We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value Restaurant”
Review of Cafe Bar Carizma

Cafe Bar Carizma
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A Charismatic Cafe Bar in the centre of Chattel Village Hoeltown. Open for Breakfast , Lunch 6 days a week and Authentic Spanish Tapas on Tuesday and Thursday, in winter and Thursday's in summer with live music . Great ambience , food and wine. We have again achieved Tripadvisor certificate of excellence for last five years. Our annual holidays are almost here apologies but we will be closed from wed the 7 th June to Thursday the 6 th July
Reviewed April 18, 2014

This was the only restaurant during our 9-day stay that we visited twice. Serving freshly made food, well presented at very reasonable prices, this slightly secluded place is well worth visiting.
We loved it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Keith L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (805)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 576 of 805 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2014

Popped in for a quick breakfast the other morning - and a wee read of the British papers, I just love that Lemon and Ginger drink they do. Friendly service, nice choices and reasonably priced. I understand why people come back here. Great coffee too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank amherstburgmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Just wanted a round of drinks. Were told in very strict way that we had picked a table laid for dinner and had to move. At4.30 pm!!!!
Put on a table the owner? ,an english woman , said she could wipe after we left.
This upset the girls so much we nearly walked out.
The owner then sat on an adjoining table smoking and the smell just washed over us. The waitress appeared to complain to the owner about the state of the table as we left.
No one thanked us for our buiness.
Never will,we return. The rudest place ever found in the world.

3  Thank ChilternRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bajananita, Owner at Cafe Bar Carizma, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

We are sorry you felt you had a bad experience with us and we are just as upset . I do feel there was some misinterpretation in your visit. We were in the process of setting the tables for dinner , the tablecloths were on and we had guests arriving within the hour. I politely explained this to the lady and asked if you would sit on the outside table as these did not have cloths on , she said you would sit where ever we wished.
The drinks here leave a lot of condensation which was the reason for my request .
The outside tables are smoking tables and I was sat there completing some paperwork, if you had indicated that the smoke was bothering you , I would not have hesitated in moving immediately but as I had placed you there should have been more considerate in hindsight .
At no time did you make us aware of any dissatisfaction and my barman did thank you when you paid the bill and left a tip. We are known for our friendly atmosphere and attentive service at Carizma and we are sorry you did not feel we met your expectations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

First ever review written, but this place deserves it. The food was great, tapas on Tuesday and Thursday is a must to book. The music was subtle allowing for conversation but a brilliant mix. We had a table of 12 booked a week in advance, this place is worth the wait though, we had dined in the lone star the night before (another fantastic place) but by comparison Carizma had it beaten on every count and was much cheaper. The staff were very friendly and very attentive even though it was packed. Do not visit barbados and not visit Carizma.

Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bajananita, Owner at Cafe Bar Carizma, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write your first review about us. we really appreciate you taking the time and glad you enjoyed the café

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Open for breakfast and lunch daily and for dinner (tapas) on Tue and Thu evenings with booking recommended. We ate here once for breakfast and once for dinner. Very nice little restaurant with friendly (probably the best we encountered) staff and live music doing obvious but entertaining covers (Beatles, Elvis etc) for dinner. Tapas was ok but not fantastic but a very enjoyable evening.

Thank Mattym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bar Carizma also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Speightstown, Saint Peter Parish
 

Been to Cafe Bar Carizma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing