We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Steenhuyse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Steenhuyse
Ranked #1 of 12 Oudenaarde B&B and Inns
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We booked in for what must be one of the busiest week ends of the year , with the Tour of Flanders Cycle race and Easter coinciding. It was a little disconcerting when first arriving after quite an arduous trip to find that there was limited access to the front of the hotel, due to square being set up for the following days activities and the hotel seemed to be locked. However, following the clear instructions on the hotel door we called at the adjoining restaurant and were soon admitted, had the bike stored and the car parked and had unpacked.
The room was spacious with a huge comfortable bed, a central free standing bath and large rain shower. There was little need for an alarm as the aroma of freshly baked bread and pastries announced breakfast was being served. The breakfast was excellent with varied and plentiful fresh produce.
The adjoining restaurant is under the same ownership and we were pleased to get a table so late on Friday but enjoyed the meal so much that we returned the following two nights of our stay The hotel (& restaurant) service was friendly and faultless, the location absolutely wonderful (especially for cycling fans on this particular w/e!) and whilst not cheap it was fair value for money.
We had a wonderful w/e at Steenhuyse and will definitely come again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
1
28
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The room we stayed in was really spacious, design is minimalistic. There is a large bath central in the room, allowing bathing with a view on the old church.
Breakfast was very good with fresh bread and a wide choice of marmelades, cheese, yoghurt etc.
The host is very friendly and open to help where needed to optimize your stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThierryFromBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012


Beautiful old building decorated in a modern, contemporary style. Rooms large and very well appointed. Hotel in the centre of Oudenaarde with shops, restaurants and bars all within a short distance. Buffet breakfast included in price had an excellent selection. Staff and owners extremely friendly and welcoming - would definitely recommend!
Only negative was that our stay was on a national holiday and It was extremely hot, so we had to have our windows open. Noise from celebrations in the town disturbed us till the early hours but generally do not think that this would be a problem.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josiedoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We arrived at this jewel of a B & B - we had been cycling from Paris to Brugge this being our last hotel stop before arriving in Brugge. We were greeted by the owners daughter who promptly showed us round the property.We were shown to our room on the first floor. What a delight, the bedroom was stunning, set at the front of the hotel, overlooking the market square. A large king size bed, (one of the most comfortable beds I've ever staying in) we also had a 6ft plus bath in the centre of the room, complete with full shower facilities ...just amazing. The decor was minimalist, with a splash of colour. No expense has been spared in this hotel. The breakfast was to die for....homemade musili, freshly baked produce, belgium chocolate you name it it was there...a heavenly experience. i will be returning to this hotel without doubt. The restaurant next door is also very good, the Chataubriand was amazing.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms at the front of the hotel, as you can see the lovely market square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Piwicarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

Beautiful accommodation in the heart of Oudenaarde. Steenhuyse is a beautiful old building. The owners are very welcoming. The room was extreme spacious! Very modern and minimalist design, probably Danish design. The bath was in same the room and under the rain shower could stand for hours! The toilet was also in the same space, here we might have liked a little more privacy. The view from our room on St. Walburga-church and the Town Hall was super. It was cold outside during our stay, the heater had difficulty making the room warm. The breakfast was great, very complete and good care. It was a relaxing stay in a special accomedation.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bartho0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

This hotel was lovely and ticked all the boxes, however at €110 for the night might have been a tiny bit overpriced but I'm grateful for the room.

Oudenaarde itself? Pompous, overblown town with little reason to go to and many reasons to leave. We looked at the other three hotels after arriving there on a cycling trip and they were desperately trying to rip us off. Quoting upwards of €180 for rooms that looked like scout huts. We were very lucky to find Steenhuyse and they treated us marvellously with a spacious luxurious room and a lovely breakfast. For the price, being English I expect a cooked option as frankly continental breakfasts are for losers. The restaurant to the right of Steenhuyse as you leave the main entrance was also excellent. So disappointed by the attitudes of the other townsfolk towards visitors however. Be warned! BOOK THIS PLACE IN ADVANCE!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slutbunwaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
94 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Stayed 1 night on cycling trip with friends . As other reviewers have noted this is a small but stylish hotel in a 16th century building adjacent to the town square. The room was huge and very comfortable including a very good bed. Only concern might be little toilet privacy and minimal hanging space . Neither of concern to us . Owners always present and helpful . Breakfast of good quality in an attractive room overlooking garden .I would recommend this hotel

Room Tip: slight traffic noise at front if windows open .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oudenaarde hotels
0.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel Oudenaarde
Leopold Hotel Oudenaarde
#1 of 5 in Oudenaarde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Pomme D'or
La Pomme D'or
#3 of 5 in Oudenaarde
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
3.9 mi away
Country Lodge Hotel Moriaanshoofd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Zalm
Hotel De Zalm
#4 of 5 in Oudenaarde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brasserie Cesar
Hotel Brasserie Cesar
#5 of 5 in Oudenaarde
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Huize Norman
#3 of 12 in Oudenaarde
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steenhuyse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steenhuyse

Property: Steenhuyse
Address: Markt 37, Oudenaarde 9700, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Oudenaarde
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Oudenaarde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Steenhuyse 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Steenhuyse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing