We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Food” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Kings Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Kings Head Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Great Ayton B&B and Inns
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Worst Food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

looking at the reviews below I wish I had read them before I booked a table for my mam's birthday, The service was rubbish, one of the girls who serviced us, looked like she has swallowed a wasp, she as rude. we where made to feel that we were at fault when we asked her for 4 falks that were not on the table, after waiting 5 mins I had to go and get some!!! what can I say about the food, under cooked cold. They was 15 of us sitting down to dinnar, not one of us had a meal that was what we expected. I will never go back. Shame really as its in a very beautiful part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bounce2tigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    55
    32
    33
    29
See reviews for
80
105
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have stayed here several times since it first opened and came for a long weekend, a return visit after 4 years. The hotel looked as fresh as ever, the staff were helpful and the breakfast was excellent (especially the poached eggs and the scrambled egg & smoked salmon). The bed was comfortable and there was a choice of pillows. Although our room had a front-facing window there was no disturbance from the road.

We had pre-booked a table in the restaurant for our first night but were late arriving. The hotel receptionist, without our asking, immediately rang the restaurant to get them to hold the table for us. Restaurant food was good and the portions large and we had the best home-made sticky toffee pudding ever! The new system of taking orders at the table instead of queuing at the bar is a considerable improvement. It did take a while for menus to be brought to us and for our order to be taken, however after that the pace of service was very good. The Sunday roast was traditional Yorkshire cooking and good quality.

We are shocked by some of the very negative comments on TripAdvisor and don't understand where they have come from.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccmacc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

Decided to stop to try it for a meal on the way home to Whitby. We were shown to a table but not given menus- had to ask for them. Took ages before anyone came to take order. Chose the a la carte menu and the special board fillet steak. The starters came after a wait and were ok.
We ordered 2 rare fillet steaks, which when they arrived were virtually well done, vaguely pink!! When asked if they were alright, we commented on the well-done steaks, and was offered another, but having waited so long, decided to eat them as they were - mistake- good steaks ruined by bad cooking. Left some so the chef could see what they were like.We then ordered "deluxe home made cheesecake", the only home made part I think was mixing it from a packet!! It had the distinct false lemon after taste, and more of a packet mousse texture. The whole miserable experience cost just short of eighty pounds!! When we went to pay we were not offered an appology, and payed full price. The young staff were pleasant but not well trained. The manageress was inefficient and not very friendly.
Very disappointed, will not be returning and will not recommend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Plumtree20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Great Ayton hotels

Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

Touring around the Yorkshire Moors for the weekend we booked 3 rooms on their weekend special deal, after our motorcycles were parked up safely for the night we were greeted by a pleasent receptionist who was very thorough in showing us how things worked in the rooms.We had booked our evening meal for about 8.00pm after a pre dinner drink we were shown to our table by a friendly waitress who looked after all six of us very well. The food was of high quality and generous portions. We all retired to the bar for the remainder of the evening and looked after by the bartender.The next morning we were greeted again by friendly waitress and supplied with a more than good breakfast.
Our only gripe would be softer pillows please.But we will be back as my wife has included this place as one of her favourites an accolade indeed.

Room Tip: Room 8 is four poster
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toucantours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night (thank god). We ate in the restaraunt in the evening. The food was quite so- so, and we were left waiting a while to be seen. The nights stay in the hotel was not great. To start, the pillows were like bricks. The bed was unnecessarily creaky, which made it difficult to sleep. But the worst thing was the boiler, which I'm guessing was next to our room. When someone got up at 6am to use the shower, the noise that came from the boiler can only be described as a foghorn. It was awful. Probably managed overall 4 hours sleep and still awoke with a stiff neck due to the pillows. The rooms also get quite warm and humid. The building itself is lovely, but it does need some improvements. Breakfast...was abysmal to say the least. My boyfriend ordered a full English and received a tiny sausage, one piece of bacon, and an egg. The waitress told us that 'the chef had vanished'. We felt bad for her as she was running around trying to sort breakfasts with everyone complaining about something, but come on, the chef just disappears during breakfast.? What's that all about?

Room Tip: Take earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luvlyliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We thought this pub would be a great place for our family to meet up for a Bank Holiday lunch. Wrong! We had to queue up in a busy bar area to place our order, with the feeling of standing in a supermarket checkout queue. When we reached our turn, one of the dishes had run out, so we had to go back to our table to see what the family wanted instead, then back to the queue, at the back! The starters came out quickly, but because the place was busy, it took 1.5 hrs to get our main course!! The desert trolley also apparently has a queue, because despite the waitress serving deserts at the next table to us, she had to go and serve another two tables in the next room before she could wheel it back to us for our desert. Not even so much as an apology was uttered by the staff, and when we and several other customers complained, they simply didn't want to know. Happy to take your money for poor poor service. Not good enough! On a positive note, the food was passable when it did arrive, but left a sour taste in your mouth from the length of wait! We won't be returning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTraveller75400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

This was a family outing for a Friday evening meal. We had not visited the Kings Head for some time but had heard good reports. We had a great evening. Our party ate from both the table d'hote and a la carte menus and all the food was generous in quantity and high in quality. My elderly mother's request for a small portion of main course was happily accommodated.

I had the responsibility for settling the bill and was pleasantly surprised at the total - not cheap, but fine by comparisons with other restaurants. We sat and talked for some time after we had finished eating (and I had paid) and despite the fact that the restaurant was becoming increasingly busy (we had dined early) we felt no pressure from the staff to vacate our table.

We will return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oldgreyheron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Ayton
4.0 mi away
The Treebridge Hotel
The Treebridge Hotel
#5 of 11 in Middlesbrough
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
4.8 mi away
Gisborough Hall Hotel
Gisborough Hall Hotel
#1 of 2 in Guisborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,374 reviews
2.7 mi away
Cross Keys By Good Night Inns
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Chapters Hotel and Restaurant
3.3 mi away
Wainstones Hotel
Wainstones Hotel
#1 of 1 in Great Broughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Middlesbrough - Centre Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kings Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kings Head Hotel

Property: The Kings Head Hotel
Address: The Green | Newton-under-Roseberry, Great Ayton TS9 6QR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Great Ayton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Great Ayton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Kings Head Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Kings Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing