We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Reggae Joint!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Golden Anchor

The Golden Anchor
Ranked #9 of 41 Restaurants in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Reggae Joint!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I went here last Friday and it was excellent. The band was such good fun and the songs were on key and fabulous. It's healthy mix of locals and tourists and very friendly. Whilst I didn't eat there myself I met a couple who absolutely raved about the food and said it was the best fish they'd ever had. We went for drinks and the band. The rum punch was lovely and the prices were reasonable. I must say that it was one of the best nights we've had on this beautiful island.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    72
    21
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Cracking local bar ...good food too.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Just back from a stay at one of the nearby "posh" hotels but this ramshackle looking roadside bar is a great place to escape the cossetted tourist-only environment and have fun. Good mix of tourists and friendly locals, great reggae night on Fridays, cheap drinks (at B$3 a bottle of Banks was less than half the price in most places and a B$12 small bottle of rum virtually guarantees a good night !). The food is delicious too ....try the spicy fishcakes at the equivalent of around 27p each . We had no problems with service and the owners...Bajan husband and Cornish wife..were very friendly and hospitable whenever we dropped in.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaretStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbbean
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Great little bar to have a drink and listen to a live band on a Friday night, but suggest you eat before you go as service for food is atrocious, and even when your patient enough to wait over an hour before you remind them your waiting the owners wife will swear and storm of mumbling, whilst we would still go back, we will never eat there again

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Honest-Report-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quick Drink and snack”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Golden Anchor is an enjoyable place. Staff was friendly and very helpful as I was confused about some definitions that differ from culture to culture. We tried their fish cakes that was very tasty. Their rum punch was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pure Bajan!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

What a great bar, typical rum shack, great live reggae on Friday nights with Michael of the Ravers, the place rocks! I have introduced lots of visitors and all of them have returned many times, the locals who frequent it and the owners make you so welcome. Drinks are cheap, the food (Chicken or fish with wedges) is simple but delicious. No frills just pure Bajan!! Think of the place every Friday evening, cannot wait to return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LINZH60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Anchor also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to The Golden Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing