We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Resort and Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Great Resort and Hotel”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Good value for money hotel,we were in a garden room with a great view of the complex,rooms a little tired but kept very clean by a daily maid service,great shower,air con very good,points for plugs not always working and had to plug in my kettle on the floor as the point below the table was'nt working.Food was very good generally,great breakfast with eggs cooked to order(fried,Omelette) good Barbeque lunch and a carvery for dinner.The staff were always very helpful and obliging, the selection of bar drinks could be improved and ran out of beer one night.A really nice pool area with some lovely beds but for me and my wife the beach was fantastic,almost your own private beach which Malcolm looked after with justifiable pride.Holetown has two Malls within 10 minutes walk with plenty of other places to eat if you dont want to take advantage of the 'All Inclusive'.I would stay here again with pleasure and hope to do so next year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucko1602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
We try our best to offer value for money. Our Garden View rooms are the most popular category and are located very centrally by the pool and beach bar.

I will pass on your kind sentiments concerning the clean room, rain head shower and air conditioning; we try and make the rooms as comfortable as possible.

Let me apologize for having to put the kettle on the floor in order for it to work. Housekeeping have extension cords which should have been offered to you.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the freshly cook omelettes for breakfast, our BBQ lunch and dinner carvery. Variety is extremely important in an all inclusive which we aim to provide so that the meals aren’t boring.

Thank you for mentioning the staff, they do go out of their way to provide friendly professional service with a smile.

I will review the selection of bar drinks. There are a few occasions that a particular drink is popular and the bar stock falls short, but this isn’t very often. Please accept my apology for the beer running out.

The pool area was upgraded last year with new padded sun loungers and day beds which really up lifted the area.

The beach was refurbished by the Government and is now one of the best on the West coast.

Malcolm is a treasure who ensures every day that the beach is clean and the sun loungers and umbrellas are placed on what ever part of the beach you desire.

Our location is ideal, close to banks, shops, supermarket, post office and many bars and restaurants. All with in walking distance, for longer excursions the bus stops are just outside the hotel’s entrance.

We are extremely please that you enjoyed your stay at Discovery Bay by rex resorts and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    294
    142
    68
    73
See reviews for
125
389
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton On Trent
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

On the whole Discovery Bay is good value .......for what you pay. The rooms were clean but a bit tired, for example our balcony door stuck and fell off its runners, but that wasn't really a big problem. If you have to choose rooms definitely go for the beachfront ones. Falling asleep whilst listening to the waves lap up on the shore is idyllic. The sea is all of 30ft from your front door ! The pool area is good ( shallow pool though ) as it's just been upgraded and the beach is nice and quiet. The food is best at lunchtimes with the evening dinner being a bit hit and miss ( the beef joint ran out in the first 20 mins ) - be aware men need to wear full length trousers, not even the poshest restaurant on the island ( The Cliff ) requires you to do this ! But for what you paid you can eat out a few times. The bar closes at 11.00pm so make sure you take advantage of that' all inclusive' nice and early !! Great nightlife just 2 streets away which will let you rock until the early hours. All in all if you have a tight budget you can't go wrong with staying at 'disco' !

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

I am very pleased that you were of the opinion that Discovery Bay is good value for money and that our rooms are clean. Some bathrooms are a little tired and we will need to put a programme in place to upgrade them. I am very sorry about your balcony door which has now received a full service.
You are correct in pointing out that our Ocean Front rooms could not be any closer to the sea. Very few hotels on the West coast of Barbados are this close to the tranquil Caribbean Sea.
The pool area was upgraded last year, receiving luxury padded sun loungers and day beds along with a new granite top bar and snack kitchen.
The beach was refurbished last year by the Government and is now one of the largest on the West coast.
I am very glad that you enjoyed our lunch time buffet; let me apologize for the inconsistent dinner buffets and running out of beef. I will review this with my kitchen team to look at ways of improving the evening meals.
Discovery Bay by rex resorts is very conveniently located in Holetown near to banks, shops, supermarket, post office and many bars and restaurants.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Sincerely
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2014

Just back from 10 days spent at Discovery Bay Hotel and had such a fantastic time that I really and truly was sad to leave.
Every member of the staff is so helpful, polite and really go out of their way to ensure you're happy and satisfied. The atmosphere is very "cool", bajan style which was just what I was after....
Nothing pretentious!
EVERYONEin their department was a pleasure to meet and talk to: Alycia, Shelley and Shereene at reception, David, Stanley, Dionne and everyone in the dining room, the kitchen staff who suffer very high temperatures in order to provide us with burgers and so on, Damian, Jeremy, Allison at the bar, Malcolm this amazing guy who does heavy carrying to and fro cheerfully, Christopher in the garden, Norma and the rest of the cleaning staff, the maintenance guys who always seem to be around and on call. A big thank you from myself, my daughters Jemma and Ella and my nephew Quentin. We'll be back ASAP!!!!!

Room Tip: we loved the beach front club room, very roomy for 4 people, pleasant to hear the waves rolling at n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArianeGeneva2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review.

I am really pleased that you found our staff to be helpful and polite; they certainly do go out of their way to ensure that everyone is satisfied and happy.

Thank you also for your kind compliments, I will ensure that I pass these on to everyone.

We greatly appreciated you choosing Discovery Bay by rex resorts for your holiday and I do hope that we have the pleasure of yourself and your wonderful family soon again.
Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Wonderful time at Discovery bay - thank you so much for the wonderful two weeks we spent with you over Easter/Passover 2014. Loved swimming with the tropical fish and wandering round Hunte's Gardens and St Nicholas Abbey. Holetown great as is Speightstown - people wonderful and welcoming.
Food great, everyone friendly especially the gardeners, maids and smiling omelette chef.
Look forward to returning some time
Rod

Room Tip: Either one overlooking the sea or one overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodkersh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
It was a great pleasure to meet you and enjoyed having you stay at Discovery Bay by rex resorts.
We are extremely pleased that you had two wonderful weeks over Easter.

The two seawalls that the Government erected in front of Discovery Bay last year have turned into a mini reef attracting lots of fish and being so close to shore it is ideal for snorkeling.

Two of the most popular sight seeing attractions are Hunte’s Tropical Gardens which can be reached by a local bus just outside of the hotel and St Nicholas Abbey which was restored to its original state by a very well know local architect. The other magnificent attraction is the Harrison’s Under Ground Caves.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed our food, we use the freshest local produce and of course we are spoilt for the variety of daily fresh Caribbean fish.

I will pass on your kind comments on our friendly team who take pride to ensure that our guests are well looked after.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again is the near future.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This hotel had improved it's garden restaurant and bar since my last visit. Also there is more room around the pool and the beach seems larger. The room we had had not changed and was desperately in need of a bathroom makeover. As we had mentioned this to the manager at the evening cocktail party, we were asked next morning if we would like to change rooms.However everything worked and the room was very comfortable so we refused.
The food varies a bit in quality, but the soups, salads and freshly made chips are always excellent
The location of this hotel could not be better, you are surrounded by top class shops, local shops and a large supermarket. There are also all types of restaurants and bars if you are self catering or half board. If your the type that requires everything has to be perfect, go elsewhere, I you like quick friendly service by both management, waitress and bar staff, you will like this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
1 Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Last year the hotel upgraded the Beach Bar and added a granite top open kitchen. The pool deck was tiled and new padded sun loungers and day beds were added to the large pool area creating a comfortable “chill out” space.

The beach was refurbished by the Government last year which has resulted in a lovely large beach for long walks or just relaxing in a sun lounger.

I am disappointed that you were not impressed with the room especially the bathroom. Some of the bathrooms have been refurbished with new vanities and bath tubs. Our maintenance team has started to refurbish this room so that it can be brought up to standard.

I am glad that you enjoyed our soups, salads and chips, the kitchen brigade try very hard to ensure the food is tasty with a good variety of dishes. However we will over view what we are serving to see where improvements can be made.

Discovery Bay by rex resorts has one of the prime locations in Holetown. As you mentioned, the hotel is within walking distance to the Limegrove Life Style Centre which houses designer shops, restaurants, bars and a luxury cinema. A large supermarket, a 24 hour convenience shop, banks, and a variety of bars and restaurants are also close by.

Thank you for you kind compliments about our friendly staff who take pleasure in looking after our guests expectations.

We appreciated that you chose Discovery Bay by rex resorts and look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We have just returned from our holiday at Discovery Bay after having a wonderful break. The improvements to the pool area and the new garden restaurant are stunning. Mr Brian Carter, the manager goes out of his way to make sure guest's are looked after, and any problems are dealt
with quickly. It was a pleasure meeting Mr Carter, as he is a really nice guy. All of the hotel staff
are extremely polite and pleasent, and treat guest's in a very professional manner, nothing is to much bother. The improvments to the beach are great, a false reef has been created a short distance from the beach which allow people to see fish that have made this thier home while snorkeling in the sea.
Top marks Brian 10 out of 10

Room Tip: Garden rooms are very good as the grounds are stunning
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 358Stephenknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
It was our greatest pleasure to ensure that your holiday was wonderful.

The entire team is very focused on delivering professional efficient service to all of our guests.

The pool deck was completely refurbished last year to make it the central comfort zone of the hotel. New tiles were laid, luxury padded loungers and day beds were added and wonderful new umbrellas.

The beach bar now has a new granite top and the floors are finished with Purple Heart wood. There is also a snack kitchen for burgers, fish and light snacks.
During the beach works last year two sea walls were erected and these have now attracted many fish creating a hive of underwater activity.

I was extremely pleased to meet you and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We have just returned from a week in this Hotel. My wife and I enjoyed it thoroughly. The hotel is very well placed for all the amenities in Holetown. The beach is clean and magnificent although it does shelve quite steeply at the edge. The food was very good with a fair variety.
The rooms are spacious and clean, although the air-con tends to be noisy.
In all a very good break helped by the hot sunny weather.

Room Tip: The beach rooms are worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RodP27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian C, General Manager at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review.

We are extremely pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

Discovery Bay is ideally located in Holetown near to banks, shops, supermarket and many bars and restaurants.

The beach was enhanced last year and is certainly one of the best beaches on the West Coast of Barbados.

We try very hard to keep the food interesting and varied using only the freshest ingredients. At lunch we offer a buffet with salads, rice, potatoes a pasta dish along with burgers, fish and chicken from the grill. Sandwiches are available on request as well.
The dinner buffet offers a roast joint along with the salads and other freshly prepared dishes.

Our rooms are a very good size and our housekeepers work diligently to keep them spotless.

Some of our air-conditioners are a bit noisy which we are changing over to the energy efficient brands.

Thank you so much for choosing Discovery Bay for your holiday and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Brian Carter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
2.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,050 reviews
8.1 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
10.1 mi away
Butterfly Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 mi away
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hastings
1,506 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
4.7 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts

Property: Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
Address: St. James Beach, Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique hotel situated on St James Beach, the Discovery Bay consists of charming plantation-style houses set in beautiful landscaped gardens. Located on the fashionable West coast, days at this resort are centred around the beach and the pool, the upscale Limegrove shopping mall and nightlife on Holetown's first street a short walk away. The resort is all-inclusive and family friendly, popular with couples also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelUp, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Bay By Rex Hotel Saint James
Discovery Bay Barbados
Discovery Bay Hotel Barbados
Discovery Bay By Rex Resorts Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing