We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mango Bay is Tops!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Mango Bay is Tops!”
Reviewed June 30, 2008

We just returned from Mango Bay and had an absolute blast! Twelve of us traveled from Augusta, GA on June 21st and stayed until June 28th. This was our sixth trip to the Caribbean and without a doubt the best.
The staff was incredible! I have never seen an entire staff bend over backwards to make sure our stay was a memoriable one.
We had one ocean front room and five one bedroom apartments. I upgraded to these rooms before our arrival because I don't expect a hotel to upgrade you for free. Only two of the one bedroom apartments are owned by Mango Bay, according to the manager, but they were wonderful. I stayed in the ocean front and loved it. We have stayed at Ritz Carlton's in Montego Bay and San Juan. The rooms at the RC are nicer but Mango Bay is close.
The pool is nice with ample floats, chairs, and a volleyball net.
Only one of our party used the spa but she loved it. She stated that it was the best peticure she had ever received.
The bar was great. Chelton, Jonathan, Andre, and the rest were all super. It was so much fun watching them "make up" drinks for the regulars at the bar. The bartenders knew when it was time for another before you did!
The restaurant was incredible. This was,by far, the best food we have ever had at an all inclusive. The breakfast was a buffett but you could have eggs prepared any way you preferred. The lunch was only buffett once or twice, great both ways. Dinner was off the charts! There was much variety every single night. Even on our last night the chef topped himself. Our sons caught a Kingfish in front of the hotel. I asked the chef if he could prepare the fish and he happily agreed. We gave him the fish, around 35 pounds, at 6:00 PM and he had it ready at 8:30 PM. It was great.
The nightly entertainment was the only disappointment we had. We were hoping for a little more "Caribbean style" music but we got a lot of slower music instead.
In closing, this was the best resort we've experienced to date. Not only is the staff great but the other guests were truly fun to vacation with. If you chose the Mango Bay you can't go wrong!

  • Liked — The staff and the food
  • Disliked — The nightly entertainment
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Buzzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    936
    401
    129
    48
    28
See reviews for
296
921
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

we booked mango bay for our honeymoon after reading all the reviews on trip advisor.

rooms - after being greeted by a straight faced staff member and given our complimentary rum punch we were taken to our rather nice superior room, which was located above the hotel bar area.

the room was equipped with flat screen tv, tea and coffee making facilities, bath gel, hair shampoo & conditioner and body lotion. two bath robes are also supplied per room, iron and ironing board and each room also had a safe (complimentry). beach towels are changed daily by the maids and on the whole are in good condition. the bed was two queen sizes pushed together - the gap in the middle didn't particularly cause us any problems. maids did a turn down service every evening putting chocolates on the bed. our room had a partial sea view and a view over the roof of the restaurant/bar. on the balcony are two (nice)plastic/fake cane sun chairs, a table and a wooden clothes airer/dryer. the sun didn't get onto the balcony. the air con worked well and was quiet. On the first two nights of our stay we were awoken by noise, not from the local bars, but from the mango bay bar - the first night at 12:30am and the second night at 1:30 am - the first instance was the blenders used for making the cocktails and the second instance by a large gathering of guests. at breakfast the following morning when asked how we had slept I politely informed them that we were being disturbed. to the credit of the hotel and its managers they arranged for us to be moved to a deluxe room at the end of the first week (couldn't do it any earlier as the hotel was full). although there are no complaints about the superior room (other than the noise) there is a definate difference between superior and deluxe - bigger bathroom deeper tub, better furniture, larger tv, better bed etc.... we were moved away from the hotel bar to over the pool and weren't disturbed once. the air conditioning in the second room broke and flooded the room one afternoon and maintenance were reasonably quick at sorting it. also the toilet started to fail to fill up so we duly reported at 6.45 in the evening expecting it to be sorted by the time we came to bed but at 1am it hadn't been sorted. reception initially said they would sort it in the morning but to be frank this wasn't acceptable and after making them aware maintenance were with us within 10 minutes. If i could afford to upgrade i would go for an ocean front - although over where the entertainment is it does finish by 11pm. be aware though - the standard rooms really are noisy from friday to sunday night - the karioke is not in a bar but occurs on the street right outside the front of the entrances to the standard rooms - don't underestimate it - it really does go on until 2ish in the morning - fine if you can join in and party with the locals but after a long flight might well be the last thing you want to do.
restuarant - the hotel does apply a strict dress code for the restaurant in the evening and staff tried to enforce this on our first night even though our luggage hadn't yet arrived. the hot breakfast is only mediocre. the bacon is american style - strip rashers that are cooked to a crisp, flavourless baked beans then sometimes either soggy mushrooms or waffles (or bread coated in sugar) the best bit was nice scrambled eggs. All of this is kept warm inside steel containers over heated water. Probably the best option was to ask one of the chefs (stood at the back of the room over some hotplates) to cook you fried eggs, omlettes (with whatever filling you wanted in it) there was also a supply of fresh fruit, yoghurts, cereals and toast available. for the whole the al a carte menu at lunch was good and for those with smaller apetites sandwiches served with chips (very oily though). the menu was repeated during the week normally for a few consecutuive days at a time. the evening meals were normally good (with a few exceptions but again this is simply down to personal preference). unfortunately the buffet options served several times per week both at lunch and dinner were disappointing with sometimes warm offerings and limited selections (although again my partner would disagree that they were disappointing) - the best of this was the chinese night. service was ok on the whole (but see later comments) only once did staff forget our order. red, white and rose wine was freeflowing and drinkable (when you could get the waiters attention to top you up) and water was also topped up (again when you could get the waiters attention). not all the restaurant staff are full of smiles - some are surley and although polite could do with learning to smile.there is only one small clock for guests to use that is located in the bar which is annoying when sunbathing by the pool and knowing that your time is coming to go for lunch. one tip for future visitors - lunch and dinner times have to be booked and slots fill up quickly. we freqently found ourselves only sitting down for the evening meal at 9:45 pm - great if you had a late lunch but not as clever if you got a 12 noon lunch time sitting. those eating early breakfast (7am) get the best times so you could do with getting up early to ensure a good lunch and evening eating time. the tip? we discovered that you could book the night before just before leaving thus meaning you avoided that early morning wake up.

the bar - jonathan and rondell are stars!!! ok - the cocktails are made with syrups rather than fresh produce but the guys serve with a smile and will go out of their way for you. a shame that beer isn't served in pint pots instead its in small glasses which means you need to go to the bar more often and it puts more pressure on the staff so you can expect to wait before being served. unless you ask for named brands you will get local brands. plastic cups are used where you are drinking on the beach or the pool area. there is no waiter service around the pool area or beach area and you are requested not to go in the bar/restaurant area when wet.

sunbeds - plentiful but again, if you want to secure a good spot on the beach, the decked area or by the pool you need to be up before 7am as towels were on beds at 6:45 on a regular basis. if there aren't enough then the watersports shed staff (not in uniform and sometimes difficult to identify as staff) will get additionals out plus brollies. the hotel does advertise that towels left on sunbeds for over an hour outside meal times will be removed the policy is not enforced. a large group left towels on sunbeds for approx 3 hours whilst going on a hotel excursion.

free hotel trips - worth going on. the bridgetown trip is ok but too long. after being dropped off at 10 am we were ready for home at 11. the glass bottom boat and catamaran trip are excellent (but see notes below). the trips do book up quickly.

the biggest (and most disruptive problem) we encountered that for us, let the hotel down? given that it is only a small hotel (which should make it intimate) with only 68 rooms, there were a number of large party bookings. whilst the first two were of six and ten respectively the third was of 25 people. and the hotel was taken over. meal times became even more restricted and when the large group were in for food, we felt like we were second class visitors. service disintigrated, people were left waiting for over 90 minutes for food, sunbeds became hard to obtain and where you could get the watersports guys to get the additional beds out there was no where left to put them, free trips were cut short, overbooked or in one instance restricted to other guests and even cancelled to make way for the large group ,when the group were in the bar there was no where left for other guests to sit. during our two week stay the decking area was out of bounds from about 2pm in the afternoon (twice for weddings and the third time was for the extra large group - the weddings were nice to see though and were only short in time and the hotel, in their defence, did put extra staff and a second bar just for this party) but it did disrupt other guests. we felt like we were outsiders and our holiday was disrupted which given the cost of the holiday should not have happened. in the end we left the hotel bar one evening to go outside the complex to have a peaceful evening where we could get served and sit down. when other guests raised this with management they were informed that it was the last night the group was being accomodated in this large number and that separate bookings for meals etc would happen from the next day. on our last day the group were still eating in large numbers affecting everyone else. The affect on service, other guests and staff morale that the large group was having was the subject of much discussion between other guests.

would we visit again? only if we could be reassured that the hotel could give a reassurance that there were no large groups booked in or that the could better manage or were better equipped to ensure that couples were not penalised by the presence of large groups.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service levels when hotel fully booked
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank linksmanmischief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2008

Marvellous Mango Bay

We stayed at the Mango Bay in May 08 and we had a fantastic holiday.

The hotel is a four star standard and there is nothing that was too much trouble for the very happy and helpful staff.

The food was a good standard and A La Carte with a good variety every day and not like some all inclusives where it is self service, there were a couple of nights where it was self service but otherwise silver service with any thing you wanted to drink, wine beer spirits cocktails etc, all of which were very acceptable and if you wanted premium brands they were readily available and you just had to ask for them.

The beach although small was plenty big enough with sunbeds for those that wanted them, around the pool there was a shortage of sunbeds during the middle of our second week but the management soon addressed this and the problem seemed very short lived.The pool itself was clean and the water was cool and refreshing. You will need to get up early to claim your sunbed.

The room was to a good standard and cleaned daily with sheets changed daily if you wanted, towels were plentyful and they DO give towels for the beach/pool daily.

We did have a small problem with our shower screen which we reported, the management who told us they were waiting for some new screens to arrive from Miami, so we just had to use our beach towels to make sure the floor did not flood, otherwise the bathroom / shower was very good with toiletries replenished daily i.e shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, etc.

T|his is a small and friendly hotel and you soon get to know the guests (if you want to) pretty quickly, we met some very very nice people whilst we were there.

There is the "One Love Bar" outside in the next street, which on Sundays has a street party and some of the hotel suffers from the noise from this, we didn't have a problem as we were in another part of the hotel, there is also a piano bar adjacent to the hotel this is supposed to be very good but we did not venture in as we were too tired most nights to make the effort, however the others who did go said it was very entertaining.

The free trips the hotel put on are well worth going on especially the Catamaran trip on board Stilletoe, we had a fantastic trip on there.

We did venture out one night to "The Cliff", all I can say is yes it is a little expensive but WOW you cannot explain this place but it is a stunning setting and the food very very good.

All in all I could go on but I think you can tell from this if your thinking of going to Barbados you would not go far wrong by choosing the Mango Bay, yes we would definitely go back, but we like to try other destinations, but next time in Barbados I will be going to Mango Bay.

Not going to put any pictures on as they will be same as everyone elses!!!!

  • Liked — Food and drink
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank paul74Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
americus, ga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2008

We arrived at Mango Bay 6/8/08 & were supposed to stay until 6/13/08. We had booked thru a travel agent that we had always used. When we arrived, we had no reservations & the hotel was completely booked. Josea was able to let us stay for 2 nights in a deluxe room (the category we had booked). She was very gracious in helping us get into contact with the agency who made the mistake with our reservations.
The guests we met at Mango Bay were friendly. The food was wonderful. The deluxe room was very nice. I was very disappointed to have to be moved to another resort to complete our vacation but that was no fault of Mango Bay. The was our first trip to a smaller resort & I really enjoyed it.

  • Liked — nice room-flat screen tv
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GaTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

we arrived at the mango bay in june 08, at first everything seemed ok, food was very very dissapointing with not much choice, very little and nothing was cooked fresh, it was cold and horrible! breakfast was awful... there was only bread, burned fatty bacon, sausages that you couldnt get your fork in, gooey scrambled egg, beans were cold and watered down. lunch was the same nearly every day with a slight variation. the only nice thing was the ice cream. occasionally the food was edible but i was leaving every dinner still hungry and im 4 months pregnant! staff are moody, with the exception of a few. the biggest problem was with our room, the air conditioning didnt work, which got fixed after the 2nd time of asking, the bed was 2 single beds put together, low budget, tv was awful. to top it off it was very very noisy on several evenings the music and partying went on until 5am they knew i was pregnant but still put me and my partner in this room, we compained and they moved us temporarily to a different room which was alot nicer and QUIET!! they said they couldnt fit us in anywhere else and we had to wait until 7pm to find out whuch room we were in next.. they then said we could move roooms for our last week but with a charge of 30 US $ a night!! we werent happy at all as we had spent a lot of money already and expected a quite room !!!!!! we had to pay otherwise we would continue to have no sleep! overall a very disappionting holiday- as previous reviews have said the swamp smells and i got bitten lots of times, very very disappointing!!! dont know how the ratings are so good its more lke 2*!!!

  • Liked — near shops poll was ok
  • Disliked — the food and rooms!!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank tinkerbell3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2008

We were extremely pleased with our stay at the Mango Bay!!!! From the room, to the exceptional staff and the Excellent food, we have no complaints!!!!! The only thing I would say, is that we would have like to see more on the Catamaran trip. This resort is beautiful!!!! I can't wait to go back!!!!

  • Liked — staff and food were exceptional!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank moms4babes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2008

Mango Bay is a small all-inclusive hotel which means that you are right next to everything! I've stayed at many very large resorts in Cuba, Mexico and Dominican Republic and I have found that although there is only one bar, one pool, one beach and one restaurant... at Mango Bay you don't need a shuttle to get to any of them! You're practically living on the beach!

The food is excellent. The combinations of flavors were perfect. There were plenty of healthy choices. The presentation is impressive. The person who said it was like T.G. I. Fridays doesn't know what they are talking about. We enjoy fine cuisine, and Mango Bay is akin to fine dining, it's true. Plus you're right next to the beach! ***Do not worry about the quantity: you can have all you want on the menu! So, if you are a bottomless pit and want to have 3 appetizers and 3 main dishes followed by 3 deserts all for yourself... go for it! We often took 2 appetizers and 1 main dish plus one desert per person and were really full...so it's up to you.*** Restaurants in Barbados are quite expensive. For what you get at Mango Bay, you'd be paying about USD$40-50 pp for dinner at a restaurant. Drinks are excellent and of high quality.

The boat trips organized by the hotel are free and should not be missed! Also, water skiing and wakeboarding is free too!!! You also have kayaks and pedalboats to use. Snorkel gear is also available if you don't have your own.

We found that booking through Travelocity or Expedia was much cheaper than through the hotel.

We took a one day surf lesson with the top Baysian surfer and it was awesome. Barry is the man! The company is Surf Barbados (not to be confused with Surf in Barbados or Barbados Surf) Check it out: [--]

Oistins Fish Fry was fun, the locals recommended Shirley's booth and we were not disappointed. You get $50 BBD in the "Best of Barbados" coupon booklet to use at Oistin.

Mango bay has a dress code for dinner. Make sure you bring appropriate clothing (esp. for men). Ref. to their website.

Room was very clean and had a nice flat screen TV.

  • Liked — Proximity of rooms, bar, beach, restaurant.
  • Disliked — No outdoor jaccuzi.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Ocean_Colada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
1.9 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
9.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
8.0 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#2 of 9 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#10 of 26 in Saint James Parish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Property: Mango Bay All Inclusive
Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing