We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,769)
Filter reviews
1,769 results
Traveler rating
1,065
470
144
55
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,065
470
144
55
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews standard room glass bottom boat lunch and dinner catamaran trip water skiing small hotel cold towels the penthouse free catamaran rum punch ocean front waitress service street party bar staff evening entertainment a la carte afternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,769 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2018

Stayed at Mango bay for 2 weeks, one of the best hotels I've been to. The hotel staff were friendly and polite especially the waitresses and bar staff. The food was great, a different variety every night and the night time entertainment was great. I spent most of my time on the beach, there were always beach chairs and umbrellas to use and if for any occasion there wasn't the staff were happy to put them out for you. there was a range of watersports to try, as well as the glass bottom boat and the catamaran. The only downside i would say was some of the vendors, the majority of them were completely fine, they would say hello and tell you about the products they sell and the move on there were only a rare few that would outstay their welcome and basically annoy you all the time even when you have made it clear you don't want anything, with them asking you to get them drinks from the bar which is not allowed. I do think hotel securituy presence is needed on the beach so they can potentially stop the annoying vendors somewhat harassing the guests. other than that it was a great holiday and Iwould recommend anyone going there!!

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Jord_2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

We have always stayed at larger hotels and I was a little worried about our stay after reading some of the reviews. But I can say we loved it. We stayed in a superior room which was a great size with a balcony with 2 sun loungers on overlooking the pool. Housekeeping was excellent and every evening clean pool towels were brought to the room along with chocolates. Reserving sun beds early in the morning was banned and we always got 3 together around the pool or beach. The beds are not on top of one another and all have umbrellas so there is plenty of space to move beds in and out of the shade without affecting anyone else. The pool isn’t that big or deep to swim in but it is very clean, not busy and great for using lilos or other floats in. The sea is beautiful so if you like to swim the sea is great for this.

Yes you do book your lunch & evening meal times at breakfast and we didn’t find this an issue. Sometimes if we were hungry we went a bit earlier & a couple of times we were running late so went later. It was never a problem! I enjoyed the food and I like to try something different. My husband is a fussy eater and all the days he didn’t like the menus he put in a request for steak, chicken or asked for the dishes without the sauces etc. He was never made to feel a nuisance and the requests were always met. My daughter has a nut allergy which we told them about on our first evening. They obviously made a note as every time there were nuts on the menu they would advise us and offer to make the dish nut free if she wanted it or she could order something else of her choosing. Breakfast had a good variety of food and with afternoon served from 4-5.30 you certainly never went hungry. The only thing I would say is sometimes you had to wait for your drinks at meal times to be brought to the table. But they hadn’t been forgotten, this is Barbados & they have a different time zone. So just relax and politely ask again and they will chase it for you. Oh and long trousers must be worn by men on the a la Carte evenings & no ripped jeans for women. We saw a few people asked to change whilst we were there

The entertainment is low key. It tends to be local groups or musicians singing a range of music including up to date pop songs and traditional steel pans. For me this made a refreshing change to seeing the entertainment team dancing around in low budget costumes! The entertainment area is next to the restaurant so can be enjoyed whilst you are finishing your dinner, meaning no rushing to go to see the entertainment. If you had finished dinner you always found a seat at one of the tables to enjoy a drink and watch the entertainment.

The staff all seem to enjoy working with each other and are very happy in their jobs. They can be seen singing and dancing along to the music. They always smile and say hello and a member of management was always around checking you were ok and asking if there was anything they could do. When we departed we were given a bottle of water to take and a member of management came out to thank us for our stay and wish us s safe journey. Another bonus of this small hotel is that the staff remember you not just the drinkers or tippers. They seemed to remember what you drank or what flavour ice cream you liked which again was a lovely touch.

We were celebrating our 9th wedding anniversary in August and the hotel decorated our table at dinner that night, decorated our bed with petals, arranged the towels in to heart shapes, put banners & ballons in our room and left us a card & bottle of fizz on ice. We thought this was a lovely touch. They also did decorations, cakes, candles & sung happy birthday a number of times to guests which is a really nice touch.

The beach is beautiful with fantastic sunsets and there are lots of water sports on the beach to have a go at. The hotel offer 2 free boat trips; a catamaran trip for 2 hours & a glass bottom 45 minute boat trip. We enjoyed both you can snorkel if you wish and you do get to see lots of fish, we were lucky to see turtles too.

Overall I would recommend this hotel on a beautiful beach with its happy helpful staff. I came home saying how nice it was to go away and genuinely relax, to not get anxious about finding sun beds & tables and checking the time. We would love to return again to Mango Bay.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
7  Thank cjj2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2018 via mobile

we booked 2 weeks at this hotel as my 60th birthday treat
it is on the West coast of Barbados
its lovely and they cant do enough for you
on the night we arrived the day after my birthday they had made me a personalised menu to keep, decorated our dinner table and provided complementary champagne
it was so special
You get 3 meals a day and afternoon tea if you want it
you will never be hungry
the choice is not as varied as some all inclusive resorts but that is because they concentrate on quality over quantity which i think is better
some days its a buffet for lunch and dinner others its a set menu with service to the table
There is only one bar but you have a seaview what more could you want while sipping Rum Punch
You can have drink service to your sunbed if you need it and they provide cold towels to call off
The pool is not deep so good for kids and poor swimmers like me
they offer a couple of free boat trips and some water sports in the price
The glass bottom boat trip is a must
They can also organise trips to other places on request picked up fr9m the hotel
The local bus service runs by the hotel too
Across the road is Lime Grove shopping centre you need lots of money for that haha its all famous designers but the Lime Grove Cinema is also a must if only UK cinemas were like this
If you do want snacks there is a garage with shop and huge supermarket a short walk away and also Chattel Town shopping centre for gifts and local crafts and just a little walk further on duty free shopping
I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Barbados

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2018 via mobile

Fantastic and quiet to watch the awesome picturesque sunsets with family best location ever , much needed relaxing holiday here perfect , the sausages were not upto scratch must have been frozen type in but other than that perfect

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Parmindermin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 weeks, the rooms are of a decent size that albeit in need of a touch up very clean and perfectly serviceable. The restaurant delivers fantastic selection of foods and beverages and all the staff are pleasant and attentive. The water sports on offer are good and plentiful. Availability of sun beds is not a problem throughout the day. All in all a very pleasant place to stay. The only down side is the vendors that wonder the public beaches although most are pleasant some struggle with the word no but that is not a blight on the resort. Thanks for a great time Mango Bay !

Stayed: September 2018, traveled with family
3  Thank Pagetpalms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews