We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Restful, beautiful environment”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Holetown, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lynnedry
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Restful, beautiful environment”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We are reaching the end of our two week break at Hummingbird which has the most restful and beautiful environment you could wish for. Tucked away in the hills above Holetown (beach is 5 mins drive away) you can enjoy peace and quiet away from the buzz of Holetown but still be in it within minutes. A car was supplied as part of our stay and has allowed to visit places which we had previously not considered. The east coast and St Nicholas Abbey - which I would highly recommend. Carol, Dick and Lottie are very helpful as well as considerate to your needs and have made our hideaway a very pleasant experience with all the facilities you may need for your stay.

This cottage shares a pool with three others which are dotted throughout the large gardens - each having their own private space and outlook, not overlooking each other so can be very private, with the pool area being the more social space giving you the choice of mixing or not, depending on the mood.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful environment
Liked least: The insect life!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola R
Carlisle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“We loved it!!”
Reviewed March 20, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

I came across the villa on Flipkey & emailed for more information & visit whilst I was on the island on a previous holiday. Carol was quick to respond & helpful making the booking & arrangements trouble free.
We would endorse all the other reviews here about the accommodation & surroundings, we also opted for the villa & car package.
We had split our holiday having a few days on the South coast before Hummingbird, so had the lively before the peace and quiet of Hummingbird. Although there is company to be had if so wished & we had some great times with Dick, Carol & other guests. Meeting round the pools for drinks, with Carol & Dick putting on a lovely BBQ one evening and attending a local rum shop & Nicos restaurant for food & quiz night other nights, so there is as much or as little to do as you want.
We definitely hope to return in the future!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The surroundings & hospitality of the hosts
Liked least: Having to go home!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northerne...
NW
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful, just what we wanted”
Reviewed March 17, 2013 for a stay in February 2013

We stayed in Hummingbird for 10 nights from 22nd Feb. 2013.
Its a delightful villa, Carol and Dick have thought of everything you might need to make your stay a relaxing and memorable occasion.
We loved the covered decking, with its great furniture and gas bar b que, and the views are just brilliant, Hummingbirds and King birds are always around.The villa is set in about 6 acres with trees and shrubs all around. Pool is just yards away.
Beach towels and bath towels and all linen are provided and changed as often as you want.
The shower is one of the best we have ever had. The bed we used was very comfortable, the other bedroom has air conditioning.

I am sure we will return to see more of this lovely Island.
Carol, Dick, Lotte, Katie and Bustop are all great folk, they really make you very feel welcome, and are always on hand to help or give local info.
Hummingbird comes with a car and a mob. phone for local use.
Oh I wish I was back there!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The dicking, what a great place to have your meals
Liked least: cant thnk of anything, I really cant
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lockeonli...
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What a peaceful place!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

we spent over 5 weeks in this perfect place: perfect for grandparents, daughter and 3 years old granddaughter! everything as described, nothing missed. the pool and the huge garden are more than perfect for children, the terrace perfect for meals and an evening Rum. the kitchen is fully equiped and the beds are in perfect condition.
thank you carol, dick and lottie for having us for over 5 weeks and giving us a second home at that time!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the breeze!
Traveling group: Erweitertem Familienkreis
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch
Reviewed September 2, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Trinidad and Tobago
Reviewed August 30, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Germany
Reviewed August 30, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing