We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, excellent value worth visiting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2011

Many thanks for the wonderful time we enjoyed at your resort. Your staff went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The check-in was 'a breeze' as everything was as we had ordered and we were expected. Nicole and Onisha treated us exceptionally following up every request accurately.

Our room was great with sliding patio doors, ceiling fan, remote controlled air conditioner (it worked very well) comfortable bed and good-sized bathroom. We never even tried the television with everything else there was to see and do. The room and public areas were well cleaned and maintained with fresh linens as needed. The fresh daily beach towels made a nice touch.

The dining room staff was exemplary. My garlic issues were known before I arrived and everyone went out of their way to ensure I was well fed with my choice of dishes. The head waitress (name like Tracia) ensured we were made to feel most welcome as did your other head water (sorry name forgotten). The head chef made a point of assisting me personally and was exceptionally kind. Not surprisingly we ate very well (probably too much).

There was always a good selection of dishes for every meal and the mix of service and buffets worked well- not too many of either. We quickly fell into the habit of enjoying afternoon tea on the patio.

The all-inclusive wines and drinks were freely dispensed. The wine was good and the variety of bar drinks extensive. How nice to have ones choice of rums, for example, not just the cheapest one available. The bartenders were competent and quickly produced anything we ordered.

The grounds and pool are well maintained and the 'sports' staff knowledgeable and friendly. The security guard, Anthony went out of his way to find out some information for us.

We were aware that the beach could vary in size, but there was still plenty of sea to swim in! We liked the location allowing us to walk into town for shopping. The egret decorated trees amused us every evening.

Though we only went on the one tour we were delighted to snorkel with so many turtles and enjoyed the catamaran ride. It might have been nice to have places on land pointed out as we passed but the sail with local music was still very pleasant.

The hotel manager was readily in attendance and happy to talk so had there been any concerns one knew it would be quickly attended to.

Check-out was easily, accurately and quickly handled.



I would certainly recommend this resort to others.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blossie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,619)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,152 - 1,158 of 1,619 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2011

This was our first trip to Barbados and Mango Bay. Would we go again? That is certain! We too were a little apprehensive just before arriving as we had read several less than positive reviews about the hotel, these were the first negative ones that we had seen. Upon arriving we were slightly disappointed by the size of our room but it was very clean and adequate as we weren't in it very often. This and only this was our only gripe for the rest of the holiday and stay was fantastic.

The food was plentiful and a mixture of buffet and a la carte. One of us is a chef and had no complaints as there was always enough of a choice. The wines and drinks were again of a good quality. The hotel is small but it adds to the personal touch and friendliness not only of the staff but also the other guests. If you want to mix with other guests this is easy to do but if you want your own space it is big enough for that too.
The location of the hotel is great, you are on the beach; near good bars and restaurants; shops and everywhere feels very safe. The nightly entertainment is easy listening and easy going and finishes by 11. If you want more step outside the hotel and you have it there. We were in a room backing onto the road near the bars, were they excessively noisey - no. Only one night could we hear any music but still it wasn't intrusive.
One of the biggest assets of the hotel is their staff, from management level and below. Their service on levels is excellent, friendly and effecient. We can't big up this enough because this area in hospitality is always critical to guests having a good holiday and we certainly did. We will be one of a long line of returning visitors to Mango Bay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank melandcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

We felt at home in this hotel from the first morning. The staff are friendly, and helpful in all respects. They told us about a booking guidlines for lunch and evening meals, which as we were all inclusive was very helpful. The restaurant is very pleasant and tables may be had with a close beach view, with balmy breezes blowing and the sound of the waves.
Our room we found to be excellent, being on the 3rd floor, with a large balcony, and always well serviced. The location is near the centre of Holetown, with an easy walk to the shops and services, but in a fairly quiet position beside the beach. We did have a little bit on noise one evening, but in the general the entertainment was good and very relaxed and finished about 11. We went on trips exclusively organised by the hotel, which we found to be very good, with a laid back and relaxed small group.
Best of all we liked the ambience of the hotel, and found that eveyone was very friendly, and sociable over cocktails in the evenings, and chatty about thier trips around the island, several couples having made visits on a regular basis, which is a great recommendation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank metcombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

This was our second visit to Mango Bay and we were not disappointed. There are two things in particular that make Mango Bay a first rate hotel, the food and the staff. Both are critical to the success of any hotel but especially an all-inclusive.

First, the food. The usual format is table service from a menu that for dinner always contains at least four entrees, one of which is vegetarian. Occasionally, there is a buffet. The menu is on a two-week rotation so there is no possibility of being bored with a limited choice of food. Food quality is outstanding and the presentation is exquisite. There is strong emphasis on locally produced food. Vegetables are cooked to perfection and the sauces/garnishes are delicate and delicious. The soups are often unique and the flavour is outstanding. This is a first class kitchen. Desserts have often been the weakest part of the dinner menu but during our visit there was a shift in emphasis towards excellent pastries in addition to the usual ice cream, cheese plate and fruit plate.

Second, the staff. The staff is exceptionally well-trained, highly competent and professional. Yet, there is a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. When a staff member at Mango Bay offers a cheery ‘good morning’ you know that he/she genuinely means it. The waitresses in the restaurant are quite simply the best. They work very hard but always provide efficient, calm service with a smile. Staff training begins at the top and Shireene, the Mango Bay manager, and the other management staff, are excellent. They are highly visible and any problems are taken seriously and dealt with swiftly. This is a very well run hotel.

We stayed in an oceanfront room while at Mango Bay. These rooms are spacious, well furnished and very clean. Everything works well, lots of hot water and excellent pressure. Very good air conditioning. While the furniture in these front rooms is a bit dark and heavy we noticed while there that many rooms on the same floor are being refurnished with lighter furnishings, both in colour and style. I assume that all rooms in this block will receive the same treatment.

There is (with one or two exceptions) excellent entertainment every evening. Overall, the entertainment was better than our visit last year. Indeed, most groups were of very high quality. In addition,. most groups have learned to read their audience and especially offer lighter background music during the dinner period.

Yet, Mango Bay is not for everyone. The hotel grounds, although attractive and very well kept, are not as spacious as some much larger hotels. And yes, there has been erosion of the beachfront, but this is not unique to Mango Bay. The result is that while there are sufficient sun beds it is not possible when the hotel is full for everyone to secure a spot in the sun directly facing the sea. We don’t mind this and spent most days in shady areas around the pool.

So, ignore the spate of somewhat negative reviews a month ago and consider the most recent reviews as indicative of the true Mango Bay. They are “spot on”.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geographer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Having read some of the later reviews we were a little nervous about coming to Mango Bay. We had booked a one bedroom apartment and when we arrived we were disappointed by the standard of the room. It was old and tired and we were not happy. However, the duty manager Candice, came over and could see the problem and promised to try and arrange another room. She did this within 2 days and we moved to a superior room. What a difference the room was large and sunny. As it was our anniversary we were also given a Lobster dinner, very thoughtful and we really appreciated the gesture.

The food is a full english breakfast and three course lunch and dinner and the food was excellent albeit a little fattening!

The staff are very good, attentive and friendly and as this is a small hotel the guests tend to get to know each other which makes the atmosphere very welcoming and friendly. This in turn leads to a very relaxing and enjoyable stay.

It is situated in Holetown, at the end of a row of bars and restaurants so if you get stir crazy there is much to do just outside. There is a new shopping centre just opening 3 minutes away and that is worth a visit.

On my return I have read the reviews again, now I know a little about the hotel and I can recognise what people are saying (except the people who sadly obtained an infection that I dont understand) . I think their reviews are a bit harsh and the expectancies are not set correctly, this is not Sandy Lane. It is a boutigue hotel and should be seen as such although I aree it is starting to get tired. The staff make up for any shortcommings and I would recommend this hotel without reservation. The manager is absolutly focused on providing her guests with a fantastic holiday and she does.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Just returned from spending two weeks with my wife at this wonderful hotel. First visited two years ago and if anything it has improved. The staff are still as welcoming and freindly and the service with a smile is spot on.
The food is of a high quality and the balance between buffet and a la carte is excellent pleasantly served by a dedicated team who aim to please the guests.
House wines are very good and not cheap plonk, as are the drinks from the bar many of which are premium brands. The service at the bar can be somewhat slow at times, but the cocktails are worth the wait.
Any problems are normally swiftly resolved by the hands on management who are always visible and not hidden away in an office. Even the owner is a regular visitor and communicates with the guests.
The live evening entertainment provides a blend of music for all age groups either for dancing, which we like, or just for listening. Even the executive chef sings occasionally with some bands, and he has a superb voice.
Sometimes the heavy rain showers can spoil the evening as the area is open. Perhaps they should consider some form of retractable cover for this area ?..
The uniquenees of this hotel seems to attract returning guests on a regular basis, the blend of ambience and quality in a relaxed and infomal environment must form part of the recipe for it's success.
We will be back for more.
Grahame & Betty Heap
West Yorkshire.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahameHeap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2011

We stayed for 2 weeks from 18th Jan 2011 with our 2 1/2 year old daughter. The staff were fantastic with her and went out of their way to accommodate her needs. Whilst this is not a typical children's hotel set up there were a small number of children with other guests and staff and the hotel could not do enough to help. We were very nervous after reading some previous reviews on this site but have enough common sense to realise that some people will have a problem wherever they go. This is a four star hotel, ok this covers a wide margin of hotel qualties but overall this deserves its four stars based on quality of service and facilities. We had a deluxe top floor room which offers fab ocean view (not the full ocean front ). The room was large and well furnished. I believe some of the rooms are needing refurb and we did see one so I can appreciate some other comments about this and I can understand why the standard rooms might be noisy near the street but we knew this before we booked so paid for a better room away from the road. The hotel are aware of all maintenance issues and I believe there is a continual improvement programme. There are some minor issues but if you get upset about a few (very few) missing pool tiles then you need to get a life! This is not a five star hotel and those comparing it to Sandy Lane are misguided, this is not in competition with Sandy Lane and not in the same price bracket. For the location of this hotel in St James the value is great, the food is great and the service is lovely. Also remember that the service in Barbados is polite but distinctly more friendly and laid back in style than in some other countries. If you want five star service then be prepared to pay for it as this is not a part of the world where you can expect a bargain. We have stayed in four & five star hotels and for the same quality in Barbados it is going to cost a lot more than in some parts of the world. As for the quality of drinks, we never had a problem with ordering bottled beer if you don't like draft, the bar staff were friendly and accommodating as were the restaurant with my daughter's meals. One day my husband was not feeling well and the waitress tried to assist with his meal options to help out. The food was of a good standard and both the buffet and a la carte lunch and dinners were excellent. The dining room is open air so the birds are a price you pay for fantastic views and a lovely atmosphere. We hadn't done all inclusive before and were pleasantly surprised by the style and quality of meals. We had one incident while there due to another guest being rude about my (actually well behaved) daughter. This woman took offense to our daughter being in the restaurant for some reason and one lunchtime made a very rude comment. The waitress could see i was upset about it and came to check we were ok. Also the restaurant supervisor came to talk to us and reassure us that our daughter was very welcome and there was no problem for anyone else. They handled it very well. On the whole all other guests made her very welcome and the nightly bands were good enetertainment for all the family! There are plenty of hotels that don't accept children in Barbados and those with similar problems with children should stay in one of them! I would return to this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doughgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
2.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,093 reviews
9.2 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
353 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#11 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,801 reviews
9.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
3.1 mi away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#3 of 26 in Saint James Parish
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range: $352 - $758 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing