We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great sushi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nishi Restaurant

Nishi Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 41 Restaurants in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $60
Cuisines: British, Seafood, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since February 2014 Nishi is under the ownership of Paul Edwards, one of the founders of Nishi and Steve Prebble a UK entrepreneur who lives in Barbados. Nishi incorporates a funky outdoor dining area and bar where you can dine under the stars, air-conditioned dining watching our famous sushi chefs and a private dining area. We are family friendly offering everything from great sushi to homemade British pies and an early evening takeaway service.
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We visited Nishi last September upon recommendation of local friends. It is located in the trendy area of Holetown, where the new high end boutiques and Restaurants are flourishing.

We were warmly welcomed and invited to a nice table. The Restaurant tends to be always full so please reserve in advance.

They offer more fusion cuisine, but traditional dishes can be found as well. The Carter pillar roll was especially good and we also enjoyed a nice Pinot Grilio. The mango cheesecake was a delicious revelation.

The only down point we had was having the bill brought to our table without asking for it. We were surprised since we were not even finished with the dessert and the Restaurant was not closing.

If you are in Barbados and want to eat sushi, Nishi can very well satisfy your craving.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Vaquitalekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    916
    265
    60
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
198 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nice drinks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We went here recently and enjoyed the numerous cocktails they have on offer. The drinks were nice, although could have been more generous on alcohol and more reasonably priced. The atmosphere here is beautiful, with wonderful outdoor seating and well placed design features that give it a modern Asian feeling. Romantic.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sfrantz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“YUM YUM YUM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

The service was amazing, the food was delicious with plenty of choices. The atmosphere charming - overall a thumbs up from us!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Puppypaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
“Sushi and Thai in Barbados you say?! Oh yes!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

The food is bang-on impressive whether you are there for the sushi or the thai dishes and the service is right on par with that. From the smiling friendly greeting at the door to keeping your wine on ice and your sake in a hot bath, the staff know what they are doing and go the distance in ensuring your visit is memorable. Stand out dishes were the Volcano Roll (so good we ordered a second one!) and the Thai green curry prawn dish - so full of flavour. Looking forward to returning once again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deb V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
255 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Yum Yum Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The sushi here was wonderful!!!
and the sevice was wonderful also!!!
it is in a lane off the main street across from the Limegrove cente
so its in a great position...nxt to bars and other shops etc etc
loved this place ...couldn't fault it!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brycee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nishi Restaurant also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Saint James Parish, Barbados
Saint James Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Nishi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing