We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“wonderful and relaxing”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel ticks all the boxes if you're looking for a relaxing holiday exceptional service and quality food. The only problem you will have is deciding from the menu what to have! I noticed there was a majority of retired people staying at the resort and that many of them came back there year after year, that in itself tells you Mango Bay has got something quite special for people to keep returning. I agree and I would recommend it to anyone wanting a nice quiet relaxing holiday. To mention that dress code must be obeyed to or you will not be able to enter the eating area. It really is a dress up occasion for your evening meal which we found a real delight. The staff were very friendly and extreamley polite at all times. The pool was very clean as were the rooms with towels changed daily. I would say that a room facing the road is noisy till 2 AM sometimes and this was a problem to me. The noise was coming from the local bars. As soon as I mentioned this to the staff I was offered a move to a different room and this was exceptional service and very much apreciated. The manager, Amanda saw to this move straight away and her caring nature shone through, thank you Amanda. My room was 410 so avoid it if this would bother you. Other rooms like pool side or view or ocean view didn't have this problem. The water sports were great too and there was no rushing to get a sunbed in the morning, there are plenty to choose from. If you like snorkelling you will be very pleased here, it is all on your local beach and so are the turtles. I will certainly go back there again but next time I will go for longer and ocean view. The view is beautiful and you only live once!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony J, Director of Operations at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
We sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
I am delighted to read that the combination of great food, friendly and polite staff, and excellent water sports made your trip relaxing and wonderful.
Your feedback is important to us as we continue to improve our services and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful Mango Bay experience.

Regards,
Anthony Johnson
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    411
    132
    49
    29
See reviews for
311
939
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stanmore London
Level 6 Contributor
258 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Here for the 4th time and still loving it. We booked a superior room as from experience we know the standard rooms at the back are extremely noisy. Staff were all so friendly and helpful as always, and the new manager Anthony is very pleasant and high profile. There are many repeat guests and we found a relaxed friendly atmosphere with guests chatting to one another as one previous visits. A bit surprised some people find this offputting!
It is true that the bathrooms are getting a bit tired, and a lick of paint here and there would not go amiss, but food and service standards are excellent. There is a tendency for over loud pop music to be playing in public areas from breakfast onwards which we did mention. Would rather have the volume down a bit and some Caribbean music in the background.
Hire a car for a day or two and visit the beautiful East Coast, especially Bathsheba, and also take in the Flower Caves at North Point and Grenade Hill wildlife reserve.
Overall still a great location and warm welcome and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room as these are quieter than the standard. We did not find the bar noise obtrusi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PnJStanmoreLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony J, Director of Operations at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Warm greetings and thank you for sharing your review.
Concerning our customer service and food selections, we are truly delighted to read that we continue to exceed your expectations.

On behalf of the entire team at Mango Bay, we sincerely appreciate your comments as it relates to our service standards and our continued focus on improving our product.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a 5th time!

Regards,
Anthony Johnson
DIrector of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This was our first visit to the Mango Bay Hotel and indeed Barbados and hopefully not our last. A beautiful island, friendly people and a fantastic hotel. We cannot recommend it enough. The welcome from Hermoine at the the hotel was warm and friendly and we were given a brief tour of the facilities. Throughout our stay, the service and the food were fantastic. The hotel is located on a lovely beach with sun loungers provided. Recommend the free catamarran trip with Captain 'Puff Daddy' with a glass of rum and a swim with the turtles thrown in. We hired a car for a few days and explored the east coast. Wow again. Went to Foul Bay ...paradise and we were the only people there! If you do go off exploring, maybe speak to the ever helpful Pedro at the hotel for directions. The road signs are not the best and you will get lost! All in all this was a fantastic holiday, totally relaxing and an experience we would love to repeat. Do not hesitate in booking this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunloversBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony J, Director of Operations at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for sharing your wonderful first experience.
Special thanks from Hermione , she is elated to be mentioned.
We are very pleased that our food and excellent service remained consistent, and they helped make your stay with us fantastic.

It is great to hear that your tours throughout the island in your rental were amazing and unforgettable.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful Mango Bay experience.

Regards,
Anthony Johnson,
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I wanted to put an unbiased review on here as a one-off visitor because I think a lot of people are slightly misled by the reviews from fiercely loyal, return guests who love it because it provides exactly what they want. It's a good hotel and the staff are wonderful, but it is a bit tired. It's also very small and intimate, which is fantastic if you're looking to make friends and meet new people, but not so good if you're after a romantic, private break with a loved one. The pool area really does need a revamp - it's a bit grotty, uneven and a light even floated out of its socket when we swimming.

Reserving sunbeds
The hotel really needs to take some action over the sunbeds. Guests would pick favourites and reserve them all every day - often by 5am. The lovely staff will bring out other, plastic beds and squeeze them (in shady areas normally) round the obviously unused, yet reserved, comfy beds - but that's not really the idea. I asked reception if they would consider removing the towels from sunbeds and they just pointed to the 'polite request' not to reserve them in their hotel welcome leaflet. When I removed some towels in order to use two sunbeds that had been empty for two hours I got the cold shoulder treatment when their occupiers returned 40 mins later. Frankly, when you're on a precious break from work, and the commute, and fighting for a seat on the train, you just don't want to deal with that sort of nonsense. Mango Bay - remove the towels from sunbeds when they haven't been used for an hour or if the towels have never been unfolded - it really is that simple.

The food
We thought the food was great - tasty, fresh and impressive for all inclusive.

Location
Again, great. Lots of wonderful restaurants (Tides, The Beach House) a short stroll away, and shops and bus stops within very easy reach.

Rooms
Don't even bother with the noisy ones on the street - people are not kidding, you will not sleep on the Sunday night! The karaoke is great though - so it you want to get involved and stay up - you can be the one making the noise.

Overall
This place is fabulous if you don't mind the fact it needs a bit of an upgrade and you love making friends on holiday and are not too bothered about lying in the sun (or you are an early riser and happy to lay out your towels first thing). But if those things matter to you, don't be swayed by the five-star ratings from return visitors. It's definitely still worth a visit - just be aware and don't go expecting relaxed luxury.

Room Tip: Street rooms are very noisy - I would select a superior room as standard. If you choose a room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank WaterBabyEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony J, Director of Operations at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking the time to share this review.
Since your visit in September 2013, we have made a few changes to our services and product.

Please keep in mind that every guest’s experience is important to us as we strive for the finest in service and facilities. Unfortunately, during your stay, we apparently fell short of our goals and your expectations. For this I apologize.

We are pleased to read that you found our location to be ideal, the food great and our staff wonderful.

Thoughtful feedback is a gift and we thank you for your input. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,
Anthony Johnson
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Just returned from Mango Bay. Missing it already.
The Hotel is in a great sport right on a lovely sandy beach, close to shops and bars, if you want to go exploring. We went to cricket T20 while we where there and the hotel provided transfer at a very realisable price, and a lovely pack lunch if you order it the day before..Also they had some WI legends to come in and sign mini cricket bats nice touch.
Everything about the hotel was lovely, location,beach, pool, staff, food, drinks,sunsets, entertainment (Just Human)on Weds was my favourite, she has a great soul voice and gets you dancing.Peter the chef sometimes comes out to sing, he got a good voice too. We had a standard room which was big and clean, never in it much, so we probably would'nt pay for an upgrade.
The complimentary activites was great too. The catamaran trip was great fun they let me sail it for about 30mins, and we swam with turtles, glass bottom boat was nice, and the little hobie wave sailing was lovely with Sandy. Peter the bar man soon became one of my favourite people turning up on the beach every time we needed a drink.We was there for a wedding on Friday and it was lovely to see.
Every thing about the hotel was fabulous.Thanks to all the staff at Mango Bay.I can see why guest return year after year. We hopefully will.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaynor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony J, Director of Operations at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Gaynor L,
Many thanks for taking the time to write this review about your March visit with us!
I am truly delighted to read that you experienced what many of our repeat guests return for year after year.

We are pleased that you appreciated all that Mango Bay has to offer, our favorable location, entertainment, great food and drinks, clean spacious room, complimentary trips, watersports, staff who provide exemplary service and last but not least amazing sunsets.

Having the West Indies Cricket Legends attend our Manager's Cocktail party during the T20 tournament was also a pleasure for us, I am happy that you were able to witness the event, and that it was much appreciated.

We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back for another wonderful Mango Bay experience!

Warm Regards,
Anthony Johnson
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

The clue is in the title; my wife and I returned to Mango Bay in March 2014 for our 3rd stay, after a break of about 6 years. It is wonderful to stay all-inclusive without those intrusive wrist bands. The staff quickly learn your face, and often your name too. Food was great as ever; Dennis, Maureen and the other bar staff ask you what drink you like and then turn it into a bespoke cocktail. Free Wi-Fi, complimentary catamaran and glass bottom boat trips, and beach & pool staff brave enough to let my wife handle the hobbycat. Never had trouble getting a lounger, which are comfortable!The owner, Peter, put in a couple of appearances and was happy to chat. We would not want to stay anywhere else in Barbados.

Room Tip: Ocean and bar view rooms avoid street noise that can continue quite late at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony J, Director of Operations at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear Phil S,

Greetings from all at Mango Bay! and thank you for your lovely review about your 3rd stay with us.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful holiday experience and pleased that a couple names have stayed with you, Dennis and Maureen are thrilled that they were mentioned. I am truly happy you appreciated all that Mango Bay has to offer and that you "would not want to stay anywhere else in Barbados".

We look forward to welcoming you back for a 4th time for another fabulous Mango Bay experience!

Kind Regards,
Anthony Johnson,
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We are 4 friends who have just returned from Mango Bay,(9th-16th March). What a wonderful relaxing time we've had. this was our first time at the hotel. We have stayed in Barbados before and love it.We have eaten in some of the Islands best restaurants, Cliffs, Lone Star, Fish Pot. With Mango Bay's restaurant being right next to the beach We didn't feel like we were missing out.The hotel food is excellent, like eating out every night....
They did some special touches like welcome rum punch on arrival, going round the pool giving cold face cloths to cool off, chocolates on your pillow every evening, brushing sand off your sun bed on the beach.
The hotel location is great, right on a lovely sandy beach. If you can drag yourself away, its just a short walk to Limegrove for all you designer fans, and The Chattel Village, with some nice little shops & cafe bars.
Every thing about the hotel was fabulous.....The location, staff, food, drinks, pool, sunsets.
We stayed in a standard room, which was lovely, big and clean, we only slept in it, and spent about an hour a day to change for the evening .It can be a bit noisy on Sunday night when the locals have a street party, (but we joined in).
A special mention to Peter and Denis the bar men, who kept our wives in cocktails, if we went for a walk. Sandy who sailed the little Hobie Wave, the restaurant staff. All the staff were great to many to mention.
The complimentary catamaran trip and glass bottom boat was very good, we swam with turtles.
We meet some nice people during our stay, and a couple got married while we were there, which was lovely. Everyone wished them well, and it seemed to be well organised.
Mango Bay has lots of returning guest,and now I no why. We hope to be returning soon.
Thanks to all at Mango Bay

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnlowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony J, Director of Operations at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear johnlowe,

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely detailed review about your stay with us!

We are delighted that you had a wonderful relaxing holiday, and that you enjoyed the stellar service you received from out team, as well as our famous rum punch and the many activities and amenities Mango Bay has to offer. You truly experienced what our repeat guests return for year after year!

We look forward to your return visit as it would be our pleasure to provide another fabulous Mango Bay experience!

Warm Regards,
Anthony Johnson
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
14.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,517 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#10 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
2.3 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#8 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,805 reviews
3.1 mi away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#4 of 26 in Saint James Parish
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Property: Mango Bay All Inclusive
Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing