We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,167)
Filter reviews
1,167 results
Traveler rating
308
445
216
103
95
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
308
445
216
103
95
Show reviews that mention
All reviews brian carter fish beach front beachfront room star hotel rex resort a la carte rear garden three star all inclusive package lovely beach some tlc buffet style fabulous location rooms are basic a bit tired lick of paint
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 1,167 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just back from our lovely holiday in Barbados - two weeks of pure sunshine and niceness.

We love staying at this hotel, the staff and management make you feel very welcome from the check in It's like being home from home. The staff bend over backward to assist you in all areas.

Special mention to Steff, Jarmal and Carlisle who we met last year and was a pleasure to see them again this year.

Keep up the good work Kathleen and Team.

Room tip: Room 6 is the best for views of this beautiful place
Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Dimples1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We went with TUI and flights with Virgin, got to LGW and told flight cancelled on 26/8/19, TUI hadn't given Virgin our contact details !!

Got to the Hotel and sat down to book in with Jennifer who couldn't even be bothered to say "hello,how was your flight?" was more interested in taking the 400 BD deposit ( 240 for 2 towels and 160 for the room key !!), she was not a welcoming site and speaks so quietly you can't understand her.

Room 42 had antiquated but brilliant aircon, the room had ample storage was was cleaned well during our stay,poor glazing meant you had to listen to the tree frogs and associated noise till the early hours.

The bars and food are worryingly dull, the entertainment to be fair was quite good with local singers offering a welcome relief from the boredom,however for the price you won't starve or go thirsty, the a la carte nights are silly and its a pity more thought wasn't given to the daily menus as there is to try to relieve you of a few dollars.Throughout our time there I estimate no-more than 60 guests, I pity those who will be there during peak times as you won't be eating or drinking anytime fast.

The beach,sea and location are superb though, and tied in with the price of £3k for 2 weeks AI is good value...if you want the better things in life, this is NOT the place you want to go.

The only people I tipped were the older waiters, they always had a smile and were courteous and could certainly teach the young ones how to interact with the customers. Thank you Charles,Stanley and Kevin

We had a few trips and enjoyed the catamaran trip for $350BD , trip to Southern Palms Hotel for lunch via Reggae Bus ( great fun),a drinks evening at The Cliff restaurant ( wow,wow,wow,wow)

My major annoyance was with the Management who seem more than happy to be in the background and not at front of house providing leadership, there are more than a few Staff who quite obviously don't care as the place is closing down, if I am paying an amount of money I expect you to provide a decent level of service with the odd "please or thank you" We sat close to the lady Manager who saw a coconut fall from 80 feet onto a lounger swiftly followed by another, she looked suitably shocked and the lounger was moved, we heard within the next 2 days a man would be tasked to remove this hazard, 8 days on I walked to the pool to have a hand sized coconut miss me by a couple of feet, I did update the Receptionist but never did have the courtesy of an update from the lady Manager, my advice is to keep away from the palms unless you want to factor in a trip to A+E, I truly believe they couldn't care less.

On checking out we had the same lady as of day 1, her opening sentence was "297 dollars for the tourist tax " no enquiry as to how the holiday was, just give me the money.

If you can afford better.... go there.

Room tip: another Hotel
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NeilHarvey1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2019

We were staying at a villa in Jamestown Park, which is behind the Starfish. We were able to set up an account at the Starfish and use their bar and beach chairs. So that's pretty much all we did at this hotel. From looking at the menu, food price looked reasonable and probably as cheap as you would find in Holetown.
The staff at the pool bar were great and in particular Jewayne, really looked after us. Our kids are fussy and the Jewayne was able to mix up some kiddy cocktails for the kids (Mango smoothies etc). My oldest son is super fussy and he rated their chocolate milkshake "the best he has ever had"! Their Rum punch was punchy too! Prices were reasonable for the drinks. We look forward to visiting the Starfish whenever we get to Barbados next.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank kiwimoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

Yes the place is a little run down, but the location is perfect and for the price you will not get better value for money in Barbados. It is worth going for the beach front rooms, great views and wake up listening to the waves. Beds are great and the rooms are fine...some people spend far too much time in their rooms IMHO.
The food was generally good but limited choice. Breakfast was good, and never had to wait too long for omelettes/ eggs etc. Good restaurants nearby if you want a change, which we did on the a la carte nights. Just remember you are in an expensive area...
We had no problem with any of the staff, all friendly and helpful.
See Lorenzo on the beach for boat trips etc.
The best thing is the sea/beach right in front of the hotel. We saw turtles, stingrays (harmless) and hundreds of fish. I caught tuna and tarpon.
If you want 5 star food and rooms on Barbados then pay 5 star prices...but it is the same beach/sea and people.
I will be back.

Room tip: High up beach front/sea view are worth the extra price
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Conn06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

A fantastic position on the West Coast of St James, however the hotel is next to a septic water pool. The Mosquito issue is out of control. The hotel is in desperate need of refurbishment. The staff were good. The food was hit and miss. The A la Carter nights were a rip off... avoid. Pay more and give this one a swerve.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GManagerdiscobay, General Manager at Starfish Discovery Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Tim G

We appreciate your feedback.
Thank you for acknowledging our team who are indeed an asset to our resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews