We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for a quick meal by the sea”

Surfside Restaurant & Beach Bar
Ranked #10 of 41 Restaurants in Holetown
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Frinton-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good for a quick meal by the sea”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Unpretentious beachside bar and restaurant. Good to meet for a drink by the sea and a quick reasonably priced plate of food. Do not expect fine dining but basic local dishes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    362
    191
    59
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal location and great atmosphere”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We came to surfside one evening whilst in Barbados and picked the best one, Sunday night when the steel pan band is playing. They were great and people were up dancing. Really enjoyable evening. We decided to eat and I had chosen the lasagne... My friends said they had it before and there was too much sauce in it, it put me off for all of five minutes but I thought I would give it a try. It was really nice. I love lasagne and this one was definitely great, came with garlic bread, big serving and was all finished in no time! The service was really good as they kept us up to date with where our food was (there was a bit of a wait as it was busy) Overall it was a really great night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HollyVictoria89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
185 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good Beach Bar”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Normally what you see is what you get in this no nonsense beach bar.Beware the construction work going on at the moment with the building of the West Coast Boardwalk initiative, as the normal beutiful sea views are blocked by machinary and building products.Great Burgers that are reasonably priced. One of the only places on the island that shows both UK football and Six Nations live.(door charge on some of these occasions). Get there early as it gets very busy!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 85JonathanP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“BEACHFRONT NO FUSS RESTAURANT”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

If you wish to have local food, served quickly and reasonably price, this is the place. The location is behind the Holetown Post Office, it's a beach bar but the food is incredibly tasty and fresh. It's a great place to enjoy a beer in the evenings while listening to music and mingling with the locals. Just a laid-back, cool place to spend some time.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank chinamom62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best value for money in Holetown”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have visited this restaurant every day so far - been here almost a week. Great for a drink (or three) at the end of a hard day on the beach. The staff are friendly and made a big effort to make our daughter's birthday special - lots of laughs and apple pie with a candle and lots of squirty cream. Her idea of heaven.

When the sun is shining it is great to sit outside with a cocktail (virgin for the kids) and watch the sun go down over the beautiful Caribbean Sea . The atmosphere is relaxed, lots of locals hangout here so there is much laughter. Also a good spot to watch football.

This is our first visit to Barbados so we are not experts in Bajan cuisine. However, the food here is tasty - far better than the dreadful meal we had yesterday at 'Just Grillin' (Quayside) - and it is not over priced. It is fairly simple, standard fayre but the rotis are delicious and our gluten free / dairy free son is catered for.

By no means is this the best food we have ever had. But it is the best food, drink and bar location, with friendly staff we have had so far in Barbados. Admittedly we haven't been to any of the 'fancy' restaurants, can't afford to as nothing is cheap over here, so cannot compare this to those.

Pay this a visit for a relaxed meal or drink in a beautiful location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scallywag69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfside Restaurant & Beach Bar also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Surfside Restaurant & Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing