We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay.”
Review of Burnley House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burnley House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We took advantage of Andrew and Joan's offer of three nights for two Sun to Thurs. What a lovely place. The house is beautifully furnished, and our bedroom had the best view in the village -the Kirkdale. A lovely room, with an exceptionally large bathroom. Andrew and Joan have thought of everything - we were greeted with a cup of tea and a cupcake on arrival. The room had lots of choice of drinks available, shortbread and chocolates. There were many 'extras' in the bathroom - you don't need to take essential toiletries. The breakfast was superb - fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals etc and lots of choice of cooked breakfasts. Our hosts were glad to recommend eateries and places to visit in the area. We shall certainly be going back to this wonderful place.

Room Tip: The kirkdale was really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margeurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 150 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed for 1 night and had a wonderful stay. the room was well clean, tidy and equipped and had everything you required. The house is stunning and a piece of pure heaven. we went to Cropton for our evening meal, which was superb, good value for money and well worth going. The hosts recommended the pub. The breakfast was truly tasty and amble protions, with such a great choice on the menu. Overall, a fantastic stay and in such a beautiful and unqiue vllage. We booked again for May, so see you soon. Thank you

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheOuchPoucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

stayed one night at burnley house , got there early and expected to just take advantage of there car parking facilities, whilst we went for a walk to lastingham, as we parked up a very frieindly couple walked into the car park. who turned out to be the Andrew and Joan, the hosts, welcomed us with such friendliness, offered us coffee and cake . which was truelly gorgeous, from there on they made us all fell so at home. rooms ,food, ambiance fantastic , thankyou very much , ticked all the boxes, hope to be back soon .

Room Tip: all rooms good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulamarkzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Burnley House is the ideal place for a relaxing break. Hosts Andrew & Joan are incredibly welcoming and friendly. The B&B is spotless, traditionally decorated and perfect for unwinding. I stayed in the Kirkdale room...the view is beautiful and the room & bathroom are lovely and spacious. The extra touches like the local chocolates & hand-made biscuits make your stay extra special and the breakfast really is second to none. Look forward to our next visit in 2013.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss_sunshine001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I arrived late on and it was dark. It's very dark here when it's dark as there aren't any street lights! Fortunately Burnley House has a well lit sign and parking for guests. This is tight but it's helpful nonetheless!

I was greeted by the owner with a pot of tea and an absolutely splendid cup cake and so soon perked up after what had been a nightmare journey. I'd spotted in previous reviews that the nearby pub stops serving food at 8.15 and so had bought a pizza in Kirkbymoorside on the way (don't bother if you have a choice!) and was going to eat it in the car so's not to stink the place out. But I was invited to bring it in and eat it in the sitting room.

The room I had was clean and tidy and full of character. If I have a complaint it's that it was right by the back door so there was a little noise when other guests returned later on.

Breakfast was hearty, well cooked and filling. What more could a man want to set himself up for another long day of travelling?

It's the owners that make this place. They are genuinely friendly but don't go too far and begin to irritate as some can. A welcoming, friendly place that I'd certainly use again if I need somewhere in the area.

As an aside, the pub (about 200 yds away along the dark main road) does indeed stop serving food at 8.15 so plan carefully if you need to eat. On the upside the food looked good - shame I couldn't have any! The serve rather nice real hand pulled beer and have free wi-fi, which is handy as there is no mobile signal in the village. There is a phone box though......

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whiskyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

From receiving a personal letter from Andrew confirming the booking to our departure it was 5 stars all the way. A friendly chat with tea and cakes on arrival was very welcome after our drive then shown to our spotless room where there is a comprehensive drink tray waiting with a small bottle of fresh milk provided every day. The surrounding area is beautiful and the Crown pub is just a very short walk away which serves wonderful food. When we said that we would be walking to the pub for an evening meal led to another extra touch, torches are available to borrow to light the way back!! The breakfast menu is intensive, cooked and served to a very high standard. Joan and Andrew have been running this for a relatively short time but they have certainly got it right. Cannot criticise one thing. Booking highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We booked 3 rooms 6 people and found Andrew & Joan perfect hosts. The rooms are spotlessly clean and the food is delicious. Ther daughter makes fabulous cakes. They always have a smile on ther face and nothing is too much trouble. I would highly recommend anyone to stay her it is 5 star! Thank you for making our weekend special. Bangs family x6

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lipstickwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hutton le Hole
6.9 mi away
Feversham Arms Hotel & Verbena Spa
1.6 mi away
Lastingham Grange
Lastingham Grange
#1 of 1 in Lastingham
86 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Barn Guest House & Tea Rooms
The Barn Guest House & Tea Rooms
#2 of 2 in Hutton le Hole
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
Fox & Hounds Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Sinnington
360 reviews
1.5 mi away
Royal Oak Inn
Royal Oak Inn
#1 of 2 in Gillamoor
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burnley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnley House

Address: Hutton le Hole, North York Moors National Park YO62 6UA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > North York Moors National Park > Hutton le Hole
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hutton le Hole
Price Range: $119 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Burnley House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Burnley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing