We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon”
Review of Coral Reef Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coral Reef Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
226
Reviewed March 29, 2005

  • Stayed: December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 472 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2005

We have stayed in this hotel twice now, the last time was in one of the junior suites on the 1st floor with plunge pool. It hardly ever stopped raining so we were glad of the roof and spent many happy hours under cover on the balcony reading and watching the rain. Although these rooms and balconies are really fabulous just one word of warning. The balconies are tiled and when wet are very dangerous. I slipped badly one day and spent the rest of the holiday in some pain.
The grounds are beautiful and its well worth doing the tour of the gardens including a talk from the remarkable Mrs O'Hara snr.
This family run hotel is excellent and I am very happy at the lack of TV's and other distractions. At how many Hotels do the proprietors stand at the door to say goodbye as you are leaving?
The bar could be a bit more sociable in the evenings - its very light and could benefit from subdued lighting. As a result its often empty and has little atmosphere.
Although the beach isnt one you would want to spend time on the two swimming pools are excellent.

For great restaurants try Cliff and Carambola, for appalling Sunday lunch try Lone Star, for great Bajan food try the waterside in Bridgetown, for mediocre food and arrogant and disdainful staff try eating at Sandy Lane - you wont bother going back.

I hope that Coral Reef remains a relatively unknown and unspoilt gem - we will certainly be going back again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Yorky2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2005

This family owned and meticulously operated intimate resort is well worth
your vacation time and money!
The luxury suites are large ,well appointed,very clean,and serviced impecabbly,especially room service when dining in on the wonderful porches.The landscaping/gardens are Wonderful.
The Island has experienced some beach erosion leaving smaller beach areas limiting long walks.The beachfront at the resort is nevertheless lovely.
Barbados is blessed with a varied and visually exciting landscape. It is safe, very user friendly, has lots of history,architecture and is very interesting.
Overall, i give the O'hara family two hearty thumbs up for the marvelous
resort they have created and operated for many years.

12  Thank worldly57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2005

Do not miss beforeyou die. Great place at great location. Barbados, unlike many Carrib islands is very classy.

8  Thank Dino_Rasic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2005

We have been visiting Barbados and Coral Reef for 19 years and are returning for our 20th. We have becomes friends with the owner and their children, the staff and many guests. In fact we have spent time at the homes of some guests away from Coral Reef. Although the food has been better somed years than others, the service is impeccable, the grounds kept in nearly perfect order and have always felt welcomed.

Anyone looking for televisions and other distractions should stay away, it's a people hotel. Dancing under the stars, swimming off a white coral beach or a stroll north or south are all the wonderful elements of our vacation. If you want to go somewhere and be well taken care of for awhile we could not recommend a hotel more highly. We've been the Jamaica, St. Vincent, St. Martin and St. Barts, but we've always returned to Barbados.

Steve and Lucy O'Connor

9  Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Derby, England
111
Reviewed January 5, 2005

11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2005

  • Stayed: April 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank Westy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
0.1 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
2.2 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
640 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sandpiper
The Sandpiper
#12 of 26 in Saint James Parish
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
2.4 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Club

Address: Porters | St. James, Holetown BB24017, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range: $446 - $1,785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coral Reef Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst twelve acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the calm West Coast of Barbados, Coral Reef Club is the epitome of West Indian elegance. This family owned and run luxury resort renowned for its special ambiance and classic island style. A five star hotel, it is one of the finest in the Caribbean. Accommodations are traditionally designed with wooden balustrading, fretwork and shuttered windows. Fine dining and personal service are a high priority at this "Small Luxury Hotel of the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Coral Reef Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Club Hotel Saint James
Coral Reef Hotel
Coral Reef Saint James
Coral Reef Club Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing