We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,861)
Filter reviews
1,861 results
Traveler rating
1,123
492
152
55
39
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,123
492
152
55
39
Show reviews that mention
All reviews superior room glass bottom boat lunch and dinner catamaran trip small hotel water skiing cold towels the penthouse rum punch free catamaran bar staff waitress service street party ocean front evening entertainment water sports afternoon tea
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 1,861 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2019

Group of 5 stayed for 1 week after the cruise. Initial thoughts were very underwhelming, but this small hotel grew on us. Room decor is quite tired, but shower, towels, beds, quilts, bathrobes, aircon, mozzy machine, housekeeping all very good.
Location is 1st class, right in Holetown, close to the reggae bus stop, right on a great beach. There's some duff rooms which are next to the disco street and very noisy. Be careful which room you're in and/or take ear defenders !!
Food & Drink - Wine is very average. Only Chardonnay or Merlot available, although the odd bottle of Sauv Blanc appears randomly and is much better. Breakfast & Lunch are superb on a served and self serve basis. Dinner is served & presented nicely, but menu is small & repetitive. Desserts are boring and tasteless (except bread pudding and rum sauce).
Booking system for lunch and dinner works quite well & we never had any problem with a table for 5 at any time, but did book at every breakfast visit, for that day.
Entertainment is mixed, but consists of mainly singers placed next to the restaurant. This means that ambience is lost after you leave the restaurant. Can't they be positioned towards the bar, so people can enjoy them after dinner also ??
Watersports / free boat trips are great. Waterskiing, sail boats etc are all great but under utilised, (probably reflecting the elder clientele (maybe the season).
There's compromises here, but not too many, so is good value for a top notch beach location in pricey Barbados

Room tip: Rooms at front and side are next to late night street disco.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amandamF202XX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2019 via mobile

From the moment we stepped off the transfer minivan to the moment we stepped back on it we felt welcomed, relaxed, pampered and definitely in that holiday zone.
This was our 3rd visit to Barbados and our second time at the Mango Bay. Only went to another hotel as it was different part of island and closer to oistins and Bridgetown. Big regret as the other hotel, although on Par with the Mango Bay didn’t have the location of Holetown and the beach. The sea/ beach here is just perfect with stunning views of the Caribbean Sea. We upgraded to poolside room on ground floor which was literally about 3 metres away. Rooms are well serviced every day and very comfortable. Restaurant was all inclusive and meals/ drinks were exceptional. Very good cocktail menu which I tried to get through all the cocktails in a dignified manner. Barbados rum is outstanding and bar staff were very generous in their measures.
The pool area was very clean and bar staff made regular passbys to make sure we had drinks/snacks. Cold towels were also very welcome in the hot sun which cooled us down at the right time.
I can recommend this hotel highly and I’m already looking at booking in the near future for another visit.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4  Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019

loved our holiday at the Mango Bay. the room was a great size. we had a superior room, so we had a great big bedroom, then a patio with 2 sunbeds on it, with voiles so could have privacy if wanted. beyond this we had a little area where there were 2 sunbeds just at the side of the pool. great positioning.
the only gripe was the shower (husband hated the shower as quite low pressure and either hot and slow or cold and fast) however, once mentioned the hotel sent a maintenance guy round.
breakfasts were buffet style. plenty of choice and very tasty.
lunches, again buffet style and really enjoyed.
evening meals were usually a la carte. nice food, but sometimes the portions were a tad small so grateful that they were 3 courses.
the booking meals at breakfast time is a great idea it turns out, it means youre never waiting for a table and at buffet meals not everyone piles up for food at the same time. plus you are allocated a waiter/waitress who keeps you hydrated !!
never did we worry about finding a sunbed. some people did reserve, but because there were so many sunbeds and the staff were so helpful, you knew you would get one either beach or pool side.
the beach was nice, sometimes a little hard getting out of the sea with any dignity, but still, everyone was the same !!
the entertainment was singers or groups, some better than others, but the Mango Bay is in a position where you could always take a walk out and find something to do/see. we felt very safe walking around Holetown.
the free trips are better than trips we have paid loads for. the glassbottom boat trip was brill, the 2 guys who took us were great personalities and were not in a great rush to offload us. we went snorkelling at the wrecks whilst they fed the fish around us.
the catamaran trip was also very good. we swam with sea turtles, that was an amazing experience. rum and sprite (or other drinks) was served. we were out for 2 hours which was a perfect length of time.
definitely recommend this hotel to everyone. we would love to return as it was a lovely relaxing holiday.

Room tip: superior room ground floor was perfect for us ... great access for pool
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank emmatabg7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2019

We arrive home this morning from 10 days at Mango bay. We upgraded to a beach front room which was worth the extra. The hotel is perfectly situated so you can also walk into the town but the beach was fantastic and the staff were so attentive.
We both had birthdays and they went out of the way to make our days that extra bit memorable.
A great selection of water sports and plenty of activities, we will be back.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Arthur B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2019 via mobile

I can only rate this hotel 3 and half for several reasons it has some good but it needs to change and update .on arrival we were told there is a problem with your booking so we are upgrading you to a condominium which happened to be in a row of condos right by the beach that worked out really well for us.The hotel owns a couple of the condos the rest are privately owned but it gave us access to private pool for condo guests and owners that is looked after very well,the main pool in the hotel had missing tiles,the water is colder and needs updating.This brings me to the beach
the sand is soft but there are rocks underfoot as you enter the sea but also there is a ledge that makes it hard to get in and out of the water.There is a rope but signs around the area tell you not use it to get in and out of the sea, I have nerve damage in my leg so I really struggled and only went in twice.The residence pool worked really well and we got know Pat and Julia who own some of the condos and have lived there for over 20 years they have some good stories to tell.Twice a week they go round in the early evening Fogging to help keep the mosquitoes away,we received a note from the hotel telling us to shut our windows and doors while this process took place,we had no windows only shutters so for about 20 minutes after this process all we could smell was smoke.on the plus side no mozzies to bite us that is until waiting at the airport to fly home.
The hotel has a staggered eating time process for lunch and dinner you had to book a time for eating these meals at breakfast every morning but even then the restaurant was overwhelmed and kept you waiting for a table there were no where near enough tables .The service could be very slow and the menu lacked enough options, on buffet days at lunch time you could make your own sandwiches and I actually found it better than the buffet food. One night we ordered a banana split for dessert only to be told they had no whipped cream so we asked for vanilla ice cream instead only that had run out as well so we ordered strawberry ice cream. We ended up with a banana split and it had vanilla ice cream on it!that service for three courses took an hour and a quarter that night.
The entertainment every night consisted various singers repeating the same songs in a different order and on a Sunday night it had karaoke from a bar behind the hotel to compete with so in our condo it could be noisy with sea as well .
The bar is compact but we always managed to get served by the very polite staff who mixed good cocktails and in general all the staff were polite.we went to the cricket one day and hotel made us a good packed lunch with drinks.
Some days the maid would forget to .leave us towels and because the phone in the condo did not work we would have to walk up to reception and ask for some,also they knocked the door one day they required access to a locked room in our condo that turned out to be a store room full of matresess and junk.
If I did return it would be to one of the private condos they were very nice and we could eat when we want or where we wanted.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6  Thank beyo499614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews