We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,760)
Filter reviews
1,760 results
Traveler rating
1,062
467
144
54
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,062
467
144
54
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstandard roomglass bottom boatlunch and dinnercatamaran tripwater skiingsmall hotelcold towelsthe penthousefree catamaranrum punchocean frontwaitress servicestreet partybar staffevening entertainmenta la carteafternoon tea
Filter
Updating list...
1,233 - 1,238 of 1,760 reviews
Reviewed October 12, 2011

Stayed In Mango Bay for 1 week on honeymoon. This was the greatest week holiday ever. Arrived early afternoon and was greeted by the great staff and offered drinks straight away.We were Shown around the hotel by a member of staff. The rooms were fantastic and they had a bottle of champagne waiting in the room. The beds were the biggest and most comfortable i have ever stayed in. The bathroom was so clean and big, and the balcony was huge and comfortable. The swimming pool was clean and big with wonderful landscape around it. The bar was of great size and was well run by their fantastic staff including, george, Andre and Rondell.

The watersports on offer was brilliant and the staff were well trained and showed us how to do things. The beach was wonderful and close and very clean. The Views were exceptional and the beds were fantastic for looking out into the sea. The Glass bottle and Catamaran cruises were very well run by the hotel picking you up right outside on the beach.

The waiting staff were very hard working and quick and the restraunt food was delicious with different food each day and night and very healthy. The music at night was excellent, especially the piano player, only slight problem they didnt play longer.
The rooms were very well kept and the maids were fantastic changing towels each day and night and also spraying the rooms to keep mosquitos away. The Mango Bay was well situated with a nice little village right outside with the lovely Bajan community mixing with the tourists. The best part of the Mango Bay was the people staying their, with different nationality's young and old. The atmosphere and craic around was terrific, a great mix of age and personality's. The hotel is small and and compact and eveyone get's to know one another and dines together and socialises at night with great banter.
Was very sad to leave Mango Bay as it was the most complete hotel and cannot wait to come back in the very near future! Congratulations on a fantastic hotel and keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank caffattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Forget the birds - you get them everywhere.

This is a very good 3 star hotel - no question.

The rooms and beds are big and clean and the maids are great. The food is sufficiently varied with a limited menu - we managed to get through nine days. Waiting staff are very variable - some of them are are splendid and try hard but some do not. Front desk staff the same but in both cases it's mainly a cultural thing but it detracts from it's 4 star claim. The manager is a treasure and tries very hard to keep things firmly in place. Pool lovely and warm/clean if a bit shallow in most places and the sea is a real hot tub and clear as crystal. Beach does come and go but that's the nature of the tides - when we were there it changed size and shape three times in nine days - the hotel sits right on its small beach and if you don't like that there are miles and miles of lovely beaches either side of the hotel - walk up to Sandy Lane and pose or the other way to the Colony Club and see the splendid house next door of the chap who owns the JCB firm.

When we were there the first week largely comprised of nice upper working class/lower middle class Brits and then the second with young US couples. Everyone got on fine - and everyone behaved. Evening entertainment - typical for Indian/Carabean Oceans - it's amateur but I suspect it's what you also get in the more expensive places ! The place is dead by c10.30pm which means that most folk are up fairly early. Drinks at bar all fine - have what you want of branded products. If you want a 4 star + then go somewhere else. This says it's 4 star but not by EU standards and I know that some US folk thought the food was a bit of a joke as it's a long way from a Marriott or Hilton offering- but that's part of the charm. It has a great setting as a hotel and grounds very well kept but Holetown is an overstatement - it's a few eating places (not cheap but "cool") and some serious drinking holes with a few gift shops and then a great mall opening up nearby - to what effect I wonder. Who needs Louis Vitton on that kind of holiday - there will be some.

Warnings - it was half full when we were there and that was just fine but when full it will feel too crowded so watch school holidays - we didn't have any kids to contend with but because it is a small place they would be a real pain. Would we go back - yes but watch the timing. Is All Inclusive a good deal - in this case - yes. Do they need to upgrade their water activities offering - yes a little. Otherwise - get booking

If you can afford it get a sea front view - they are great. In every case unless you want people looking into your life ask for a room on floors 2 and above - but some folk there clearly liked the ground floor stuff. If you are not in the main block then take care as the other block does back onto the town but we didn't see inside.

You have been told !

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a sea front view - they are great. In every case unless you want people looking into your life ask for a room on floors 2 and above - but some folk there clearly liked the ground floor stuff. If you are not in the main block then take care as the other block does back onto the town but we didn't see inside.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bambi d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

This hotel is ideal for couples of all ages.If you have young children I would say stay at a dedicated family hotel as there is not much for kids to do except swim,but they'll love the food!
The staff were very efficient and genuinely pleased to have you as a guest,and the same can be said about the friendly locals.The bus stops and shops are just a short walk away and the local bars are just outside the hotel.One bar has karaoke which a lot of locals attend and lasts till the early hours on Friday and Saturday.the rooms nearer them will hear the noise though.Our room was a deluxe on the third floor overlooking the pool and was quiet and very comfortable.
There are many sightseeing trips available and all are very good value for money.The tours we would recommend are,the Mount Gay distillery,Harrisons Cave,and Ted's Historic Tour.You can book them at the hotel.
The bar has an ample choice of local and branded drinks and loads of cocktails.On a personal basis I found the bar staff brilliant for their sense of humour and chatting with and also sampling their favourite cocktails.The same can be said about the waiting staff who really made every meal enjoyable,you have the choice of red or white wine and will never have to ask for your glass to be refilled!The food was delicious and varied every day and if you are still hungry after eating you must have the appetite of an elephant!There are birds who wait to pounce on your food during daytime meals but on the whole they're no problem.
The beach is right next to the hotel and is small but a big beach is seconds away next door where you also get loungers to place where you want,all you do to get there is wade across the warm water from the hotel.For snorkellers you'll love it as will the watersports people.
If you feel the need to dine out be aware that it is quite expensive and the food may be below the standard you have been accustomed to at the hotel,the same goes for alcohol drinks.
All in all we had the most relaxing,interesting and varied holiday to date and would highly recommend Mango Bay and Barbados for all it offers.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the pool or gardens on the 2nd or 3rd floors and upgrade if you can,it's well worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tattiesoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We have visited this hotel on four occasions the last being in April of this year. My husband and I like this location very much and would say that the manageress (Shireen) and her staff are the friendliest and happiest group you are likely to meet they really make you feel special and welcome.The hotel itself is very good although I would say it is probably ready for redecoration and a general spruce up. The rooms are very clean and indeed the superior and deluxe rooms are worth the extra expenditure as the location is quieter and the views are better.I would certainly go back to this hotel but before visiting again the beach area needs resolving as this is eroding and effectively from our first visit (December 2007)till our last visit (April 2011) the beach area has disappeared.I did speak with the owner (Peter) and he told me that in November this year the Barbados authorities intended to create a breaker that should salvage the beach issue so from our point of view and really liking a beach we need that delivered before we will return. So two downsides the beach or lack of it and a general spruce up/decoration of the hotel.Everything else spot on particularly the food and the staff.

Room Tip: Upgrade to either a superior or deluxe room
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank JenniferNewcastleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Myself and my husband went here on honeymoon in july for a week, the place was very clean, staff extremely friendly and laid back. The beach is only 10 seconds from the bar and the pool is kept very well. Would def recommend this for a couple just looking for sun and relaxation!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Selany01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews