We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and outstanding service”
Review of The Tides

The Tides
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $100
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and outstanding service”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I would unreservedly recommend The Tides.

There are many superlatives for this restaurant... the perfect location overlooking the beautiful Caribbean sea, an excellent menu & wine list and sensational food (the best lobster risotto I've had).

But the highest praise for The Tides is the outstanding service.

The staff were amazing, very attentive and made our evening perfect.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Holly485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,442
    586
    247
    76
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfection!!”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous location, amazing food and impeccable service!! We had the lobster risotto and crab cake, both delicious and finished completely! Then the lamb and prawn curry, and truly the best curry I've had in a long, long time! The bar men were charming and chatted with us for a long time which was lovely whilst our waiter was equally as attentive and genuinely nice!! The best night in Barbados by far! Beats cin cin for sure.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDicksons33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A brilliant birthday meal”
Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews and a friend of mine had been previously, we booked my birthday meal at Tides. It was fantastic. The staff were brilliant and very attentive. The food was exceptional packed with flavours. I would like to try and get another visit in before we leave!
As it was my birthday, they brought out a dessert with a firework and sang happy birthday.
I would definitely go back and highly recommend this place. Best restaurant around.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 834HennieB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Awesome food”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The food was fantastic and being a vegetarian I was really pleased to see a separate vegetarian menu. The only thing I would say is if the vegetarian menu had more options as I can imagine each dish being amazing. I ordered the tofu which is not something I would go for and was very impressed with the variety of flavours in the dish. I would def recommend this restaurant. We also had a 1.5 year old who was throwing a tantrum and the staff were extremely accommodating.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NPG1412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We had visited Tides last year and decided to visit again a few weeks ago.

I only called to reserve a table the day before and was delighted to get a beautiful waterside table.

I can highly recommend the lobster risotto as a starter and my partner raved about his crab and corn soup. Mains were excellent too.

Service is perfect and every one of the many staff that greeted and served us were professional and friendly.

We couldn't have eaten dessert which was a shame as their dairy free chocolate and raspberry dessert is memorable.

With a decent bottle of wine the bill came to around a reasonable £120.

Best restaurant on the island.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gpd202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tides also viewed

Saint James Parish, Barbados
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Prospect, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing