We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutley amazing place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Birmingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Absolutley amazing place”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Myself and Family stayed at Discovery Bay for 10 days. I was very impressedwith the staff, they were very polite and helpful and nothing was to much trouble. The food could not be faulted, thier was different food everyday and it was like eating in a restaurant every day. Again the service was very good. The drinks were also great (not watered down) and plenty of cocktails on offer thoughout the day. The rooms were air conditioned and cleaned everyday. The setting was unbeatable , right on the beach front ,which felt like a private beach. a few nice pub, restaurants are in easy walking distance and a great rum shack which has street karoke on a Sunday night. I would definately return to Discovery Bay tomorrow (if i could) absoltely great hotel. Thank you to all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sarahvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    291
    139
    68
    73
See reviews for
120
387
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

ideally located beach front hotel convenient for bars and resteraunts a little run down but the rooms are spacious and comfortable over the last few years prices have risen sharply a nd for 2012 the cost is greater than mango bay which is a neighbooring hotel with superior food and drinks with a greater ratio of staff to residents I understand that many former stalwart patrons are now leaving in favour of better valued hotels,the other issue is safety ,the building is basically a tinder box ,no fire doors ,smoke detectors,one carelessly discarded cigarette would soon transform this place into an inferno of mass destruction.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank featheduster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEO-rexresorts, CEO, Rex Resorts at Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
I was a little disappointed to read your review and would once again repeat that our prices have not increase significantly from year to year. Exchange rates have changed and tax and duties have been applied to holiday prices - if you have been quoted a high price then we suggest you check with another travel agent. Depending on when you book, you may receive benefit of an early booking offer.

Discovery Bay is closed presently for renovations and upgrading to guest rooms, restaurants and public areas and it will reopen for the winter season. The hotel is completely non-smoking for guests comfort and the buildings are in fact concrete and unlikely to catch on fire as you have suggested.

We have received bookings from a number of returning guests and it would be a pleasure if you would return - if you are looking for a cheaper hotel, then that is of course your choice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Holetown hotels

bramley hants
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2011

my wife and me recommended the discovery bay in barbados to our sister and brother inlaw. they absolutely loved it . and they can be fussy were they stay, they said the food was good the staff were so friendly and made them welcome. and they would defiantly go back . thank you all at discovery bay for making there stay so enjoyable. hope to see you all again ourselves soon.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BramleyHantsWoodsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

This hotel is just what we expected for a three star rated hotel in barbados, but we were given a five star service. The staff are very nice, the food was fantastic (as i'm a very fussy eater) and could eat every thing that Adrian the cheff cooked.
All the staff are very friendly and could not do enough for us, Gregory in the bar is so funny
and made me some lovely cocktails.
Our special thanks go to Jennifer, David, Adrian & Vernon for making our stay so nice and we would come back time & time again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kath01_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Our first time to Barbados,we could not have chosen better accomodation to suit us! we had a garden room with a pool and side sea view,so spacious and a lovely balcony. Staff made our holiday complete with their friendly service and attentative natures. The gardens were beautifully maintained and led straight onto the fabulous beach adding to the wonderful ambiance of Discovery Bay Hotel which is very close to everything in St James! We overheard that the hotel would be closing for a few weeks this year for renovation to the rooms (following a visit from the top!) this will give the hotel excellent overall ratings. We found the food and drinks offered of a high standard thewelcome rum punch on arrival is amazing .........saving to return! enjoy!

Room Tip: ask for a bar/pool view garden room no extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hello2uLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I stayed at this hotel with three of my girlfriends and we had a fantastic time. The location is perfect and it is substantially cheaper than many of the other hotels in the area. The rooms are fairly simple but clean and that's all you need because you'll spend most of your time lying on a sun lounger mesmerized by the view. The sunsets are spectacular.
We were room only intentionally because there are so many amazing restaurants in Barbados. Several are within walking distance of the hotel, the rest a short cab ride.
I would stay here again because you can't beat the price and location.
I can thoroughly recommend taking a champagne cruise on the Stiletto Catamaran. The captain Peter is a great guy who really looks after you. You get bubbles, nibbles, music, a swim with the turtles and a glorious sunset. One of the best experiences of my life.

Room Tip: Upgrade to get a priceless ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaStokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

We have just returned from a week at Discovery Bay for our 25th wedding anniversary, it was perfect. The beachfront room was huge and the balcony was great place to watch the world go by on the beach below. The staff were very friendly and the gardens around the pool were beautiful. We hadn't been to Barbados for 10 years, but the Discovery Bay reminded us why we loved the island and it's people. Ideally placed for the restaurants of Holetown. We will return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Whiteheads48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
2.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
8.1 mi away
Coconut Court Beach Hotel
8.0 mi away
Savannah Beach Hotel
Savannah Beach Hotel
#4 of 9 in Hastings
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mango Bay All Inclusive
4.7 mi away
Almond Beach Resort
Almond Beach Resort
#3 of 10 in Saint Peter Parish
1,355 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#11 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts

Property: Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
Address: St. James Beach, Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique hotel situated on St James Beach, the Discovery Bay consists of charming plantation-style houses set in beautiful landscaped gardens. Located on the fashionable West coast, days at this resort are centred around the beach and the pool, the upscale Limegrove shopping mall and nightlife on Holetown's first street a short walk away. The resort is all-inclusive and family friendly, popular with couples also. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Bay By Rex Hotel Saint James
Discovery Bay Barbados
Discovery Bay Hotel Barbados
Discovery Bay By Rex Resorts Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing