We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full Marks to Mango Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Barbados
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Full Marks to Mango Bay”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

In January my 90 yr.-old retired physiotherapist mother and I spent some wonderfully relaxed and pampered days at Mango Bay Resort. We had an ocean-view room facing the beach. Her comments on the bathroom are accurate for these rooms. However, the bathtubs in the garden- facing rooms are very high to step in to. I would like to share her comments:
"I have recently stayed at the Mango Bay Resort and thought that potential visitors would be interested to know what an ideal place it is to visit, especially if one is elderly and has a (mobility) disability. My walking is unsteady and I use both a rollator and a cane. I used both during my stay at the resort and had excellent help from the staff at all times, too. Especially, I would like to recommend the bathroom facilities. The bath and shower were easier to use than those in other hotels where I have stayed. Full marks to Mango Bay Resort !"

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms have more accessible bath/showers but are noisier at night (only to 11 pm) from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,579 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    411
    132
    49
    29
See reviews for
311
939
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (482)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Yes there are ongoing beach renovation works and yes it does get noisy at times.

For me it made absolutely no difference as from the moment we arrived until we left, we travelled as a party of 6, with a wide age group...every one of our different needs were met, with a smile and outstanding service

Mango Bay has a way of sucking you in to its own way of life, it just gets you.

Prior to the trip I had emailed the hotel about the works and they were totally up front and honest, sadly a rarity in other establishments, to compromise they made sure our room needs were exceeded.

I love my waterskiing and had a great teacher for self, wife and family...great fun...!

The food was good and when I didn't fancy something anything we wanted was catered for. Great bar staff who kept us smiling and great restaurant service. Focus on the customer resonates through the staff, even to the point of when we were checking in to come home at the airport, one of the waitresses came upto us with her daughter to wish us a safe journey, she just happened to be there.!!!

I was lucky enough to witness something magical, whilst having a coffee on the deck at 5.30 am on my last morning (I'm an early riser), the resident mongeese were being very noisy on the beach. On investigation a turtles nest had hatched, luckily after a few mins of chasing mongeese I managed to get a member of staff who got the island turtle watch team to excavate the nest and take them away...won't forget that in a hurry !

If your going to Mango Bay before the work is completed, go with an open mind and enjoy it

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MH1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Mango Bay Hotel in Early June this year as part of a two centre holiday to celebrate a significant birthday for her. We were made aware courtesy of Trip Advisor that some beach work was going on, so we were prepared for the worst, but as my wife and daughter had stayed at the hotel in October last year I was very keen to see the place that they had so much enjoyed and she was very happy to be going back. We were, therefore delighted when we arrived to find one digger out on a reef that they were building and nothing much more going on! The hotel management took us around and showed us where the work was and explained what further work was scheduled. This work had been in the planning for five years and the hotel got very little notice, but informed travel agencies, so we can only hope that the messages are getting through. As over the course of the week the size and scale of the work increased to the point where at the end of our stay there was a rather large ship moored yards from the beach with a pile driver banging the pilings into the rock bed just off shore! Sounds like a disaster, huh? Well NO!
The staff at the hotel made every effort that they could to make our stay as happy and ‘peaceful’ as they could including laying on buses to take guests away to another fabulous beach for the day taking food, drink and beach activities with them. I can not praise the staff at the Mango Bay highly enough, they were all attentive and really made every effort to make up for the work that they have no control over.
I am not going to go on at great length about the staff and the hotel, because pretty much every other report has got it spot on. But to summarise:
Rooms: Clean well maintained but in some cases a little tired.
Restaurants: Food fantastic, service perfect, environment lovely. (Even with the visiting birds!)
Bar: Cocktails are great, service with a smile almost all the time, but watch out for the whisky sours, three one night and a massive headache the following morning!!!
Pool: Perfect for cooling off but not for Olympian swimmers!
Grounds: Well maintained and lovely.
Area in general: Lovely. Walk to Sandy Lane golf course, it’s really lovely to wander around the old nine and the green keepers are friendly and welcoming. Ogle some of the billionaire’s houses!!!
This is a fantastic hotel and once the work is completed and the beach recovers it will again be a true spot of paradise in the sun. For now, the work really isn’t that disruptive, and there are always ways to escape if you must.
Take a look at the pictures that I have posted, it gives a good indication of what is going on. But to be honest, most of the time we found it quite interesting to watch! We loved it and will almost certainly be back.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are probably best. Don't book ocean front until next year!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobmonk13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I had read all reviews on this hotel before arriving. Most people wrote how wonderful their staff was, I can only add that we felt their staff are amazing..... nothing is too much trouble for them, and they always have a smile for you. Today we decided to go along to the Fairmont Hotel Pavilion for lunch because we love the Fairmont St.Andrews in Scotland. The food was amazing however their staff need to work on their customer care policy. They do say first impressions count, we met 3 members of staff within the first 5 mins and ALL THREE were as miserable as the other. Surely this is not the first impression you want to give your clients. I would strongly suggest the manager contact Mr Johnston at Mango Bay for some tips on staff morale I would recommend Mango Bay in a heart beat. Thank you for a wonderful trip xxx

Room Tip: I had read that 'normal rooms' did have an issue with late night music and although I went a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mary g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

To Peter and all the staff at Mango Bay, a big 'Thank You' for a fantastic holiday yet again, second visit and each time it gets better, rooms, meals and staff excellent through out. To all people wanting to go too Mango Bay please do not be put off by the construction works being done on the beach, this did not hinder us at all and we are sure this is only going to make Mango Bay Resort even better. See you next May hopefully with Gordon and Sue White.

Room Tip: We have stayed in the superior room, ground floor near the pool when we first went and this time we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kimrogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Meals here rivals 5 star hotels or 3 diamond restaurants all over the world. Pleasant atmosphere very friendly staff. Great location for swimming. Comfortable beds, layout of rooms are great. Had day trips to various parts of the island. Boat trips, horse riding.

Room Tip: Premium rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rajgts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at mango bay. The location is ok to be fair, you've got some good shops, supermarket etc. just a cross the road. There's 5-6 restaurants/bars on the road that leads to the hotel.

The rooms are tired and old, more like an average 3 star hotel. The food wasn't good. Poor selection and quality.
The hotel area is ok, nothing special. The mini gym is as it says MINI. The treadmill didn't work probably.

The staff is superb, they're doing all they can to keep their guests happy.

The government are repairing the beach, so we couldn't use it, which isn't the hotels fault but Expedia who didn't inform us about that.

The hotel got potential if they put some money into it, but for now it's just an average 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ankerdiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
14.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,516 reviews
9.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#10 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,754 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
Crystal Cove by Elegant Hotels
#8 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,805 reviews
9.8 mi away
Sandals Barbados
Sandals Barbados
#4 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Property: Mango Bay All Inclusive
Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, West Indies, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing