We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
Nearby Hotels
Mango Bay All Inclusive(Holetown)(Great Value!)
$409
$395
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Sandpiper(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
$574
$417
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Divi Heritage(Saint James Parish)
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa All Inclusive(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
$338
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
All Seasons Resort Europa(Sunset Crest)(Great Value!)
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Royal Pavilion(Porters)(Great Value!)
$459
$433
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Reef Club(Holetown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (911)
Filter reviews
911 results
Traveler rating
230
344
171
83
83
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
344
171
83
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrian carterfishbeach frontbeachfront roomstar hotelthree starrear gardenbuffet styleall inclusive packagerooms are basicfabulous locationa bit tireda la cartesandy lanelick of paintbeautiful beachsome tlc
Filter
Updating list...
470 - 475 of 911 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed here for our first yr wedding anniversary. It was good value for money and an amazing be a beach location. We done the island tour the catermaran trip to swim with the turtles which was amazing and the sub trip. The only down side to the hotel was they seemed to run low. On certain food sometimes and drinks the food was always brought out if you asked but you had to ask could have been because it was quiet when we were there. Also the entertainment was pretty poor I was in Barbados and wanted to see steel bands and even after we spoke to the manager and he said there would be some there wasent so we were really disappointed. Also it would be amazing if the hotel done more exotic ice cream they seemed to have lots or choc and vanilla we were hoping for mango sorbet or coconut ice cream and some more fruit would have been nice like fresh coconut we only seemed to have bananas prunes and melon all I am saying is when you go to Barbados you want to experience their culture so this would be awesome if this hotel done that. The staff were good we had some favorites and the manager was seen ist days so thats good too. We would defo recommend this side of the island and if your looking for a bargain it's exactly that but upgrade to a sea view room our friends had that room and it was amazing

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

It was a great pleasure to have to stay at Discovery Bay by rex resorts for your first wedding anniversary.

Our aim is to keep our rates as reasonable as possible to offer value for money.

Location is so important and Discovery has one of the best on the West coast.
The beach is a lovely size after the refurbishment last year. The hotel is also within walking distance to banks, supermarket, cinema, Lime Grove Lifestyle Centre and many bars and restaurants.
I apologize for running low on certain food and drink items. We try and ensure that buffets and bars are well stocked but some times there is a particular dish or drink which is popular on a particular day and that can result in running out of those items. However we do our best to remedy the situation as quickly as possible.

We have found that the most popular flavours of ice cream are Vanilla, Chocolate and Rum and Raisin which are the flavours that we stock. For your next visit, I can arrange to have an exotic tropical fruit sorbet available.
Entertainment is featured three times a week in the low season, where we tend to hire small local groups that can play a variety of calypso, reggae and pop music. I am sorry that this disappointed you.
I will certainly take your breakfast fruit options into consideration.

I am glad that you thought that the staff were good; they try very hard to offer friendly efficient service.

Thank you for choosing Discovery Bay by rex resorts for your holiday and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

From check in to departure the staff treated us like old friends allways with a smile ,unlike many allinclusive hotels the food was all ways fresh ,hot and tasty ,the drinks are strong made the mistake of having a few daqueries in the morning and slept most of the day. The beach is perfect easy access to sea and ideal for snorkelling with the artificial reef only 40ft or so out,the rooms are very spacious and they need to be biggest bed I've seen in an hotel .it was our anniversary while there and we had a bottle of bubbly and bouquet of flowers delivered to our room courtesy of the hotel "nice touch" ,all in all this hotel made our holiday a pleasure...

Room Tip: Room 80 good view of beach and grounds and has separate sitting room
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

I am so pleased to hear that you felt as though the staff treated you like old friends from arrival to departure. They are so determined to exceed our guests expectations nothing is too much trouble.
Food and drinks are extremely important at an all inclusive, so we have adopted the policy of offering variety and quality.

The beach was refurbished last year and is now bigger and better. Two sea walls were built about five meters from the shore and these have now created a mini reef which is ideal for snorkeling.

One of the most important aspects of a holiday is comfort, which we place a huge emphasis on. Our rooms are a very good size especially the Beach Front Club rooms which can sleep four adults easily. They are serviced and inspected daily to maintain high quality standards.

It was with the greatest of pleasure that we organized a bouquet of flowers and a bottle of “bubbly” for you to celebrate your special occasion. We were pleased that we could add a little surprise to it.

Thank you so much for choosing Discovery Bay by rex resorts for your holiday and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Our visits here were some time ago so our views are now outdated even though we had a fab time - once in a garden room and the second time in an amazing ocean view room. Would highly recommend this hotel just for its beach - which is one of the best on the West Coast and only 15 mins away from Folkestone marine park. We visited Barbados again this year in April and would still recommend a visit to Discovery Bay beach.

Room Tip: Ocean view is definitely the best choice.
Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Mijen2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

I am very glad that you had a fabulous time on the occasions that you stayed at Discovery Bay by rex resorts. Once in a Garden View room which looks onto to the newly refurbished pool deck and Beach Bar. And then in a Beach Front room which is “a stones” throw from the beach.
Our location is ideal; centrally located in Holetown, close to the marine park, supermarket, banks, shops and many bars and restaurants.

The beach was refurbished last year and this has made a tremendous difference.
It is now one of the largest beaches on the West coast of Barbados. The seawalls that were built five meters from the beach have now become a mini reef, ideal for snorkeling.

Thank you so much for your recommendations which I will be sure to pass on to the entire team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the family in the not too distant future.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We arrived early evening and were warmly greeted and offered an ice cold drink whilst we checked and then taken up to our room. A huge bed, silent air conditioning, lovely bathroom and, the sound of the Caribbean sea washing gently up on to the beach was truly breathtaking even more so in the morning when the sun had risen and we looked out from our balcony !
I cannot fault the level of friendly service and warm smiles. The food was fantastic, full breakfast every morning greatly welcomed, lunch and dinner also just great. The Barbados brewed Banks beer is better than any European equivalent and I would also recommend the Rum Punch and Banana Daiquiri !
As the hotel was fairly empty there was plenty of space on the beach with ample sun loungers and by the pool where the sun beds where just so comfy ! The beach vendors can be persistent but are very friendly and hey we all have to make a living.
As for away from the hotel I can recommend the Harbour Lights night out, the horse trekking and the Cool Runnings catamaran if you want to see the turtles.
If you fancy mingling with the locals then the karaoke at One Love bar on Sunday night is an absolute must, for football fans try Surfside a short stroll down the beach.
For our first ever time in Barbados we are so happy that we chose Discovery Bay, so much so that we have already booked to go again in December this time for a fortnight. My advice is ignore the reviews complaining about the place looking tired and the furniture not all matching surely that is by the by, we go on holiday for the adventure, to have new experiences, meet new people and have fun. The only improvement I would suggest is more entertainment in the evenings but having been into town on our last night well we will probably venture out more next time. Just for the record the 'ghastly' people with tattoos are really rather nice folk, I should know I'm one of them !
All in all 5 out of 5 !!!

Room Tip: We had an ocean front view it's well worth extra bit of cash !!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ricky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

I am very pleased that you enjoyed our warm welcome and Rum Punch upon checking into Discovery Bay by rex resorts.

As you quite rightly point out; Our rooms are a very comfortable size and our Beach Front rooms couldn’t be closer to the beach.

I will pass on you kind compliments to the staff about their friendly service and warm smiles. They are a true asset to us which we couldn’t do without.

I am glad that you found our food excellent. We try and keep the choice of dishes exciting using fresh local ingredients where ever possible.

Our bars are well stocked and the bartenders can shake a ‘mean cocktail” using the world renowned quality Bajan rum.

The beach in front of Discovery was refurbished last year and this resulted in a very large white sandy beach where our faithful pool and beach attendant Malcolm Lanky sets out our loungers and umbrellas every morning.

The pool deck was also upgraded with the addition of padded loungers and day beds. The Beach Bar has a new bar and snack kitchen which has made this central area superbly comfortable.

It is extremely gratifying that for you first visit to Barbados you chose to stay at Discovery Bay by rex resorts and had such a wonderful time that we will have the pleasure of your company in December.
I very much look forward to welcoming you back then.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

My sister and I were there in March,what a wonderful time we had.The staff are so friendly, and keep the place to a high standard,the rooms, garden and pool were spotless and yet it is so relaxed. Our room was plenty big enough well laid out clean towels daily with a balcony overlooking the pool. We really didnt want to leave and debated staying another week, but instead are going back for 3 weeks in Nov it will be like going back to see family. I highly recommend this place to anyone you wont be disappointed

Room Tip: most rooms look out onto the gardens, we had ground floor as stairs are a problem for us, it was lovely sitting on the balcony chatting to people as they went by
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Valerie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

I am extremely pleased that you and your sister had a wonderful time at Discovery Bay by rex resorts.
Thank you for your kind comments on our friendly staff who take pride in setting high standards.

Our pool deck was refurbished last year. Luxury padded loungers and day beds were added to make the area a true relaxation zone.

The rooms at Discovery are a very comfortable size and we offer daily service to keep them clean and fresh. The Garden View room overlooks the pool while our Beach Front and Beach Front Club rooms overlook the beautiful Caribbean Sea.

It was our greatest pleasure to look after you during your stay and very much look forward to welcoming you back in November.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews