We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$161
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coral Reef Club(Holetown)(Great Value!)
$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Divi Heritage(Saint James Parish)
$111
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Club, Barbados Resort & Spa All Inclusive(Saint James Parish)(Great Value!)
$347
$294
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $346/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

All Seasons Resort Europa(Sunset Crest)(Great Value!)
$83
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,740)
Filter reviews
1,740 results
Traveler rating
1,051
458
144
54
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,051
458
144
54
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstandard roomglass bottom boatlunch and dinnercatamaran tripwater skiingsmall hotelthe penthousecold towelsrum punchfree catamaranocean frontwaitress servicestreet partybar staffa la carteevening entertainmentour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
1,112 - 1,117 of 1,740 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Spent 3 nights here on route to St Vincent. Arriving at the hotel we received a very warm and friendly welcome from Erica, who also showed us around. We had a standard room which was very spacious, clean and well presented. The only down side of the room was an odd smell which seemed to come from the closet.

The food was plentiful, of a really good standard and quality, with Mary, the chef, on hand if not to your liking. The bar was well stocked and drinks flowed. If passing through Barbados again we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ppixs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I have just arrived back from our honeymoon in which we chose to stay in the Mango Bay hotel.
From the moment we arrived the reception staff made us both feel very special. with the damp scented towels , the rum cocktails and the added touch of champagne in our ocean view room.The view from was just what we envisaged for our romantic location.
During our visit I had a honeymoon photo shoot and the reception staff went out of there way to help me arrange a hairdresser for this special occasion.
The restaurant is an a la carte style . I have to be honest I am a fussy eater and struggled at times with the food due to the oils and dressings used but there were plenty of choices and the staff are very ammenable and will cook you an alternative to the menu. The restaurant staff were very attentive always making sure our drinks were well topped up. We rarely felt hungry.
If you are like us and like to venture outside the hotel, Mango Bay is in the centre of the two main streets in Holetown for 'nightlife and eateries'.
The trips that are offered are excellent value but me and the hubby chose to relax and take advantage of the small but adequate beach.
Yes there is always a problem with the sunbeds and the towel brigade but we never had problem with finding one and the beach attendant will always do his best to get you a bed.
The bar is very well stocked and once you gt to know the staff (epecially Dennis) waiting time is reduced as they soon get to know your tipple...try the mud slides mmm. Peter the waiter is fab !!!!
Housekeeping is very good fresh towels everyday, clean beds when required , take advantage of the night time turn back and the spraying of your room with insect repelleant and the little touch of the chocolate kisses on our pillows every night was a sweet touch.
The hotel entertaimnent has a bit for everyone look out for the girl group called Virgo they were excellent.
We were there when a tropical storm passed by the island on our last full day but we were warned well in advance of what to expect and we felt it was just like a tyical flood day in England but only warmer :)
Most of the guests are very friendly and we became friends with a great set of couples who helped make our stay more memorable.
All in all it was a honeymoon we will never forget and we will be back to the Mango Bay to celebrate our future wedding anniversaries

Negatives: The restaurant asks you to book your daily meal times preferably at breakfast time, for the first week of our holiday this worked well for us but we soon realised that guests were being allowed to book days in advance so the popular times such as 8.00 pm were always full which was annoying.
The restaurant is plagued by the local' feathered 'guests in teh guise of small black birds which was irritating when trying to eat but to be fair the staff were very good at getting rid .

Reccomendations:.
Try out the Indian restaurant outside the hotel called SATIR
Lime Grove Mall is very designer but the bar in the middle is very welcoming.
We took a 5 hour catamaran trip to swim with turtles with the Stiletto group this was excellent value and as it was my first time snorkelling fully enjoyed myself.

Room Tip: If you can upgrade to an Ocean Front View , quiter,spacious and more scenic
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lushylisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have just checked out of this amszing resort. A perfect holiday at this great resort. Superb staff who can't do enough for you, superb food and superb facilities. It is virtually impossible to fault anything at Mango Bay. If you enjoy cocktails, ask for a cement mixer which is one to remember and if you enjoy omelettes then Mary in the kitchen is a world expert and will add garlic and chillis in perfect ratios. We will be back!

Thank you to all the staff who made our holiday do perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanGWheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We chose this hotel due to the great reviews on Trip Advisor and I agree with many of the previous comments, there are however some I do not.

We booked 2no standard rooms 406/407 that were ok'ish, unfortunately they are situated in a block that has an external corridor overlooking a rather smelly/dingy service yard. On one occasion we were treated to one of the locals using the area as a public toilet which really added to the charm....and smell! This block can also be noisy at night due to the adjacent clubs/bars and has no lift facility.
There was a storm on our last full day bringing with it heavy rain which caused a leak over the bed in 407. Having reported the problem to reception we were given another room 415 for our last night, however no-one to our knowledge came up to see the problem and in fact housekeeping made up the bed despite the damp patch. The dining area also suffered from the same problem with water dripping though cracks in the ceiling! The adjacent creak also flooded which closed the beach but as it was our last day it didn't cause us any problems.

The food is great, as are the staff. The restaurant has the option of eating inside which is a real bonus at breakfast if you want to avoid the black birds from eating your food...they are a real pain!

The pool area needs attention as there many missing tiles and dirty cracks around the walls, this is no surprise as the pool was used on one occasion to store the garden chairs due to the impending storm.

The beach is fine, if a little narrow and expect a little hassle from the locals selling their wares.

The water skiing is good but book early (opens 10am to 4pm, 15 mins/ski) and we found the mornings were best as the sea was very flat and Peter is a good tutor as he got both of our daughters skiing on their first attempt!

Get up early if you want a sunbed as the towel brigade are early risers!

Please do not let this review deter you from staying at this hotel as overall we had a great holiday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the block with the lift or upgrade to a more superior room
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rgm1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samtul, Manager at Mango Bay All Inclusive, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear rgm1965,

Thank you for your very fair review of your holiday at Mango Bay. We are pleased that you had a good time overall, but are sorry that you felt let down in some areas.

It is unfortunate that the weather affected the latter part of your holiday. Ernesto could have been much worse and we are just happy that it weakened as it approached Barbados. We have been blessed to have not had a serious Hurricane here since 1955, and we pray that this is not something we experience ever again.

There is always some disruption when a storm passes..no matter how small the system is. Leaks will develop where we never had them before, and of course no repairs can be done while the rain is falling. Our housekeeper assures me that your bed would only have been made if the bed was still dry at that point (or she did not see the damp) , but we are truly sorry that you had to move room on your last night. due to this unfortunate development. Someone from Maintenance did in fact go to the room to see where the leak was.

Our restaurant has a canvas roof (will be changed soon), but again, pinholes can become large ones in torrential rain, with roofs like this.

It is the norm that light pool furniture that can be blown around in a storm be put into the pool for safety until the passing of the storm. I assure you that it is not usual that we store any type of furniture in the pool.

We replace any missing mosaic tiles in the pool every year in our slowest period. Small mosaics, we learned too late, tend to drop off with constant vacuuming of the pool. Again, these will be replaced within a few weeks (without having to drain the pool).

The creek near to us did not burst with this storm because the sandbank that separates the sea from the creek is quite high at the moment due to a very dry summer (traditionally the rain season) this year. No one was using the beach simply because the weather was so bad.

We do hope this response provides an explanation for, and reassures you of any doubts you might have had about some aspects of our operation, and look forward to welcoming you back to Mango Bay very soon!

Kind regards,

Shireene Mathlin-Tulloch
Hotel Manager
smathlin@mangobaybarbados.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed at The Mango Bay for a week in July with our 2 children aged 10 and 12. I am well travelled and have stayed in many 5 star hotels worldwide.
As it was school holidays there were lots of children in the hotel.
This really is a great hotel with lovely staff, from the minute we arrived we were made to feel very welcome. The watersports were fantasic, Peter taught my children to waterski within 20 minutes and they were able to ski almost every day of our holiday. We went on the boat to swim with turtles which was fantastic. I did have issues with jet skis speeding close to people swimming but this wasn't the fault of the hotel. The standard of food was excellent and everything we were offered was of a high standard and served hot. There is only one restaurant in the hotel which was fine for a weeks holiday. Marcia the restaurant manager was fantasic and had all the staff very well organised so that wine and water was regularly topped up and you could not fault the service at all. My daughter celebrated her birthday when she was there and the staff made a reall fuss of her decorating the table with balloons and bringing her alcohol free champagne. There were 3 weddings the week we were there and all looked lovely.
The beach is small but absolutely lovely, great for children and there are plenty of sunbeds on the beach. We snorkelled every day and saw lots of fish.
Entertainment is low key with either a band or singer performing for a couple of hours in the evening. On our last night a turtle came right up onto the beach to lay her eggs which was just amazing.
The pool area is ok with comfortable beds, Peter the waiter was fantastic and came round regularly taking drink orders and it was always service with a smile!
Overall we just loved our week at the Mango Bay. We stayed in one of the 1 bedroom apartments and it was roomy and the beds were very comfortable.
It's very safe to venture outside the hotel and there is Cartier and Loius Vuitton right by the hotel along with lots of other gift shops and cafes and restaurants.
We will definitely go back next year and the children said it was their best ever holiday!
Thank you to all the wonderful staff who looked after us so well!!!!!!

Room Tip: One bedroom apartments are great If you are travelling with children
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Manchestergirl1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews