We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Notch Above in Holetown” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Tides

The Tides
Ranked #2 of 41 Restaurants in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $100
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
western mass
Level Contributor
196 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“A Notch Above in Holetown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

One of the best meals we had in Barbados - a very well run restaurant. Excellent well trained staff and delicious food. Lovely location and professional in every way - makes quite a change from many of the restaurants in the area. We had a very good time and would definitely return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sledxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,335
    566
    234
    74
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tenafly, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely romantic dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting, excellent service, delicious food well presented, good wine list. Elegant without being pretentious. Prices similar to a good Manhattan restaurant. My wife had a duck appetizer and a lamb main course, I had a tuna carpaccio and salmon. All was delicious and the serving was perfectly timed so that we felt neither rushed nor neglected. We particularly liked the sommelier, as well as our waiter Omar. A wonderful evening.

Helpful?
Thank andy_from_nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, lovely service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I went here for a dinner out during our holiday on the island.

The setting and design of the restaurant is lovely with trees growing up through the floor and the whole restaurant opening out to the sea.

The food was really excellent, great modern twists on european inspired Bajan dishes. My barracuda main course was great as was my wife's seared tuna.

It is an expensive restaurant (as are most of these restaurants that are aimed at American/European clientele) but the food and service matched up to similarly priced restaurants in London.

This was one of my favourite restaurants of this trip and I would not hesitate to go back in the future.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rich673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
188 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

From the moment you are greeted before entering the front door until they have their own taxi waiting to take you back to your hotel this place excels. The decor and ambience is very good with the best tables overlooking the beach and being less than 10 yards from the shore. The staff are all charming and attentive with nothing too much trouble. The best is yet to come as the food is quite outstanding both in taste and presentation. Good choice of quality wines including a good selection of wines by the glass. Yes it is top end price wise but if this does not deter you give it a try, you will not be disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Stream, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over priced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

The view is lovely ,but so is the view from anywhere in barbados. The service was great very attentive. The food was definitely not worth it. I had bland chicken with undercooked vegetables in a small plate . The sauce on the shrimp was good but nothing to rave about. The price on the other hand was expensive it cost 200$ for just a shared appetizer and one entree each ,one drink each I would defiantly not go back

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tides also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 
Prospect, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing