We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,757)
Filter reviews
1,757 results
Traveler rating
1,061
465
144
54
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,061
465
144
54
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstandard roomglass bottom boatlunch and dinnercatamaran tripwater skiingsmall hotelcold towelsthe penthousefree catamaranrum punchocean frontwaitress servicestreet partybar staffevening entertainmenta la carteafternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
1,127 - 1,132 of 1,757 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2012

we are currently at the Mango bay and we are finding the stay exceptional!!!! The accomadation is not brand new but still very comfortable Fresh linen when you need fresh towels everyday and very attentative houskeeping staff.

The pool area and gardens are well kept (they have been attended twice while we've been here)Ample beds surround this area The beach is on the small side, the advantage is that the hotel next door is under refurbishment so we are able to spread into this area.There are always people who will reserve their favorite beds and this was happening but not a major problem.

Water sports and Boat trips are very available booking ahead is required but most are free! I'm not a strong swimmer but allways felt at ease in and around the water due to the freindly helpful beach staff

The meals and reataurant are excellent, the menu very varied with no repetition of any dish during our two week stay.The standard of the food is truly outstanding.Yes you have to book in advance but I don't know any hotels where you don't have to!!! And there are birds that fly around It is an open air restaurant for goodness sake!!!! and birds get hungry.

All the staff without exception are warm,freindly and extremely well manoured.Too many to name individually.

The night time entertainment is probably the only downside to this hotel but as mentioned in another reveiw the group Virgo are brilliant!!

There are some good restaurants and bars outside the hotel with opening hours well into the early hours if you need.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Sadly had to cancel this years visit in May, would have been our third time at Mango Bay. Having visited many Carribean Islands it is the only place we have returned too. The manageress, and her staff are brilliant and the food exceptional.
This is a well located smallrelaxing hotel with a very small beach. Too my mind it should be adults only as there is certainly no provision for children (I am a grandad with 3 grandsons). There is just not the space for them.
Looking forward to May next year with another visit to Mango Bay - cannot wait !!!!

Room Tip: Ocean view for that view !!!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jandkchelmsforduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Spent 3 nights here on route to St Vincent. Arriving at the hotel we received a very warm and friendly welcome from Erica, who also showed us around. We had a standard room which was very spacious, clean and well presented. The only down side of the room was an odd smell which seemed to come from the closet.

The food was plentiful, of a really good standard and quality, with Mary, the chef, on hand if not to your liking. The bar was well stocked and drinks flowed. If passing through Barbados again we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ppixs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I have just arrived back from our honeymoon in which we chose to stay in the Mango Bay hotel.
From the moment we arrived the reception staff made us both feel very special. with the damp scented towels , the rum cocktails and the added touch of champagne in our ocean view room.The view from was just what we envisaged for our romantic location.
During our visit I had a honeymoon photo shoot and the reception staff went out of there way to help me arrange a hairdresser for this special occasion.
The restaurant is an a la carte style . I have to be honest I am a fussy eater and struggled at times with the food due to the oils and dressings used but there were plenty of choices and the staff are very ammenable and will cook you an alternative to the menu. The restaurant staff were very attentive always making sure our drinks were well topped up. We rarely felt hungry.
If you are like us and like to venture outside the hotel, Mango Bay is in the centre of the two main streets in Holetown for 'nightlife and eateries'.
The trips that are offered are excellent value but me and the hubby chose to relax and take advantage of the small but adequate beach.
Yes there is always a problem with the sunbeds and the towel brigade but we never had problem with finding one and the beach attendant will always do his best to get you a bed.
The bar is very well stocked and once you gt to know the staff (epecially Dennis) waiting time is reduced as they soon get to know your tipple...try the mud slides mmm. Peter the waiter is fab !!!!
Housekeeping is very good fresh towels everyday, clean beds when required , take advantage of the night time turn back and the spraying of your room with insect repelleant and the little touch of the chocolate kisses on our pillows every night was a sweet touch.
The hotel entertaimnent has a bit for everyone look out for the girl group called Virgo they were excellent.
We were there when a tropical storm passed by the island on our last full day but we were warned well in advance of what to expect and we felt it was just like a tyical flood day in England but only warmer :)
Most of the guests are very friendly and we became friends with a great set of couples who helped make our stay more memorable.
All in all it was a honeymoon we will never forget and we will be back to the Mango Bay to celebrate our future wedding anniversaries

Negatives: The restaurant asks you to book your daily meal times preferably at breakfast time, for the first week of our holiday this worked well for us but we soon realised that guests were being allowed to book days in advance so the popular times such as 8.00 pm were always full which was annoying.
The restaurant is plagued by the local' feathered 'guests in teh guise of small black birds which was irritating when trying to eat but to be fair the staff were very good at getting rid .

Reccomendations:.
Try out the Indian restaurant outside the hotel called SATIR
Lime Grove Mall is very designer but the bar in the middle is very welcoming.
We took a 5 hour catamaran trip to swim with turtles with the Stiletto group this was excellent value and as it was my first time snorkelling fully enjoyed myself.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to an Ocean Front View , quiter,spacious and more scenic
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lushylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have just checked out of this amszing resort. A perfect holiday at this great resort. Superb staff who can't do enough for you, superb food and superb facilities. It is virtually impossible to fault anything at Mango Bay. If you enjoy cocktails, ask for a cement mixer which is one to remember and if you enjoy omelettes then Mary in the kitchen is a world expert and will add garlic and chillis in perfect ratios. We will be back!

Thank you to all the staff who made our holiday do perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanGWheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews