We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible”
Ingleby Manor and the North York Moors covered in autumn heather
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ingleby Manor and the North York Moors covered in autumn heather
Sitting room with open fire The Walled Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Ingleby Manor and the North York Moors covered in autumn heather
Sitting room with open fire
The Walled Garden
The drive to Ingleby Manor lined with Bluebells and Wild Garlic
Kitchen
Kitchen opening onto private patio area
Sitting room wth open fire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Great Ayton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Delicious...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Incredible”
Reviewed March 27, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Most people will write about the incredible setting with the wildlife at your fingertips, the deer, wild birds, squirrels, rabbits, fish, horses, and of course Dusty the cat. Most guests will also write about the incredible private grounds, with forests, fields, walled gardens, and the moors on your doorstep. Some may also include the sense of peace you experience once you drive up the tree lined driveway with a stream on one side with the sunlight filtering through the canopy above.
I, however, want to draw your attmetion to the details, the hundred small touches that have made this property and this stay our favourite after travelling to almost 60 countries.
As soon as you walk in and feel the warm underfloor heated tiles on your feet and see the willow tree branches swaying in the picture window you feel like home. Everything has been planned to perfection and the decor is simply beautiful, it wouldn't be it of place in the pages of Harper's Bazaar. A wood fired stove, deep comfortable sofas and soft lighting all create the sense of luxury.
For those who love cooking you have a fully equipped kitchen with a brand new NEFF fan oven and ceramic induction hob, dishwasher, bread maker, washer and drier, separate fridge and freezer and everything you need to prepare a feast- including kitchen scales. They even provide dishwasher tabs, washing powders, and cleaning materials for your stay.
The crockery is Royal Doulton and beautiful, there is a huge range of glassware too including cut glass for a special occasion.
Upstairs is fully carpeted and the beds are soft with thick duvets that you just don't want to get out of. There is ample hot water, and thick snowy white soft towels with beautiful amenities from the White Company and Gilchrist and Soames. The bathrooms themselves are stunning, with a rainfall walkin shower downstairs and a large heavy bath upstairs. I travelled with children and were given a beautiful wooden cot and a wooden high chair, there is no expense spared here.
Adam is a first rate host replying to every question quickly and efficiently and popped round to help with a few queries too. He is generous with his time and was kind to a fault.
Everthing from the colour palette to the carpentry, the soft furnishings to the artwork and paintings feel luxurious, expensive, and opolent.
I am a huge fan and my only reservation in giving my honest review is that I will have to book so far in advance to ensure my next visit.
A wonderful place to stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sochatte
1 review
“Superb accomodation”
Reviewed August 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Fantastic stay in this very well restored manor. Ideal location and surrounding for a very relaxing retreat. Child friendly with lots to see and do around.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mollpoll
Shanghai
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Exceeded all our expectations”
Reviewed June 11, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

What a find! Set in the dramatic North Yorkshire countryside, Ingleby Manor became home to a family of 3 generations. We had the freedom to explore the grand manor, delight in the beautiful walled gardens and take advantage of the abundant wild garlic that lined the long driveway.

We had amazing privacy too, rarely seeing or hearing our fellow guests. Christine and her daughter were lovely and the home made came was much appreciated.

It is a fantastic base from which to explore both the moors and the coast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuddlemuf...
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed January 12, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed at Ingleby Manor shortly before Christmas 2015. The hosts were charming and the accommodation was spotless. The location is simply stunning. We stayed in the pump room which was spacious and very well equipped. We used the manor kitchen for a Christmas lunch for 16 family members and found it to be ideal for the occasion. There is a an additional charge for this but it was quite reasonable. Overall the manor is quite simply faultless!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sim0n27
Marple, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic building and great hospitality.”
Reviewed December 31, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed in August and had a wonderful time in the gun room.
The accommodation was very spacious for 2 people and the flowers and cake that Christine had left for us in the room were both beautiful and much appreciated.
The grounds are stunning and a literal breath of fresh air, making a great getaway from work and the city.
Christine also provided a great list of recommended local restaurants and activities which helped us to plan our short stay. We will certainly look to return to Ingleby Manor and have been raving about it to friends and family.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The great warmth and hospitality shown by Christine
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monicadel...
Albany, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Tell All for South Front Apt at Ingleby Manor”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

South Front apartment is a well-earned 5-star self-catering apartment. I agree with all the previews 19 reviews about the 1540 built manor’s charm and its lovely location. However, unlike most reviewers, we are not English or European but Americans. We came here for other reasons too. My husband had a 2-week long meeting in Redcar and this was a possibility among others with a commute of less than half an hour. He drives English style but I haven’t dared. We came in August with our tweens since they were on summer break.
We were greeted by Christine, Jeanne, a delicious carrot cake, fabulous fresh cut roses from the rose garden, tea, bread, butter and homemade jam to get us started. The kids were so impressed with the cake, they wanted to make another. There are plenty of cookbooks and a super high tech Neff oven. We had to watch a youtube video to figure out how to use it. The kitchen is spacious and well equipped with a great dishwasher, washer and dryer.
It’s a good value during high season at 112 GBP/$177/night although it’s currently advertised at 65 GBP. This doesn’t include heat which we needed even in August and to heat the water for about 90 GBP in 2 weeks.
It’s clean with the exception of flies coming in whenever you open the door to let fresh air in or the kitchen window to exhaust cooking odors. Country life also brings a lot of spiders every day. There are no screens like in the US to keep the bugs out. On the upside, there are no mosquitos to bite you in the evenings.
It’s very spacious compared to our other accommodations we had in Yarm and the Staincliffe hotel in Hartlepool last August for the same reason for similar costs.
Since I didn’t dare drive and we were still jet-lagged making it hard to get up in the mornings, I didn’t rent a car as planned so we were stranded. We took a walk to Ingleby Greenhow, a village of 370 people with an excellent butcher and a fabulous restaurant, Dudley Arms, but nothing else. We walked to the nearest train station, Battersby Junction, which took us 35 minutes. This is a haven for hikers and country walkers, but I don’t enjoy walking through the woods, people’s farms and fields, so we stopped after trying one of the many suggested walks in the area. We couldn’t understand the instructions so took wrong turns. But with the help of my phone GPS and the unusual luck to have service plus a friendly motorist, we made the 45 minute suggested walk in 3 hrs. Had we stayed a third week, I would have definitely rented a car to explore further afield.
Since we were home a lot we got to explore the 100+ DVD library at the manor. We discovered a British show called All Creatures Great and Small and its author who was a real find. Another good movie set in northern England is 39 Steps, the Hobbit is set in western midlands, and the Pirates of the Caribbean for more old English culture.
We were very grateful to the family to open up their home to enjoy such lovely English heritage.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Lots of space to move around with 4 people, drawers and hangers for our clothes.
Liked least: The double bed could have been bigger and thus provided better sleep.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M V
Rosh Pina, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A picturesque Manor House in one of the most beautiful parts of England”
Reviewed July 30, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

When in the UK this is our favourite destination. In the beautiful North Yorkshire countryside, at the foot of the hills of the North York Moors National Park lies the village of Ingleby Greenhow. From the old village church, a narrow road through wooded valley leads to Ingleby Manor. The house has been extensively restored by Mrs. Bianco and her family. An ongoing project. It contains a number of apartments and two cottages. The apartments are beautifully decorated and are very luxurious. The beds are excellent. Every apartment has e well equipped kitchen and there also is a large common kitchen with long tables and an Aga. It is a sensation to be able to live between the thick walls of the manor for some time.

We were very kindly welcomed by mrs Bianco, who had baked a lovely chocolate tart for us. There were fresh eggs in a basket and wood for the burner should we feel cold. She showed us around the manor and we saw the cosy new cottages which are adjacent to the manor house.

From the manor many public footpaths lead to the surrounding countryside. It is easy to walk up the hills and enjoy the natural beauty and the tranquility of the moors. A bicycle path on an old railway track leads from behind the manor across the moors. There is a good parking behind the manor and it is easy to reach all the sites in the area by car. We visited Roseberry Topping, Rievault Abbey, Helmsley and Whitby.

If you would like a tranquil and peaceful holiday in one of the most beautiful parts of England I can heartily recommend Ingleby Manor.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Manor house and the warm welcome
Liked least: Nothing of note
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing