We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Wedding break at a beautiful location”
Review of Burnley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burnley House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Having just got home having spent a two nights over at Burnley House at Hutton Le Hole I told Andrew I would be doing a review and here we go.
We arrived on the Friday early evening as a surprise treat for my wife on our Silver Wedding anniversary.
We were met by Joan who produced a pot of tea and cup cakes which were well received after our journey.
On going up to our room which was the Newtondale, we were surprised to see a bottle of champagne nicely chilled as our daughter had been in phone contact with Andrew and Joan setting things up for our anniversary.
We made use of The Crown in the village on the Friday night for a meal and a drink and as one of the reviewers has mentioned on an earlier post we then had the breakfast to look forward to.
The buffet selection of various fresh fruit, yoghurts and cereals is then followed by a full cooked breakfast which is clearly detailed on the menu sheet on the table.
All locally sourced produce and the breakfast and was a substantial plate full which compares quite adequately to some buffet style help your self breakfasts we have had elsewhere and it easily sets you up for the day.
The Newtondale room we found very well furnished, the bed was lovely and comfortable and we had some very good nights sleep and even an earlyish morning call from the sheep in the village did not spoil and if anything actually added to the experience.
The room is en suite and toiletries provided went well with the roll top bath and the chocolates from the local chocolate factory just up the road and the biscuits and small bottle of fresh milk instead of the UHT cartons in the room was also a nice touch.
Andrew and Joan are very good hosts and can help with advice and suggestions for any of the local amenities and assisted us admirably with our choice for the Saturday evening when we went to The Blacksmiths Arms at Lastingham as our group had by the Saturday morning increased by a further 4 more as we were joined by our son, daughter and two good friend as part of the weekends on going surprises.
The path through the garden down to the beck at the rear of Burnley House allows a lovely walk and allows you to access the other side of the village and enables you to walk all round the village and come back down the main street.
The main part of Burnley House is a lovely old building with natural stone floors and a beautiful fireplace in the lounge, dining room area.
A most enjoyable weekend was had by our group and as I said to Andrew as we prepared to leave, we will certainly be looking at making a return to Burnley House.
Thanks for everything Andrew and Joan from all at the Wood and Evans household.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 146 reviews

Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

I recall the team manger for the British Olympic cycling team talking about how he was trying to make improvements and saying that when you have something brilliant you can't make one bit a 100% better, rather you make small tweaks to a hundred things. This was definitely the case at Burnley House. A great place in a great setting, made better by lots of little touches.

I was doing some work locally and was a single traveller and was quite prepared to shuffle into my room and do some bits on my laptop. I was met at the door by Andrew, who was very friendly and made a pot of tea and a piece of cake - very welcome after a long drive. Joan was also very friendly.

Lots of little touches in the bedroom, from miniature bottles of 'real' milk, some local chocolates and comfy pillows.

One of the finest bits, worth waiting all night for, and ten minutes or so at the table was the cooked breakfast - great quality ingredients, as you wanted them... Yummy!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We chose this B&B on Trip as it was the closest we could get to meet friends on the "Coast to Coast", who were staying up at The Lion on Blakey Ridge: we are very glad that we did. We were welcomed by Andrew with tea and cake before being shown to our room which was well equipped with a 4 poster bed, nice view of the village and beck and an attached bathroom with a good sized bath and small shower. In addition there was tea and coffee making kit together with very nice biscuits. In the morning a relaxed breakfast of fresh fruit and yoghurt, followed by a first class cooked plate featuring tasty local sausage and bacon set us up well for the day ahead. Another nice touch was the provision of a printed BBC weather forecast for the day at every table. In sum, a restful stay with generous unhurried hosts providing high quality food and a good nights sleep in this quiet village.

Room Tip: The Bransdale was very comfortable and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambrose6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were made so welcome by our hosts, four wet walkers and a muddy dog! We were offerred afternoon tea and home made cakes and then shown to our rooms. These were spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was also great and we would recommend this B&B to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walkinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed here after a 15 mile walk from Helmsley. A warm friendly welcome and a very comfortable apartment called Ryedale with a 4 poster bed! Our dog was welcome too, and we enjoyed a meal at the local pub The Crown. The accommodation was faultless, and a hearty breakfast in the morning before continuing our walk to Levisham.

Burnley House is excellent value for money and Hutton-Le-Hole an exceptionally lovely village in beautiful surroundings. We were very well looked after, and would recommend the accommodation without hesitation, first class!

Room Tip: The adjoining apartments are lovely, self contained, well equipped and extremely comfortable. Ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Four of us stayed in two rooms, 8th & 9th June and everything which Joan and Andrew provided during our visit was superb! Everywhere was spotless, rooms were comfortable, breakfasts mouthwatering and as substantial as could be wished for. Add together the fact that J & A were perfect hosts and that the village itself is a 'Little gem'; made Burnley House the perfect base for our 3 day walking holiday. Try the 'New inn' at Cropton for the evening meal, good food & beer. Ann and Richard Pailing & Mary and Roger Wakefield --- Newark, Nottinghamshire.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogwkfld058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

A very picturesque village and a lovely establishment run by very nice, caring people. Absolutely faultless. Both myself and my dog were made welcome from the minute we arrived until we departed. The local pub is also worth a mention too. Good food and beer.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tradders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hutton le Hole
1.6 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
84 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Feathers Hotel
The Feathers Hotel
#3 of 4 in Helmsley
787 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Black Swan Hotel
The Black Swan Hotel
#2 of 4 in Helmsley
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The White Swan Inn
The White Swan Inn
#1 of 3 in Pickering
692 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Barn Guest House & Tea Rooms
The Barn Guest House & Tea Rooms
#2 of 2 in Hutton le Hole
72 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ann's Cottage and The Old Smithy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnley House

Address: Hutton le Hole, North York Moors National Park YO62 6UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Hutton le Hole
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hutton le Hole
Price Range: $116 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnley House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Burnley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing