We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“You couldn't be anywhere better”

Review of St James Villa

St James Villa on the Water's Edge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
St James Villa on the Water's Edge
St James Villa at Sunset St James Villa - Upper Apartment Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
St James Villa on the Water's Edge
St James Villa at Sunset
St James Villa - Upper Apartment Balcony
Holetown Boardwalk
Golden Sandy West Coast Beaches
St James Villa
St James Villa on the Beach Edge
Lower Apartment Master Bedroom En suite
Holetown Beach
Holetown Beach
Holetown Beach
St James Beach
Tropical and Relaxing in the Garden
St James Villa Upper Apartment - sleeps 4
Sunset from the Beach Deck
St James Villa Lower Apartment Kitchen
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Holetown, Saint James Parish, Barbados

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JillRoe
Cheltenham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You couldn't be anywhere better”
Reviewed December 11, 2013 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A small group of us stayed in the lower apartment. We all had a fantastic time as the location must be one of the best along the West Coast. After our wedding at the local Church we had a Rum Punch and Steel Drum 'Party' in the garden. It was all really fantastic and the space and facilities in the Villa were ideal. Seven of us were staying there but there was plenty of room. Just sitting out on the deck for breakfast and to watch the sun go down was magical. We hope to return one day.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elziado
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquility”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful and well-kept villa just a stones throw (literally!) from the amazing beach.

The villa was modern and very well presented and the staff kept the place looking great - the air con was definitely appreciated!

Next door to Tides restaurant which is also worth a visit and not too far from local beach bars making it easy to crawl back to after the happy hour cocktails.

If eating in is more your thing then the kitchen has all the mod-cons, there is a bbq and the shops are within walking distance.

Also within walking distance are the many bars and restaurants of Holetown - we especially enjoyed the Sunday night karaoke!

We would definitely return!!

Value Location
Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chris p
Colchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Last year at St James Villa”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 for a stay in August 2012
2
people found this review helpful

What a fantastic holiday last year everyone loved St James Villa. Was in a great location for all. The children could go on the beach and we could sit drinking cocktails from our decking watching out for them but in comfort and they were free to 'hang out' with minimum fuss. So close to the shops fantastic restaurants and Barbados nightlife great for all ages. Big excitement for the youth Rhianna in town and just down the road shopping. Sat on the decking and watched the most enormous leatherback turtle crawl up and lay her eggs, what an experience. Clean peaceful (you can hear the waves) spacious tastefully decorated with very comfortable beds great air con and pleasant staff (optional) and we will be going back! This villa is the best we have ever stayed in. I can absolutely recommend this location to all we have two teenage boys 14 and 16 and believe me they 'hard' to please. To get a location that everyone loves with all their different requirements is really difficult. Here there is relaxation and peace, a fantastic view, on the beach,wildlife, great snorkelling and diving,great shopping (also for food, in less then 5 mins) superb restaurants and bars and a very lively nightlife for all ages - its a no brainer really.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FatBob00
Guildford
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday”
Reviewed July 16, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Amazing holiday in an amazing location. We rented out the whole villa - updstairs and down - with a group of friends last summer.

The location right on the beach in Holetown is perfect - right on the beach as well as easy access to Cocomos for happy hour! Although sitting on the beach deck with a Banks beer in hand is a great way to watch the sunset.

The supermarket is 2 minutes walk and the lots of great restaurants and bar about 5/10 minutes. Although we tried lots of the nearby restaurants we also ate in a few nights and made use of the BBQ in the garden. We particulary liked The Tides (which is next door) for a special evening out and one of our other favourites was Just Grillin for cheap and easy local food. We tended to head to 1st and 2nd street most evenings for a bit of 'nightlife' and particulary enjoyed Lexys. Sundays nights are great fun when the locals get involved in karaoke on the street outside of TML, there's also an interesting drag show in one of the restaurants.

The daily maid service was good - the villa was always clean no matter how much sand we seemed to bring back with us!

We hired a car for a few days to explore the island, there's loads to see and lots more restaurants to try outside of Holetown. We visited a few sites such as St Nicholas Abbey, the Wildlife park and Welshman Hall gully, all of which i would reccommend. We also really enjoyed seeing the East coast and some of the more empty/remote beach in the SE of the island. The beach near the Crane is great for body surfing. Being such a small island it was easy to get around (you have to try the buses!) and the locals are generally really friendly and helpful.

Wouldnt hesitate to reccommend the villa and the island to anyone in fact it was so good we've just booked to go back again!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark j
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“St James villa in paradise”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Our holiday was absolutely paradise! the location is second to none and the surrounding amenities suit all tastes. The beach is metres away and is safe and shallow water for children.

local shops,bars and restaurants are within easy walking distance and offer a huge range of facilities.

The villa is spacious, well maintained and immaculately clean. couldn't fault it and can't wait to go back

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HappyTrav...
Shaldon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular Villa”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

A stunning villa in a fabulous position overlooking the beach and ocean. The villa accommodation is comfortable, clean and caters for all your needs in a self catering holiday. We were very well looked after by the daily maid service and enjoyed visiting all the local restaurants in St James. We are very lucky to have enjoyed this villa for three consecutive years.

Traveling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy_xyz
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great villa, stunning location.”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 for a stay in October 2012

Stayed here with a small group of friends and accommodation was perfect. Clean and spacious inside with nice patio area and garden a literal stones throw from the sea. The location of this place is really second to none. Right on the beach but also in the heart of Holetown meaning walking distance to the many bars and restaurants including the fantastic Tides restaurant which next door! The bbq in the garden meant we also took advantage of the fresh fish caught daily (not by us though!) and with Zacchio's beach bar 40 seconds walk away, happy hour cocktails were always far too tempting.

Also must say received lots of help before and during our stay in organizing trips round the island including hiring a car to explore the beautiful 'Scotland district'.

It was a great holiday and excellent value too. Certainly hope to be returning sooner rather than later!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$447
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing