owner , first the meal menu , there is potato skins and a Carlie dressing , well the were returned as they were potato pealings fried , no taste no appeal in looks and about 10 skinny pealings , not a good start . The main course roast of the day pork great till we got there at 1pm and on ordering told sorry the roast is now Turkey. After only 1 hour of serving the roast of the day ( get it of the day) non left , also the sweet trolley not around now, small selection ot deserts , and very repeated from last week , well thanks for the happy meals over the years , but we may move on to other places for our lunch break , the service was good if now a little slow ,

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank gkbCleveland.uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

How disappointing to read your review. Yes, the sweets trolley has gone but our desserts - made by our same talented kitchen team are the same! And we do like to try popular dishes like out potato skins - as opposed to 'pealings'. They certainly went down a treat with our other diners.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Visited for lunch with a friend we have lunched here on numerous occasions prior to October 2013. We were very disappointed with meal, e.g. roast beef not as good and a smaller portion. We were looking forward to our desserts but we're told sweet trolley no more. Portions and choice poor. Coffee no longer served in a cafetier, just a cup. Overall very disappointed and don't think we will be back.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
13  Thank NorthYorkshireJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

That's a shame to hear. While we no longer have a sweets trolley, we certainly have not altered our portion sizes. They are as hearty as ever.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We visited this eatery on Xmas eve afternoon (party of 6).
We all chose the set Menu which had enough choice to suit all tastes.
The food was served promptly and with courtesy.
It was a busy buzy place testament to it's popularity with Diners.

We have Been before and will certainly come again, enough said!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you for a lovely review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your meal and that you have eaten before. We hope to welcome you back again soon! Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had a family meal out to celebrate a birthday. We chose from the set menu, that changes every 7 days, and is great value. The food was excellent , the service first class and friendly. Will be going back next time I am in the area.
This was my second visit and it gets better and better

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PRO76, Public Relations Manager at The Kings Head Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

A great review - thank you - and thanks, too, for the five stars! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013

Visited for a quick cola en route & decided to return to try the food, so glad we did! Bar,food,service ALL second to none....will definitely return ! Ramblers welcome too & plenty of parking. Very busy at lunch times but as said ...very efficient . Might have an O/n stay too as the current offer is dinner/bed/breakfast for 2 @ £100.

Room Tip: If you fancy a trot up Roseberry Topping , return here for a hearty meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Been here before just for a meal but this time we stayed over paying £99 for a Room, Meal with half bottle of wine and Breakfast the next morning. Very good value for the money as you can end up spending 60/70+ just for the meal and drinks alone. Would definitely come back again loved it.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeeAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Ayton
3.9 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
1,526 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
229 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#3 of 4 in Great Ayton
90 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Old Rectory
The Old Rectory
#1 of 1 in Kildale
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Address: The Green | Newton-under-Roseberry, Great Ayton TS9 6QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Great Ayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Great Ayton
Price Range: $123 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing