We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best all inclusive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango Bay All Inclusive

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mango Bay All Inclusive
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best all inclusive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

The mango bay hotel was in a great location, fantastic food and lots to do.
It was a very relaxing atmosphere. Hotel was located right on the beach, with complimentary snorkeling equipment, water skiing, snorkeling trip to see sea turtles and glass bottom boat rides. Best all inclusive I have stayed at.

Room Tip: ocean front highly recommended. It is more money, but well worth the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vacations08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    913
    391
    129
    47
    28
See reviews for
289
896
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (458)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Mango Bay with our 10 month old son in May. We were always very well looked after and the staff made a huge effort to wave and talk to our son, which amused him greatly. The location is fab, right on the beach and a short walk to all the towns amenities.

The beach is lovely (when the creek's behaving!) but the sea does shelve off quite steeply reasonably close to the beach. If its windy it can be an effort to get out of the water. The snorkelling close to the hotel and at the marine reserve about 100 yards up the coast more than makes up for this though.

My husband went waterskiing nearly every say and we booked the small catamaran for an hour bombing up to sandy lane and out to the wreck, great fun!

The catamaran and glass bottom boat trips are well worth doing, very enjoyable even with an inquisitive toddler - he loved watching the turtles from the boat.

The food was great, we were only there for a week but I think even over a fortnight it wouldn't have got repetitive. There was always plenty of variety and it was an excellent standard.

Overall an excellent - and surprisingly relaxing! Well done to all the Mango Bay crew

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CluelessUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This hotel is full of returning guests, and that is always the best yardstick. However, it is not possible to continue with the long trousers rule for gentlemen. Time has moved on, and this antiquated rule has to be dropped. We also found the having to book lunch and dinner times in advance very difficult. As a result, we missed 4 lunches and 6 dinners out of 8 nights. The food is OK, certainly not great. The barbecue needs to be held on a night when the next door property doesn't fumigate for mosquitoes. That said, the rooms are great with the usual bajan 'missing channels' problems.
Staff at this hotel amongst the best I have known in Barbados. Friendly and very helpful. We decided all inclusive done this way wasn't for us, however, it didn't seem to be a problem for anyone else. So, overall, a very nice hotel. Evening entertainment was also very enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor poolside for rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie3766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

We have just returned from our 4th Staycation at Mango Bay and it was truly the best and most relaxing stay ever. The staff welcomed us back like old friends. Service was top-notch as usual and the food delicious. As Barbadians, we were particularly impressed with effort taken on Independence Day (Nov.30) to showcase traditional Barbadian dishes at the four meals (yes, they serve 4 meals- breakfast, lunch, tea and dinner !); and their care in decorating the dining room with local flare was particularly special. There was a Tuk band Idependence morning, complete with Mother Sally who encouraged some expressive dancing-up; and the late afternoon entertainment showcasing locally designed hand-painted clothing modelled by management and staff was wonderful. You could not get it any better at a large hotel. This is a small hotel with a great big heart. Congrats to Manager Sherene and all her staff.

Room Tip: We have always had a room in the block closest to the sea and find it quiet and easily accessible by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

I want to be completely fair about Mango Bay and it has taken me ages to try and get this review right. Also you should bear in mind that it was our first time in the Caribbean having spent all my previous holidays going from England to India, Thailand, Vietnam, South Africa etc.

The staff are really nice. The food is good. The location is lovely. So what is the problem?

It is expensive but there is nothing wrong with that. And you get a lot of quality thrown in to the all inclusive package. Wine always topped up (and surprisingly nice wine too), good quality beer and attentive service. However, it wasnt the top end you would expect in my opinion. The hotel is showing its age which was surprising for a hotel of its price (not that the others nearby looked any better by any stretch so probably compares favourably to them I suppose).

However, I felt it like it was falling behind other places in the World when you compare it against Asia particularly. For this price you get luxury in southern india, thailand and South Africa. And its not like you lose out on the scenery in those places. The beaches are just as good in southern indian and Thailand. Thereafter, the cost of being a tourist in those countries is a fraction of the Caribbean meaning a big saving.

I think all this was illustrated by the other people there at the same time as me and the wife. There were lots of repeat visitors in their 60s and 70's which didn't really surprise me. But I was left wondering as to where the younger generation were.

I am not knocking Mango Bay at all. I think you know what you get there and there's nothing really to criticise. However, if you are deciding on where to go for those types of prices I think it is hard to look passed those places that are 9 hours flight in the other direction.

Hope this helps.

Thedeadlysubmarine.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank thedeadlysubmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Lovely hotel in an ideal location. Standard rooms were a bit noisy so worth paying for a pool side or beach front room, but other than that no negatives at all. Food was lovely and plenty of it. Restaurant situated on beach front, and the fact that there is only one restaurant didn't bother us at all as the menu changed daily, was not repetative and the beach front location was so nice we wouldn't have wanted to eat anywhere else anyway. Staff were very friendly and we were made to feel very welcome. Beach is gorgeous, and loads of things to do included in the all inclusive. Would not hesitate to go back, having stayed further down the coast on a previous trip to Barbados would choose Mango Bay again every time for its perfect location, excellent food and lovely staff.

Room Tip: Standard rooms overlooking road can get noisy, definitely worth paying to upgrade the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank kat1483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Bear with me on this review as our poor start developed into a fabulous holiday:

Our first few hours at Mangobay were marred by the fact that our cases had been left in Antigua. The lady who was on reception wasn't overly helpful and was more concerned with taking us to the restaurant to get lunch and book dinner (and I've left her name out as I've fedback directly to the manager about this). We did ask if she would call Liat for us but she said local calls were free and we could use the phone in our room, which we did for the rest of the afternoon and evening. When we got to the restaurant we explained the situation and were told that we could either eat in our rooms or on the deck (referred to as the table of shame on Tripadvisor) which was upsetting and did nothing to warm us to the hotel. I won't go into the sorry story that was our missing cases and instead will focus on the hotel review. As the afternoon went on we spoke with Keisha at reception who was very supportive, informed the manager of our situation and continued to try Liat for us as the evening came. We decided that as everyone was coming down dressed in their finery for dinner we'd go to our rooms. We'd agreed with the manager that we'd come to a decision about dinner by 8pm and to be fair by that time we were tired, fed up and took them up on their offer to eat in our room. Half of our cases finally arrived at 9pm and were delivered to our room by the manager (and I can't stress how helpful she and the team were once she was involved).

We woke the next day with half of our cases still missing (they arrived mid afternoon on our second day) but with enough of our stuff to crack on with our holiday and we decided to do just that.

Breakfast at the hotel is buffet style with a rotating (daily) selection of hot and cold goodies. The quality of the food at Mango Bay is exceptional and we came to the conclusion this is due to them following the good old Gordon Ramsay principles of "keep the menu short and great quality". My must try breakfast goodies are the hash browns and bajan bites (little sweet dumplings) and they have a great rotating selection of juices.

Lunch must be booked but that worked really well for us and there's no rush at all so you can take your time and relax (and enjoy the delightful white wine!). The lunchtime menu rotates between buffet and table service. The soups are delicious as are the personal pizzas (which are only about 6" and perfect with a pile of salad) and Trudi (who served us most of the time) was incredibly attentive and great fun.

Dinner again must be booked and with the exception of Wednesdays and Fridays (where the european and BBQ buffets are served and men can wear shorts or jeans) the dress code is long pants and collars for men. We're used to this in all inclusive resorts so other than the first night when we had no clothes, this wasn't a problem at all. Again there's no rush, the service was fabulous, it appears like there's almost 1 member of staff to each guest and they're all incredibly polite and attentive. Highlights for me were the chicken in stilton sauce and BBQ night where the steak and onion rings were incredible. Deserts are small and plentiful so you can indulge without guilt and the rum and rasin or coconut ice cream are to die for!

The rooms at Mangobay aren't huge (we were in a standard room) but contain everything you need. Be aware though, standard rooms are accessible only by stairs so if this is an issue, you'll need to either notify the hotel or book a superior room which is in a wing with an elevator. Rooms have great air con, power showers, iron and ironing board and plenty of power points. They also have very friendly pretty birds who visit your balcony in the morning!!

On the subject of animals, if you've never met a mongoose you'll definately meet some at Mangobay. They're simply adorable (once you get used to them shooting across your path) and it was great fun to watch them playing on the lawned area by the boardwalk.

The pool area feels very spacious even though it's only a small hotel. The layout works really well and the pool is different levels of depth in each area with a very pretty bridge by reception. The beach is just off the boardwalk which has very comfortable beds and seats on which to sunbathe, enjoy the shade under the canopies or watch the incredibly stunning sunsets. There are plenty of beds and umbrellas and for the most part guests do comply to the request not to reserve sunbeds, both on the beach and by the pool.

Entertainment is exceptionally good especially on a Thursday when Virgo (a Bajan girl group) played the most phenomenal set for two hours.

There are two complimentary trips at Mangobay for guests; we went on the catamaran trip to swim with the turtles which was a truly memorable experience. I'm terrified of fish and didn't want to get into the sea but as soon as I saw the turtles I was in! Truly, truly memorable and the guys running the catmaran were fabulous, great fun and pointing out areas of interest along the way.

As we reflected on our first day as the holiday went on we believe that the initial response we got (to our bags being missing) was probably due to the fact that this is common practice for Liat. So it wasn't a massive surprise to the lady on reception. However, by the time we got to the end of the second day we were so relaxed and enjoying the hotel.

One final note; the Elements Spa which is situated just by the pool near reception is incredible. I decided to get my nails done to kill some time on the first day and it was the best decision I made. I was made to feel so welcome, I relaxed, was treated so wonderfully and if you're staying at Mangobay then you should definately indulge yourself with a treatment here.

I would absolutely recommend Mangobay without hesitation to anyone visiting Barbados. With just 60 rooms there's a genuine small hotel feel to it but with it comes outstanding quality and service. The fact that it's located just off first street in Holetown means that you can wander over to Limegrove or the Chettel houses or enjoy the nightlife (particularly good on Fridays and Sundays) which is right on your doorstep. So go to Mangobay and enjoy it, we did :-)

Room Tip: splurge on a superior room (the ground floor rooms by the pool are outstanding)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank finchaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
2.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
0.5 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
1.8 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
8.0 mi away
Sugar Bay Barbados
Sugar Bay Barbados
#1 of 9 in Hastings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
14.2 mi away
The Crane Resort
The Crane Resort
#1 of 4 in Saint Philip Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Bay All Inclusive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Bay All Inclusive

Property: Mango Bay All Inclusive
Address: 2nd Street, Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mango Bay All Inclusive 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Bay Barbados is ideal for those seeking the convenience of an ALL-INCLUSIVE beach vacation combined with the personal and friendly service of a small resort. It enjoys a sought-after beachfront setting in St. James, on the famous west coast of Barbados.There are restaurants, bars, boutiques and cinema just steps away from Mango Bay in lively Holetown, including the brand new, upscale, LIMEGROVE LIFESTYLE CENTRE across the road from the resort. Mango Bay is approximately a 45 minute drive from the airport, and a 25-minute drive south of the hotel takes you to the capital Bridgetown. Mango Bay definitely gives you added value for an all inclusive hotel- included is a complimentary two-hour catamaran cruise to see the turtles, waterskiing & a glass bottom boat ride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Mango Bay All Inclusive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Bay Hotel Holetown
Mango Bay Barbados
Mango Bay Saint James
Barbados Bay Mango
Mango Bay Hotel Barbados
Mango Bay All Inclusive Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing