We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great potential but mis-sold”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A friend and I had a lovely time and met some wonderful people, both staff and hotel guests. The hotel is quaint and intimate with a number of great things on offer but is perhaps not for everyone. It is especially not suited to those looking for a younger scene or anyone looking for space and variety - there is only one restaurant which seems to cater heavily for British visitors.

PROs
1. Friendly and bubbly staff

2. Water sports and catamaran trips are included in the cost

3. Location:
- Very safe to walk around
- Close to great restaurants ( The Cliff / Tides / House / Cin Cin)
- Bars and clubs are within earshot (see Cons also)
- Mall directly opposite the hotel. Great for designer junkies looking for a deal
- Walking distance to Sandy Lane Beach
- Restaurant has ocean views

CONs
The travel agents and hotel need to ensure that guests are fully aware in advance of booking (there is a 100% cancellation fee) that:
1. Beaches along the west coast have suffered from erosion. Technically Mango Bay is still a beach front hotel but there is very little beach left. It's unlikely that you could get a sun-lounger down on the sand without it being swept out to sea. Carlisle Bay and The Crane were described as idyllic beaches by the other hotel guests who decided to venture out during the day

2. Standard rooms are subjected to very loud, thumping music until the early hours every Sunday night. This is due to the hotel's close proximity to the karaoke bar on the adjacent street. Moving us to another room took almost two days due to there being a bank holiday - everything seems to come to a standstill on a bank holiday. That said we were upgraded to a superior room for the remainder of our stay at no additional cost

OVERALL
The staff at Mango Bay are charismatic and certainly added a great deal to our stay. Overall we had a fantastic holiday. The turquoise waters of the Caribbean Sea are stunning. It's difficult not to have fun when the sun is out.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are subjected to very loud, thumping music until the early hours every Sunday night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sun_Sea_Sandher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 1,620 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was our second visit to Mango Bay and we were pleased to see that being a returning guest really means something here as we were allocated a nice room which contained a chilled bottle of sparkling wine waiting for us along with a welcome back card which was a nice touch.
We had travelled up from a larger Hotel on the South Coast which had a different feel and a much larger beach .
The beach at Mango Bay has been eroded from our last visit and this wasnt helped by rough sea conditions on our first two days..
We spent some time comparing the two Hotels and concluded they had very different strengths.
The food, service and staff at Mango Bay are fantastic , we had the need to call reception for assistance on three occasions , the last one late at night to remove a Geko which although harmless terrified my wife.
On each occasion they responded within 5 minutes , even sending up a nice chap with a sweeping brush whom my wife named the official Geko catcher !
The Hotel is very compact and can be too compact if you want time on your own as there seem to be many couples who enjoy telling others their life history whether you want to hear it or not ! but generally the people here are very pleasant and many return year after year.
The area around the Hotel seems improved with the Lime Grove Centre containing some lovely shops at not too lovely prices but its very safe to walk out , the Holetown Church is insipiring, its great to see the community dressed up and welcoming all to their Sunday service.
We would certainly go back again , the staff in Reception , restaurant and in the background are all superb and we were delighted to see Mango Bay thriving four years on.

Room Tip: Go for Superior room to avoid noise from bars at weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Staffordshire Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have left reviews about this Hotel before and at risk of repeating myself I am leaving yet another very positive review.
Again we did not want to return home. All the staff at Mango Bay go out of the way to ensure a perfect holiday. How good is it that the General Manager Shireene pops in to see you when she should be on holiday herself.
Whilst the Menu looks fairly standard he food is delicious and far better than it reads, should you not like anything on offer, given a little notice the kitchen will prepare you something else.
The Bar has no limit to the many & diverse cocktails and branded drinks on offer, even waiter service around the pool.. Lovely cooked breakfasts, with eggs cooked to your liking. Afternoon tea, sandwiches & cake at 4.00pm then more food in the evening - Thank goodness they only weigh the cases when you go home.
The standards of cleanliness & housekeeping are excellent, the beds are comfy - it is the only Hotel that I do not bring my own pillow to. Everything is catered for, from a clothes horse to an iron & ironing board.
Shampoo, conditioner, bath gel & body lotion are provided as are bath robes.
If you have a problem it is sorted immediately, the only comment being "Why did you not ask sooner".
There are plenty of sunbeds & umbrellas, the beach is clean and you can walk along it in either direction and a walk way has been built to take you along the sea front towards Almond Beach Club.
Complimentary trips & water sports are available, , we particularly enjoyed the Hobie Cat.
There was even a invitation to join Peter Odle (the Hotel Owner) in his box at Kensington Oval Horse Races which all participants hugely enjoyed.
Entertainment could be improved - I can never understand why a DJ will keep playing the same tracks to an empty floor and a non participating audience, however one night we were treated to a group of 3 ladies who certainly could sing and went down a storm.
Just outside the Hotel there is Lexi's Piano Bar, various good restaurants and Ragamuffins where on a Sunday Night there is a Drag Show - Manikins in Motion, featuring Diva Alexander & 2 friends - this is very popular and not to be missed. Book it early on line
Also in Holetown there are shops within walking distance, a Supermarket, Duty Free etc.. The Hotel has a small shop which stocks sun cream, gifts, stamps etc.
A lovely small Hotel with delightful staff on a mission to make your holiday enjoyable.
I nearly forgot the Spa, where you get the best manicure ever.

Lots of repeat guests - that says it all!

Will we be back? We certainly will!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MaryBentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just returned from 7 days at Mango Bay, having visited previously at Christmas. Once again the service was faultless, all the staff are great, special mention to Candice, thank you so much for everything. Room was great, food was good with plenty of choice, feel thoroughly relaxed, we will no doubt be back again in the near future. A great hotel with a personal , family friendly feel to it.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MiddleAgedFromMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at mango bay for 14 nights and from the moment we arrived we felt more than welcome. You are greeted by the receptionists with a rum or fruit punch and are given a tour of the hotel before being shown to your room. We stayed in a standard room which was nice and clean. Some nights you could hear the music and noise from the bars over the road - as it does state on the website but this didn't bother us - If you prefer a quiet room then go for a deluxe room with pool/sea view. The restaurant was very good with a wide choice of food available - most nights were a la carte however a couple of days a week there would be a buffet. Wednesday and Friday nights are casual night where you can wear jeans, shorts etc. Friday nights are also BBQ night again with a great select of food to suit everyone's needs. If there is nothing that takes your fancy on the menu, then the staff will try their best to make you anything else that you would like! This was the same with drinks too - bar staff will make you any cocktail you like. Each evening there is live singers which made a great atmosphere. Opposite the hotel you will find lots of designer shops such as Louis Vuitton, Cartier, Chanel, diamonds international and more! Further down the road there are more shops and a supermarket. Included in the all inclusive package there are water sports such as water skiing, kayaking, hobie crafts, peadlos, glass bottom boat and catamaran trip where you can swim with turtles. The beach and pool area are nice with lots of sun beds available - there was always enough for everyone and if you can't find anywhere to sit/sunbathe (this didn't happen!) then the water sports staff will find you somewhere. Work is being done to improve the beach area so it will be even better.
Overall had an amazing time, lovely friendly staff. Didn't want to leave - Will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Allaroundtheworld9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

The beauty of this hotel was its size, being smaller there was a much warmer atmosphere than I have experienced before. The food was amazing, true quality. We visited for a joint celebration of my husbands 50th and out silver wedding anniversary.Our standard rooms were indeed noisy on the Sunday night but not for the rest of the week and the outlook from the front door of our room was not pretty however the pool and beach area were lovely and the included boat trips fabulous. The only thing we struggled with was getting 4 sunbeds together and this was mostly because people still reserved sunbeds even when they were not using them. Although the management issued notices regarding this no steps were taken to remove the offending towels and i think this was mainly as it involved people who were repeat visitors and they did not want to upset them.
Evening entertainment was good except for the saturday night when I know they were auditioning a new dance troupe. The weather was against them, however they were truly awful and as a dancing teacher I do have an idea of what I am talking about. Anyway the manageress asked us for feedback which is why I have mentioned it. Don't hesitate to visit this magical place.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dancesarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed with friends at the Mango Bay Hotel in March 2013 after a weeks cruise it is a excellent choice of hotel congratulations to the management team they know the recipe for fantastic service and made a great effort to convey this. The staff at every level are 1st class and can not do enough to help you. The Bar staffs cocktails are the best ever. The Waiting staff are very attentive and gave great service. The food is 1st class plenty of choice for everybody at all meals well done the Chefs they work very hard. The cleaning ladies keep the rooms and hotel immaculate. The reception staff very knowledgeable and helpful (Hermione we loved you ) The pool area is beautiful and clean and no trouble getting sunbeds pool man always happy to help you find somewhere
Unfortunately the sea was very rough whilst we were there and we could not use the hotels catamaran but Sheereen was marvellous and organized a trip into Bridgetown for us to snorkel over a wreck the seas were a lot calmer there and it was all free of charge, however on our last day the seas calmed down and we were able to go out on the hotels catamaran and swim with the Turtles it was awesome
Don't hesitate to book this hotel its one of the best we have ever stayed in Sheereen you have got it right well done

Room Tip: superior rooms are quieter away from road noise sea view rooms are very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jarry46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
2.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,097 reviews
9.2 mi away
Yellow Bird Hotel
Yellow Bird Hotel
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
354 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
2,610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Club, Barbados Resort and Spa
The Club, Barbados Resort and Sp...
#11 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,803 reviews
9.8 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
3.1 mi away
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hotels
Waves Hotel & Spa by Elegant Hot...
#4 of 26 in Saint James Parish
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range: $356 - $754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, West Indies, Expedia, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing