We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good drinks, good service, what not to like ?”
Review of Cafe Bar Carizma

Cafe Bar Carizma
Ranked #3 of 42 Restaurants in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: A Charismatic Cafe Bar in the centre of Chattel Village Hoeltown. Open for Breakfast , Lunch 6 days a week and Authentic Spanish Tapas on Tuesday and Thursday, in winter and Thursday's in summer with live music . Great ambience , food and wine. We have again achieved Tripadvisor certificate of excellence for last five years. Our annual holidays are almost here apologies but we will be closed from wed the 7 th June to Thursday the 6 th July
Glos.
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good food, good drinks, good service, what not to like ?”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We visited New Years Eve and again a week or so later. Both evenings we had the Tapas menu and enjoyed some great entertainment from the young house band, very talented.
We thought the tapas selection tasty, varied and delicious. We have eaten tapas in Spain on many occasions and thought it superior in Cafe Carizma (in Spain it always seems to be covered in masses of raw garlic !)
It was good value by Holetown standards, a set price then you got 3 or 4 tapas of your choice, ideal for sharing.
Even on New Years Eve when they were very busy we thought the service was great from the young and attentive staff. And the band really made it a fun evening, nearly everyone up dancing by the end.
Sorry it's taken me so long to write the promised review Anita, your team do a great job, see you next year !

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maeveGlos_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    232
    34
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious food, lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We called here by chance for a drink on our first night and have been back often throughout the holiday. We had the tapas one night, great food,great value and accompanied by two singers who really added to the atmosphere. Then we had dinner one evening and that too was excellent, with live music again. Anita,Dave and their staff are lovely, attentive and work hard to ensure everyone has a good time. Try it you won't be disappointed..

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank starosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, ok food, poor service”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Got there and the service was fantastic as the place was empty. As the night went on the place got more full and the service declined. Took over 30 minutes to pay the bill from when we asked for it. Had to ask three times over the course of the evening. The servers were spending a lot of time carousing with other guests, which seemed a little unnecessary and would have been fine if they were attentive to others. Good thing there was entertainment! The fettuccine Alfredo was a flavourless soup, curry was OK, both cases the chicken was dry. A little service would have brought this up to three stars - started well, ended poorly.

Helpful?
Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bajananita, Owner at Cafe Bar Carizma, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for your review and we apolgise for the wait for your bill No excuse but it was Holetown festival that night and we were extremely busy . This is not our normal standard at all as you can see by our reviews. We certainly did not have time to do anything but have short conversations with our customers.

On the food I personally asked you that evening if all was good , which you said it was,I then came by again later and asked you again . The reason I did this was a customer next to you asked you about the Fettucine and I got the impression you were not very positive,. It would be helpful if you had made the same thoughts to me at the time . I will speak to the chef about the pasta in case it was different as we have never had any complaints before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Devon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious tapas”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

restaurant only open for tapas on tues and thurs, tried to get a table on our 1st Tues in Holetown but fully booked so booked a table for the following Tues. The three of us chose 3 tapas each plus 1 extra side and then shared them all. There was plenty of food and was very tasty, nice to be able to try new dishes, drinks were good and service excellent.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Diane49_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, staff and great music”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Well what a fantastic little place this is. We went to Cafe Bar Carizma twice whilst we were in Barbados, but i wish we had visited more as the food and staff were amazing not to mention Kevin and chris the musicians. We also went for the Tapas night but one of our party is very fussy with what he eats, which we explained to the owner on our first night so she actually went out to the supermarket and bought in a very nice sirloin steak for him for that evening. The Tapas evening was our most enjoyable meal of the whole 2 weeks. Forget your Cliffs and cin cins. If you want great actually amazing food and a great experience then come here.
We all felt that the prices are very reasonable. We had plenty of rum and cokes, 3 glasses of rose wine, 3 beers, 14 tapas consisting of calamari, ribs, meatballs, chicken, potatas bravas, tortilla, chorizo plus the sirloin steak with chips and egg for the fussy one plus great entertainment for less than $600 bajan. You MUST go and try for yourselves and Please dont be put off by the very few bad reviews.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robbiewilliams_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bajananita, Owner at Cafe Bar Carizma, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review and we hope to see again on your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bar Carizma also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Cafe Bar Carizma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing