We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“mango bay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango Bay All Inclusive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
derbyshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“mango bay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Having recently returned from staying at this hotel I some what disagree with the comments for the following reasons
the breakfast was the first hurdle to this supposedly 4 star hotel
crispy streaky bacon, eggs , beans sometimes sausage and sometimes tinned mushrooms every morning sometimes thick stodgy pancakes ,queue at the clapped out toaster then queue at the slab of butter wait for the 1 knife to be free before taking a portion off and make sure you cover your tea /coffee or juice or any food on your table is covered for if you leave to get food the birds are dive bombing all the time
Main meals were poorly cooked apart from the bbq on Friday when there must have been a different chef
duck a l'orange which was overcooked I don't think this dish had even stood by an orange
fish looked good but spoilt by thick garlic butter spread on it making it inedible
again fish looked thick and white but again inedible due to tomato ketchup spiced up and covering the dish
lamb casserole hard to find the meat but plenty of bones
fish and chips served were cold and were replaced came back with fresh chips but with the same cold battered fish
Fresh vegetables were almost non existence what were served on the odd occasion and were no thicker than peelings .
the choice was mainly chips or rice or potatoes.
the bar was well stocked but with about 8 stools around the bar and about 4 small tables and two chairs around them arms length from the bar it was impossible to have a conversation with anyone else ,this was why I think most guest stayed seated at the dining table after their meal unless you wanted to sit outside the restaurant on plastic chairs at plastic tables where understandably there were those that wished to smoke there is no lounge for those that want to just sit and talk with friends.
the staff were all very friendly ,the hotel is tired ,the a.c was so noisy this is not to be left on during the night
and finally the beach, this is in fact a small corner of sand on the side accessible down some steps allowing for about 20/30 sunbeds in three rows.do not take a bed on the front of the hotel for when the tide comes in it is that narrow you have to move to the side or the grounds or get washed away.
Management ask that towels are not put on the beds to reserve them but this is completely ignored some early birds put them out between 6.30 am and 7am
I am sorry to say that after visiting Barbados for the last 12 years this will be last time and this hotel is defiantly the second to worse we have ever stopped in and most certainly not 4 star. three at the most.and finally the virgin rep is a complete waste of space.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank bash36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    391
    129
    47
    28
See reviews for
289
896
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from 26th Feb - 9th March and had a fabulous time. We had an ocean front room which was the icing on the cake. Sitting on our balcony having early morning coffee and in the evening watching the sunset (magic). Mango Bay is a lovely relaxed hotel with very friendly staff. The food was ok,( we have probably had better all inclusive) but the setting of the restaurant and the service was excellent. The red wine was very good so were the drinks at the bar. The entertainment in the evenings was also good. The weather was perfect (no rain) it was great to feel the warmth of the sun. I can't see how anyone could stay at this hotel and not have a good time. We certainly did and would love to go back. Wish we were still there!!

Room Tip: Having an ocean front room made our holiday because we love the sound of the waves breaking on the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ADR88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Myself and my husband stayed at this hotel following a weeks cruise. This hotel is the friendliest hotel that I have ever stayed in. You are made to feel welcome from the minute that you step into the place with a rum punch whilst you are checking in. The food and service is exceptional and so is the bar. The bar is well stocked serving good quality wine, beer, cocktails and branded drinks. The hotel has really good entertainment each evening and is far better than the standard that you usually receive in a hotel. The room that we stayed in was very spacious with a very comfortable king size bed but maybe not a 4 star room however, it was clean and I believe that they are constantly making improvements. The staff at this hotel cant do enough for you and I can now understand why people return to this hotel. I dont particularly like to return to the same place as I like to experience different places but this is the only time that I will definitely make a return trip.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhargreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abingdon oxford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

The staff at this hotel were A1 could not fault them so polite and generous and so helpful. Great entertainment each evening, it was a pleasure to be there. Just be careful of the sea at the hotel as there can be a strong under current. Do not forget to do the free trips like swimming with the turtles or snorkel over the ship wrecks

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonahj76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Befordshire
Level Contributor
111 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

We spent a week at the Mango Bay after a week cruising. It is a small hotel (70 rooms) right in Holetown, with an unassuming approach down First Street. Reception is an informal area and we were greeted with drinks and refresher towels whilst we checked-in. Thomson had transferred a group of 12 from the ship too early, (1.00pm vs check-in time 3.00pm) and the rooms were not ready. We were taken to lunch on a very pleasant terrace to the restaurant, and enjoyed good food and excellent service.
We got the room at exactly 3.00pm, and were very pleased with it. (we had paid a big supplement for a Superior). It was large and airy with a big, full bathroom and large balcony overlooking the pool. It had a king-sized bed, lots of hanging space, TV, remote controlled aircon, ceiling fan, tea & coffee making facilities and a free-to-use digital safe. Towels were fluffy and bathrobes provided. Strangely, no fridge, although you could hire one for 5USD a night - we didn’t bother.
The garden area is small, with plenty of natural shade, a small pool, and comfortable sunbeds with brollies. Everything is close, eg. the bar, and a regular round trip by the waiter at 11.00am and 4.00pm. The beach was a disappointment, being really tiny, with gritty sand and quite a few stones. The shoreline fell sharply into deep water, but there were submerged jagged rocks which made swimming uncomfortable on the feet and potentially dangerous. To compound this, sea levels were abnormally high, further shrinking the useable beach, and subject to large breakers, resulting in the red flags flying for our first five days, and regular flooding of the sunbathing deck, grassed area and restaurant terrace. This also meant that the included watersports of water-skiing, kayaking, Hobie-cat, pedaloes, glass-bottom boat and catamaran were all cancelled until our last two days. The hotel did make every effort to make alternative arrangements, and laid-on extra trips when the sea finally calmed, but that left us insufficient time to get much benefit. I did go for the “biggies” in the last two days, ie. the boat trips, and managed to swim with turtles, which I found surprisingly emotional. A further knock-on effect of the beach and watersports being off the agenda was competition for sunbeds round the garden/pool, and “reserving” was a big problem.
Despite all these issues, essentially caused by nature, the staff were so caring and attentive, and the service so good, that it was still an enjoyable stay. Breakfasts were buffet, eggs cooked to order and the tastiest crispy bacon I have ever had. Lunches and dinners were mainly waiter-service table d’hote of up to five courses. Wine or other drinks of your choice were served by the glass at table. Two lunches and two nights were buffet, one being a barbeque. Afternoon tea is available every day. All guests are all-inclusive, which covered branded drinks and any cocktail you asked for, irrespective of whether it was listed. There was live music every night on the restaurant terrace, with different musicians/singers/ dancers - even a limbo show.
There is a small guest lounge, with comfortable chairs, swap-library, big-screen TV and free-to-use PC. WiFi is available throughout. Apart from the sea, the weather was perfect, with mainly-sunny skies or occasional light cloud and a temperature of about 27-30 C.
Holetown has a couple of streets with music bars & restaurants, several expensive shops, eg. Cartier, stylish boutiques and a shopping mall with a supermarket. With normal sea conditions, it is possible to walk along the beach for a couple of miles and back through the town, or vice versa. Buses into Bridgetown are every couple of minutes and very well-used. There are two competing services - the national buses (blue) and the reggae reggae buses (yellow), which are much more fun, with music and erratic drivers. It’s only 2 BBD (70p) into Bridgetown on either, and takes about 25 minutes. We didn’t find Bridgetown had much to offer, being mainly expensive jewellers or local tat.
Our one organized trip was to a former sugar plantation house and rum factory, St Nicholas Abbey, which was fascinating, with its contrasting history of slavery and privilege. - well worth the 65USD cost for a half day trip by minibus with a very knowledgeable driver.
In summary, it was our first trip to the Caribbean, and an enlightening experience. The Mango Bay gets lots of repeat visitors (some over 30 years!) and it does grow on you. I would recommend it to friends, but explain that it is very different to the big chain hotel experience, which we have been more used to.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are adjacent to local music bars which sometimes go all night. Superior rooms are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigal257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Staying here for a few nights after a cruise to relax. It does the job, the hotel is well situated in the Holetown area of St James. Very close to some great restaurants bars and shopping. The hotel is relatively small and well looked after. The rooms are spacious clean and tidy as is the public areas. As some other reviews point out the beach is small but you can walk ether direction on the sand and swimming is easy in clean clear water.
As for the title. It's not a 4 star hotel in our eyes because the food is not up to a 4 star hotel, it is nice and portions are adequate but the selection is average and a bit uninspiring.

We would recommend the hotel with out hesitation but as with other reviews, if you like dining and it is all inclusive a long stay may see you eating out locally

Room Tip: In the standard rooms 415 gives a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GuyJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is incredible. Being small, the service is exceptional and all the staff get to know you and make you feel like part of the family. We did book for one of the apartments next door but after the first night upgraded to Deluxe and i definitely recommend these rooms. They are modern, comfortable, large and we had one right by the pool which was perfect.

The food changes daily and is to a really high standard and they will even give you a packed lunch if you head off for the day exploring. The location is perfect especially if you like to pop out for a drink and experience the barbados nightlife as you are next door to all the action.

The free trips are well worth it and made our holiday even more perfect. If someone said to me Sandy Lane or Mango Bay, I would choose Mango Bay everytime. I am already planning my return trip.

Room Tip: Choose a Deluxe and try to get one next to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littlejennyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
2.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
1.8 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
8.0 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#1 of 9 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Property: Mango Bay All Inclusive
Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing