We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Summers day and fancy a bite?”

Whinstone View Bistro
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Great Ayton
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Redcar
1 review
“Summers day and fancy a bite?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

You could do no better than this. Visited 1st April 2012. It was a warm day, so sat out on the patio, (there is a covered out door area as well as indoors). Fantastic location away from noisy roads as it is in its own grounds. Surrounded by trees and greenery, we sat next to a blossoming Magnolia.

Started with Salmon & Dill Fishcakes with chilli and cucumber dip, price £4. These were very nice as an appetiser.

I had Breast of Chicken topped with peppered mozzarella served with chorizo risotto, garlic & rocket pesto, I rate this 11 out of 10 it was superb, with lots of flavour and filling and satisfying as chicken can be a tad boring. My partner had the Topside of Beef which she enjoyed.

The staff were very polite and it was such a great setting for such an enjoyable meal, would seriously recommend it in good weather or bad !

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShacklestonRedcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    72
    46
    22
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cleveland england
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“lovely setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

have been on many occasions to this bistro. food always good even the tea time specials. highly recommended.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank glenda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“lovely location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

The bistro is set in a picturesque location with food and service to match.You can also book the upstairs room at no extra cost for special occasions.Particularly lovely on a sunny evening as you can eat outside.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argenton-les-Vallees, France
Level Contributor
145 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Over-hyped and lacklustre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

We have lived in the North East for four years now, and keep hearing good reports about Whinstone View, so when we couldn't get into one of our favourites restaurants last Saturday night we booked in at Whinstone View's Bistro. We did expect great things, as people have told us how wonderful it is.
We were not greeted or asked if we would like a drink when we arrived, we just taken straight to our table and given menus. Someone did then come and ask if we wanted a drink. We were left quite some time before anyone took our order, and it was fifty minutes after entering the restaurant when we received our starters. There seemed to be lots of staff on duty, but they all seemed to be tied up in another part of the building - perhaps a function was also on. Our part of the restaurant was quite empty until about an hour an a half after we arrived, when it did start to get a bit more of an atmosphere, but up until then it was quite soulless and lacklustre. My husband said his choice were very good - red mullet starter and rack of lamb special. His only comment was that the daily special sheet did not have prices on it, so he had no idea how much his rack of lamb was going to cost - it was £18.00, as it turned out. I had smoked salmon starter and belly pork on colcannon mash. I can only say that mine were okay - I have had much better smoked salmon in many other places, and the belly pork was fairly tasteless - nicely cooked though. We ordered extra sides of potatoes and vegetables, as mine did not have veg with it and my husband's did not have potatoes with it - these were £2.50 each portion. We had a bottle of mediocre house red at £16.50, and did not have dessert or coffee as, to be honest, I just wanted to go. Nothing about the place made me feel welcome or valued as a customer, and the food was just okay. Our total bill was £68.40, so it wasn't overly priced, just not particularly mouth-watering or memorable. No-one said goodbye , or come again as we left, but that doesn't matter as we won't go again.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DebraKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food, lovely location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

We have been coming here every year on Mothers Day for a dew years now. Our experience has been mixed/varied but on the whole good. We had a three course meal for four plus a round of drinks and coffees for ninety pounds. The starters were all really good especially the goats cheese filo parcel. We all had a roast dinner and the beef,pork and lamb were all really good. The veg seemed slightly stingy when it arrived but was actually enough. The only down side was the desserts. Both the creme brûlée and lemon meringue pie were disappointing and of a slightly strange consistency but didn't totally spoil the day.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BingleyLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whinstone View Bistro also viewed

Great Ayton, North Yorkshire
Great Ayton, North Yorkshire
 
Great Ayton, North Yorkshire
Great Ayton, North Yorkshire
 
Great Ayton, North Yorkshire
Great Ayton, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Whinstone View Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing