We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barbados on a budget!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2013

Have stayed at this aparthotel many times under the name of Sunswept. It has been recently taken back by the owners who are running it themselves. Compromises to be made here as the location is 5* but the accommodation is barely 2*. It is an old, tired building in need of some serious updating but it's one of the few places left on the West Coast that is affordable to stay at around £70 a night. The rooms are spacious and beds comfortable and every one has a balcony overlooking the pool and beach and stunning sunsets. Swimming is good although there is very little beach, half of which Zaccios take over for their clients.

Room Tip: Views are good from rooms 16 - 19.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank almwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 276 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is closing temporarily at the end of April and is re opening under the new name Tropical Sunset early July 2013. We booked a last minute week here early April. Our room was on the first floor and was clean with everything we needed - furniture on the balcony to sit sip a drink and watch the stunning sunsets each night, a huge comfy bed, and a shower over bath with the best water pressure I have experienced on the island, and I have now been four times staying at a different hotel on each occasion. This hotel is a budget option which allows freedom to eat where you choose. We ate at Zaccios several times which fronts on to the beautiful beach and has a bar at the Sunswept pool area also. All staff without exception at the hotel, in Zaccios and in the watersports cabin here are superb and are so kind and helpful ensuring you have just the holiday you want. The location of this hotel is perhaps its very best selling point...right on a perfect stretch of golden powder sand west coast beach with the crystal Caribbean a few steps away. It is paradise and we look forward to returning after the upgrading programme, in fact, we really can't wait! Thankyou Sunswept!

Room Tip: First floor or above for the best views and privacy on balcony, ground floor for those who like a po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Lovely hotel in a fantastic location,all staff very friendly & helpful. Huge beds with lumpy pillows, but hey who cares about pillows ! !
Rooms are clean and all amenities supplied in kitchen area
Fabulous views from balcony to watch stunning sunsets
Excellent beach bars really close by Zaccios & Surfside. Good cold beer,rum punch & football at Surfside good food also, such a shame about the miserable bar staff there,saying please,thank-you & smiling is not in their remit, just ignore them & dont let them spoil this great place, go and mingle with the really nice locals, ex pats & holidaymakers that go there.
On the beach look out for Mark the Shark of Seaspray Watersports (you cant miss him he's the biggest & nicest guy on the beach) his boat-trips are superb along with all his other watersport activities.
Sunswept is superb this is the place to stay if you enjoy going out & meeting people & not being stuck in an "all inc"
Will definitely return

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PHIL R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Sunswept is currently undergoing a refurbishment and will soon become 'Tropical Sunset'.
We have already booked for our third winter vacation and can hardly wait to get there.
The location right on the beach is amazing and ocean swimming is fantastic. Lots of beach
chairs and no need to fight for a spot. All the spacious rooms face the ocean only a few feet away
with great views from all the balconies. We love to have our breakfast on the balcony overlooking the ocean and often have lunch right next door at Zacchios, very casual and walk in right off the beach. Their food, drinks and service and location are always top notch.
No need for a car since grocery shopping is right across the street (they will even carry your groceries right to your hotel room for you and refuse a tip). Lots of shopping every where both local and designer goods again an easy, short walk.
1st and 2nd streets are a 5 minute walk away with load of fantastic restaurants serving every kind of dish imaginable. The chefs in Barbados are the 'best'. Do not miss the 'Tapas Bar' restaurant in the Chattel Village where we spent New Years Eve last year.
Tropical Sunset will be our 'home away from home' for many years to come.

Room Tip: The whole place is currently being refurbished and will now be called 'Tropical Sunset'. Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

This is going to be a short review. I went with my husband, 4 year old daughter, and 2 year old son. We were visiting family also as well as making it a holiday. The hotel is excellent value for money, in an excellent location (right on the beach and near the shops and bars and restaurants) and the kids loved stepping out of the hotel patio room door straight to the swimming pool. The restaurant next to the hotel is quite pricey but the good is nice. Saw a couple of cockroaches but that didn't even put me off because this hotel was such good value for money and was very clean. If you're looking for a budget hotel in a glorious location, don't hesitate to book it. If you're looking for a luxury hotel, this is not for you. The kids will love it! Get yourself a ground floor room for them! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have been holidaying in Barbados now for a number of years and have stayed in various hotels on different parts of the island. A couple of years ago we found Sunswept. We have stayed there now a couple of times and we have just booked to stay next January. We enjoy eating out every evening so room only suits us. Yes the bathrooms and pool area require updating but the cost reflects this and we don't have any reasons to complain. When we were there in Janary this year we met the owners who are taking the hotel over again and there are going to make some updates to the Hotel thi year. Once you have found Sunswept it is hard to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: You can't pick a bad room as they all have a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Sunswept Beach for two weeks in November 2012.

The hotel is in a great location right on Holetown beach. Every room is sea facing and we asked for a high floor to take advantage of the amazing view.

It has been said several times in previous reviews that the rooms are tired, and yes they are but they are not horrendous and they are very clean. The furniture is basic and yes it could do with a lick of paint. And if you expect to be able to cook a 3 course banquet in the kitchen then you will be disappointed.

But let’s face it, who comes to Barbados to sit in a hotel room and cook?! We found the kitchen facilities to be spot on for what we needed. Importantly a big fridge (for the bottles of Banks!) and it was fine for making breakfast/snacks. I have to say I was fairly surprised at the cost of food in the local supermarkets, so it might be worth sticking a jar of coffee/teabags in the case as these were twice as much as in the UK and not half as nice!

As said, the hotel is right on the beachfront. There are beds provided at the front. Nearby, there are plenty of beach front bars/restaurants and others nearby on 1st and 2nd street which are 5 minutes walk away. There is a supermarket opposite the hotel and the petrol station also sells basic supplies.

We had a great time at Sunswept, and if you want to just go to enjoy Barbados and all it has to offer then it is great. If swanky accommodation is more important, then this probably isn’t for you.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonks28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
1.8 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,130 reviews
0.6 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Reef Club
Coral Reef Club
#1 of 4 in Holetown
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Infinity on the Beach
9.1 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
399 reviews
1.5 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel

Address: Tropical Sunset Complex, Holetown BB24016, Barbados (Formerly Sunswept Beach Hotel)
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range: $153 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our philosophy is to provide the comfort of a home while you enjoy the luxury of a holiday...Tropical Sunset (formerly known as Sunswept Beach Hotel) is situated in Holetown, the west coast's primary hub for visitors and locals alike. Set on the shoreline of the Caribbean Sea, guests can enjoy the breathtaking view from the comfort of their private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sunswept Beach
Sunswept Beach Holetown
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing