We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great unique hotel”
Review of Steenhuyse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Steenhuyse
Ranked #1 of 12 Oudenaarde B&B and Inns
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great unique hotel”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

One of a kind small hotel in a fantastic location. Rooms were all very large and beautiful. Ours was on the 2nd (1st Euro) floor and overlooked the market and was fairly well sound-proofed. Loved the architectural details throughout and the bed was incredibly comfortable. I didn't have an issue with the toilet configuration (which still provided privacy) and the bath and rainshower were wonderful. The owner was helpful and the breakfast was impressive. A very special hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlCracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
28
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Firstly, I would like to mention the friendly staff. Helpful and Kind.

Located in the middle of the town. Free parking is available nearby.

Room is very stylish in a minimalistic design. Very unique.

The downside of this, is lack of a proper table to work on, toilet is located in the open space (with its implications) etc.

Breakfast - one of the best!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avihub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
Level Contributor
77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Go to this hotel for:

- excellent location in the historical heart of town, view on the market and historical buildings.
- excellent service. Very friendly host/staff. Very helpful.
- excellent breakfast. Lots to choose from, great diversity, very fresh.
- very big rooms with high ceilings, big bath and rain shower. Stylish and modern.
- good atmosphere.
- good value.

The room styling and furniture are modern and quite minimalistic. It looks good, but it's not the most comfortable or practical choice. I guess it's been a design choice with some compromises. The room is basically one open space. There is no closet space. You'll have to put your cloths on open shelfs. The bath is in the middle of the room. The shower is in the corner of the room as well as the toilet (behind a little wall, but open so it can get a bit smelly :-) ). There is no mirror at the sink (it's to the side of the sink) so shaving is awkward.

All considered, I would stay here again the next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renevdh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wecker
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Magnificent guesthouse in the heart of Oudenaarde, just in front of the market and the Ronde van Flaanderen Museum! Close to the river and cycling path.Big, clean rooms in historic building. Very nice owner and very good breakfast. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lschmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked in for what must be one of the busiest week ends of the year , with the Tour of Flanders Cycle race and Easter coinciding. It was a little disconcerting when first arriving after quite an arduous trip to find that there was limited access to the front of the hotel, due to square being set up for the following days activities and the hotel seemed to be locked. However, following the clear instructions on the hotel door we called at the adjoining restaurant and were soon admitted, had the bike stored and the car parked and had unpacked.
The room was spacious with a huge comfortable bed, a central free standing bath and large rain shower. There was little need for an alarm as the aroma of freshly baked bread and pastries announced breakfast was being served. The breakfast was excellent with varied and plentiful fresh produce.
The adjoining restaurant is under the same ownership and we were pleased to get a table so late on Friday but enjoyed the meal so much that we returned the following two nights of our stay The hotel (& restaurant) service was friendly and faultless, the location absolutely wonderful (especially for cycling fans on this particular w/e!) and whilst not cheap it was fair value for money.
We had a wonderful w/e at Steenhuyse and will definitely come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The room we stayed in was really spacious, design is minimalistic. There is a large bath central in the room, allowing bathing with a view on the old church.
Breakfast was very good with fresh bread and a wide choice of marmelades, cheese, yoghurt etc.
The host is very friendly and open to help where needed to optimize your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThierryFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012


Beautiful old building decorated in a modern, contemporary style. Rooms large and very well appointed. Hotel in the centre of Oudenaarde with shops, restaurants and bars all within a short distance. Buffet breakfast included in price had an excellent selection. Staff and owners extremely friendly and welcoming - would definitely recommend!
Only negative was that our stay was on a national holiday and It was extremely hot, so we had to have our windows open. Noise from celebrations in the town disturbed us till the early hours but generally do not think that this would be a problem.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josiedoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudenaarde hotels
0.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel Oudenaarde
Leopold Hotel Oudenaarde
#1 of 5 in Oudenaarde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Pomme D'or
La Pomme D'or
#3 of 5 in Oudenaarde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
3.9 mi away
Country Lodge Hotel Moriaanshoofd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Zalm
Hotel De Zalm
#4 of 5 in Oudenaarde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brasserie Cesar
Hotel Brasserie Cesar
#5 of 5 in Oudenaarde
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Huize Norman
#3 of 12 in Oudenaarde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steenhuyse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steenhuyse

Property: Steenhuyse
Address: Markt 37, Oudenaarde 9700, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Oudenaarde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Oudenaarde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Steenhuyse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Steenhuyse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing