We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Wonderful Surprise!”
Ingleby Manor and the North York Moors covered in autumn heather
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ingleby Manor and the North York Moors covered in autumn heather
Sitting room with open fire The Walled Garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Ingleby Manor and the North York Moors covered in autumn heather
Sitting room with open fire
The Walled Garden
The drive to Ingleby Manor lined with Bluebells and Wild Garlic
Kitchen
Kitchen opening onto private patio area
Sitting room wth open fire
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Great Ayton, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
chris5358
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Surprise!”
Reviewed December 30, 2011 for a stay in December 2011

We ( family of four adults) booked Courtyard Cottage for 10 nights as a base whilst visiting relatives over Christmas.
We were met and given a warm welcome by Christine the delightful owner of the Manor who showed us to the cottage. (and yes there was a delicious cake waiting for us)
Our surprise was evident when we entered the cottage, it was far more spacious than we had imagined, a very large sitting room with open fire, a large country style kitchen with every utensil you could think of, upstairs - two lovely bedrooms and a large bathroom with walk-in shower.
All the family made us very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. There was a plentiful supply of logs and coal for the fire and good central heating, so we soon made the cottage warm and cosy (although it was chilly at first)
Although there is WI -Fi internet access , plasma TV with plenty of channels and other modern appliances the cottage is a part of history and has a certain shabby chic (but spotlessly clean) feel to it. Lovely old pieces of furniture abound and the bed in the main bedroom is just soo comfy.
Staying at Courtyard Cottage made our Christmas. We were able to invite family and friends round and enjoy the festivities as though we were in our own home. ....and as I boringly kept saying to everyone all over Christmas " we haven't rented a cottage we have rented a home!"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmski
Surrey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Home From Home”
Reviewed August 27, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

This was our 3rd stay at Ingleby Manor. The first year we had the South Front, the second East Wing and this time The Pump Room. Each time it has been like a home from home with all the comfort and convenience you get in your own place but with the stylish rooms & impressive facade of the manor and the gorgeous views of the moors.
Ingleby Manor is a real gem. Another reviewer mentioned Christine's attention to detail and that is what makes this place so special. Each time we visit we wonder in advance what tasty cakes Christine will have provided for us. We are never disappointed.
It really doesn't matter what the weather is like. Whitby,York or Durham are an easy hour's drive away and there are plenty of places locally on the moors: Danby Moors Centre, the North York Moors Railway, hundreds of stunning walks. If the weather is especially nice then try the lovely seaside town of Saltburn with it's clean, golden sands and lively beachfront atmosphere.
Back at the Manor you have the beautiful gardens with children's play area and croquet lawn. You can even wander through the grounds for a decent constitutional.
The apartments are all well stocked with most of the equipment you need for cooking and cleaning (halogen hob, microwave, washing machine and dishwasher) etc to make for an easy life staying there. The apartments also offer books, games, TV, DVD player and wifi. But remember you're right in the country and the track from the village to the manor is half a mile long so don't be expecting town-like TV and Internet quality. But then that's not why you're going to be staying in a place like this.
Two words to sum up a stay at Ingleby Manor: "peace" and "quality".

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace & quiet & quality of the apartment.
Liked least: We couldn't stay long enough.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Reviewed August 20, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
fabennett
Rugby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We have found never found anywhere to rival Ingleby Manor, it's the perfect holiday destination”
Reviewed April 20, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely location, relaxing atmosphere, friendly and helpful owners. Plenty of space to wander in grounds and garden. Delicious cake to welcome us on arrival. Like so many other visitors to the Manor we keep coming back year after year and always find new things to do. Ideal for all ages.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison155...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ingleby Manor absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed March 26, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

The booking process couldn't have been easier for 3 nights in the Gun Room Apartment for me, my husband and our dog. On our arrival we were greeted with warmth and shown to our accommodation which was quite simply gorgeous. Awaiting us in the kitchen were home made scones, preserve,fresh cream, fresh eggs, tea and milk in the fridge. A wonderful unexpected and pleasant surprise. The Manor House and it's grounds are just stunningly beautiful and we had the opportunity to stay in this piece of old England. We would definitely recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Families with teenagers Tourists
Large groups Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sølvi v
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Het gevoel van geschiedenis dat je door de hele woning voelt
Liked least: Het licht in de woonkamer en dat er geen afzuigkap was in de keuken
Traveling group: Kleine kinderen
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing