We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from Mango Bay, had a lovely holiday. Although I do agree that this hotel is not a 4star, I shall definitely be returning. Negatives are that rooms are a little tired and need updating, food was consistently tepid, choice of pastries at breakfast and afternoon tea very limited. Far too many flies! Not enough music around bar area (esp caribbean music)
This all sounds very negative, however when you weigh up the pros's they far outweigh the negatives.
General Manager Mr A Johnson very hands on, he will meet with all guests on a very personal level, he will try and resolve any problems that you may have. All of the staff are extremely friendly far too many to mention but can remember Peter in the restaurant/bar, along with Sherry, Sherry Ann, &Tanya. Bar staff Maureen, Jeanette, Dennis, Andre. last but not least Erica at Guest Services all worked very hard to make our stay extremely enjoyable. The complimentary catamaran cruise was lovely, fantastic location for 1st street Sunday night party, or shopping. Plenty of sunbeds, very good evening entertainment,although food not hot enough, the choice was very good. Although this was not our 1st visit to Barbados, this was our 1st visit to Mango Bay, would definitely return and recommend.
Many thanks to everyone.
Mr L Pearce

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank SharonP09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    943
    406
    129
    48
    29
See reviews for
301
928
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

The service was a bit uneven. The staff overall was friendly. However,
on a couple of occasions I found key areas unattended. For example, one morning at 8 am there was no staff at the front desk and there were a couple of instances early in the afternoon when no bartender was at the main bar.

I will say that the food was good with a good variety of menu options. The beach was nice if a bit narrow.

The room had a great view but our king sized bed was really two twin mattresses strapped together with a seam in the middle.

Overall, a nice trip but a better value is probably available on the island.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Rpascual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
home
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Without exception all the staff we encountered were, cheerful, helpful and polite. For an "all inclusive hotel" the food and drink were of a very high standard, the rooms cleaned every day, and public places spotless. My only problem is that as there are no facilities for the disabled, my husband had to help me in and out of the bath and mats on tiled floors are not a good idea. I discussed this problem with the manager and he agreed that some of the rooms should be adapted for those who need some degree of help with mobility.
The work on the beach caused very little didturbance and for the very short time that residents could not use this beach they were offered transport to another.

Room Tip: as we did not see other rooms I can only comment on ours, and my only problem was the bath as above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank poppysmummy41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Just back from 7 nights at Mango Bay and would recommend it to anyone in fact it is my first time ever to write a review.

Upon arrival to be met by the manager with a rum punch bags taken to room and dinner booked by the wonderful reception staff.

We traveled with our son who will be 2 in December and original given a room on the 2nd floor which was a standard room but perfect we asked to be moved because we had concerns about him getting on the balcony.

This request was dealt with straight away with exceptional customer service levels.

The rooms are perfect great air conditioning and decor and facilities ideal the pool area is lovely plenty of sun beds and again superb staff especially Peter who would come around and get your drinks order.

You may have read about the beach work this caused us no problems what so ever yes there was a little noise but nothing to effect your holiday.

The management laid on a shuttle to another beach were you could eat drink and enjoy the sun I have been to many hotels around the world and the management here relating to the beach issue could not be faulted in any way.

Food again this was very very good from the breakfast then either a buffet or served lunch to the great choice for evening meal.

The bar area is very relaxing and the staff Maureen Andre Dennis and many other ensure you never have to wait very long for a wide choice of cocktails beer or branded spirits.

The restaurant staff are great special mention Peter always a smile on his face Tanya B but to mention a few.

Location great easy to walk out and if you get chance go the the party at the bar just outside the hotel.

If in doubt were to book in Barbados look no further it is so friendly staff and guests I do have one major issue I should have booked 2 weeks not 1 week.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank kevin2377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

unfortunately i gave this place the benefit of the doubt because of the reviews saying not to listen to the bad ones,
1. to the beach complainers- not a big deal- they take you 5 or 6 days a week to the nearest beach with catamaran- beaches of barbados are top in the word, this is why we stayed on the west side.. or you can cab it for 10 minutes if you dont want to risk wind in wrong direction taking what would have been 10 minutes by car 1 hour by catamaran.
to those who think bulldozers are loud- this was the least of the problems. you did not even hear them unless you went up to them. when the beach in the front was clean and they were not working, they let you enjoy it, just be aware of the druggies doing drugs in public, most guests were too ignorant to realize the drugs anyway.
2. the rooms and premises were very 1975- 1985. Please fill in the the cracks around the pool with fresh cement! please power wash the tiles between the pool and bar! please get rid of the pedestal bathroom sinks and get some nice vanities inside the bathroom! please change the dirty looking bath tubs! please learn to dust the furniture! they were nice enough to get us a perfect size crib for the baby, but even the crib had dust all over it.
3. yes the people are nice. it is the bajan way. they are so nice that you don't want to complain when 3 people to come out of the kitchen to apologize and tell you to keep waiting for a fork when one of them can just get it already! very slow moving overall, but nice indeed
4. my back was killing me because our bed was really 2 double beds put together
5. why on earth are people ranting and raving about the food? this was the WORST part of the place and our entire vacation. the food is terrible. people who eat there do not know quality. something is not right about management. Management has it all wrong and should have a seminar on this. Why does it take so many servers and so many people to wash glasses and forks back there? And only one cook! the food every night was microwaved! I never had this in my life. The cook was treating the dinner as airplane food.
the fish in barbados should melt in your mouth! Not be chewing gum!
yes they will cook other things, but thye are not really cooking. The tomato sauce was canned.
even the pineapples were canned! No fresh fruits in barbados??
Why is this poor man cooking everything himself and then re-heating later? Why not have more cooks and make it restaurant style quality? I prefer to pay more and have real good food. Orange chicken had marmalade on it! Could they not have cooked in orange juice? Speaking of which, even he juices were note fresh, all from the market.
This time we didnt want to pay taxis to go to restaurants but what a mistake we made staying in one place thinking it was for the better. Take the taxi and go to Pices! Go to Opa!
They thought "from scratch" meant boiling some pasta,
Even the names of things were wrong. What they called ragu was pure white! It was alfreddo... sort of.. what they called tuna croissant sandwiches were just plain toast!
i could not believe even the bread and vegetables were frozen!
Where is the pride of the cook? Over-seasoning and breading something when all you need is bare minimum on fresh food and it would be the best.
And the scones! You can break a glass window with them! and all the other "pastries". I was shocked the English liked them. I guess they knew not to expect quality.
An American would go running once they saw the still frozen dinner roll.
We decided to give the benefit of the doubt.. every single day we thought the next day may be better.. even the bbq was patties- just like the fast food. Why not mold your own fresh beef?
I just did not expect the food to be this bad..

overall had we known it was really 3 star we wouldn't mind and we would say well we knew it was 3 stars..... but to call it a 4 or 4.5.. is a LIE..
Why did tripadvsier give a reward here last year? A representative should be coping these places out, not just reading reviews from tasteless folks who do not know quality.

The folks are worn out and so tired yet they try to be energized and are extremely nice. If it wasn't for the nice staff, this place would have nothing. I hope they treat them well though they are probably overworking them when they pre-prepare meals all day instead, they should have less out there and more in the kitchen in the afternoon.

Room Tip: choose beach view- you do not hear any noise from the bars that people have complained about but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank kefalonitisa82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic nine day stay in Barbados at Mango Bay. The country is absolutely beautiful and the people are amazing. The staff at the hotel are second to none, nothing was too much and service was always with a smile and a bit of cheeky banter. They would do anything within their means to ensure that your stay at the hotel was great. Good selection of drinks at the bar, compared to other countries we have visited and if you love rum, there is no short supply of that! The food was of a very good quality with each days lunch and dinner selection being different. Another couple that we met at Mango Bay were not feeling too great one night and the restaurant manager delivered their dinner to their room, which I thought was a really nice touch.

The hotel is a nice, fairly small and quaint. It had all the facilities that you need to have a good holiday. Entertainment in the evening was good for being the off season, during the day there is no entertainment around the pool but personally I prefer this as you can be left alone to relax.

Yes, there were beach works being completed during our stay and along with others we were worried that this would affect our holiday, but it really didn't. Early in the morning and late afternoon the work on the beach would stop, so you could still enjoy the peaceful beach and watch the amazing sunset. During the day the hotel put on shuttle buses and on one day a catamaran down to a neighbouring beach, Brandons Bay, to Weisers Bar. This is a very long sandy beach that the locals use and has no hotels on the beach so is very beautiful. On the first trip to this beach we had the only eight sunloungers on the whole beach, it is that peaceful! We were served all the drinks we wanted, had lunch provided, steel drums playing in the background, watersports and snorkeling equipment available. We went snorkeling along this beach and there is a lot of fish activity close to the shore, people saw turtles, sting rays, puffer fish and lobsters!

Just as we were leaving they were placing sand in front of the hotel to give the hotel their beach back and the results were great and were still being finished when we had to leave. So if you are going to Mango Bay any time from now, the beach should be beautiful.

Watersports were included within the hotel, my other half decided to take full advantage of the waterskiing and is now hooked! They also offer trips on a glass bottom boat and catamaran where you get to swim with turtles which was great!

While in Barbados we ate out on two occassions, once at Daphne's which unfortunately I wouldn't recommend, as the food was basic and pretty poor. We also ate at The Tides, just a small walk from the hotel and the food was to die for, if you have the money it is worth a visit you will not be disappointed! Outside the hotel are several duty free shops such as Cartier, Ralph Lauren, Burberry and many more, where there are some good deals, if you are into that sort of thing. A trip to Oistins on a Friday night must be done, this is where pretty much the whole island goes on a Friday to enjoy grilled fish caught that day. The locals play music and dance the night away, great fun! There are loads of local bar and restaurants offering great value for money, some of the bars are quite close to the standard rooms at the hotel and on a Friday and Sunday can get quite loud but didn't spoil the holiday.

There is so much more to say about the hotel and island, but I have written more than I expected already. Overall the hotel and holiday was incredible and we are seriously planning on going back when the beach work is all completed to see the results and explore more. Please do not read the negative reviews and take them above the large volume of positive ones, I normally don't write reviews but had to for this hotel as it was that great!

Room Tip: I would recommend spending the extra on a superior room, standard room are fine but you may be able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mel396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I've thought long and hard about what rating to give Mango Bay. On the one hand I could say this was a terrible experience as we ended up having stuff stolen whilst at the hotel but that's not a true reflection of the hotel itself, so I base this review on the hotel and not influenced by what happened to us there.
As with another recent reviewer, we too spent a long time researching hotels in Barbados, specially those who offered all inclusive and a great range of activities. All the search results kept coming back to Mango Bay.
Our initial thoughts were that the hotel is pretty average. rooms are basic (despite the fact we upgraded to a superior room), the towels, bath robes, bedding etc aren't of great quality and overall the complex looks like it needs a bit of a refresh.
Mango Bay is billed as a 4-star resort but I think a fairer reflection should be a 3-star. For comparison we recently stayed at a 4-star in Antigua which was streets ahead of Mango Bay in all respects. However, Mango Bay was significantly cheaper and it's priced at the 3-star level so we can't complain in relation to what we paid.
The restaurant is pleasant. right on the front with lovely views and the sound of the sea. The food was on the whole quite good - a choice of two different meats and a fish every night. The desserts where a bit disappointing though, mainly just defrosted gateaux or chemical based mousses and the like. On the plus side all the serving staff at the bar and restaurant were really fantastic, smiles on faces, nothing too much trouble for them to help you. A real asset to Mango Bay.
We knew about the beach works beforehand and whilst we were there the actual works didn't bother us. a couple of diggers moving rocks etc, nothing too intrusive. People should be aware however that the beach works are being done for a reason - there is no beach at Mango Bay! We looked on Google earth before we booked and thought the beach looked small but ok. That image is very out-of-date. The "beach" outside Mango Bay is about 2-3 meters deep, the waves will stretch underneath your sun lounger if your up against the back wall!! Obviously this is not the fault of the hotel. This is due to natural erosion, which the government in Barbados are trying to correct with the beach works and once it's done I have no doubt the beach will be amazing outside Mango Bay.
The beach works did however have a disappointing knock-on effect on our holiday. One of the main reasons to pick Mango Bay for us were the all inclusive water sports but there were none! This was the most annoying/frustrating part of the week. When we checked in, reception spent time explaining all the water sports included and said to book them with the water sports people beside the hotel. On the first day I asked if we could take out the hobbie cat but was told the sea was too rough. Ok, fair enough. The next day I asked again but was then told that the mangrove swamp next to the hotel was discharging into the sea right outside Mango Bay (another thing the government are trying to correct) and therefore the water wasn't suitable to let guests in. Ok, slightly annoying but ok. The next day I asked yet again to be told that there are too many rocks in the way and it's not safe. At this point we were really annoyed and spoke to reception, who seemed to have no idea about the water sports. Basically it transpired that all water sports were cancelled due to the beach works. At no point were we told this! Why had reception not told us?
The boat used for water skiing was also broken during our week there. Again, we had to keep asking each day and were never notified by reception of this.
On the plus side, the couple of included trips we took on the boats were the highlights of the week. Really great fun and snorkelling with the turtles was amazing.
Also, the hotel ran shuttle buses to a great beach further down the coast. That was a real highlight. the staff there,


Now, I have to mention the unfortunate incident that befell us. Whilst relaxing on the decking on the beach front we left our beach bag with camera and e-reader inside when we went to the bar. we got drinks then collecting our bag and went back to our room when we notice that the camera and e-reader had been taken. We notified reception right away who said they would call the police. They didn't until the following morning and although the police officer came it was far too late for anything to be done. Did the hotel make checks with the staff to see if anyone saw anything? I don't think so. Did they seem concerned this had happened on their premises? I didn't feel like it. Did the manager come and speak to us to let us know what action the hotel had taken? No. The first the manager knew about it was when I emailed him after we got home to enquire if the police had produced the report yet (oh, by the way, the police in Barbados are truly awful! it took them a week to write the report for our insurance company, by which time we'd left the island and were back home).
It was an unfortunate incident, which did overshadow our holiday but overall our experience of Mango Bay was not made any worse by it.
In summary, Mango Bay is a 3-star hotel with poor reception staff who don't seem to know what's happening within their own hotel. The restaurant food is ok but the staff there are fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nottles82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
1.9 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,030 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
9.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,462 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#11 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,723 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#7 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Property: Mango Bay All Inclusive
Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing