We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets”
Review of Coral Reef Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Coral Reef Club
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Second stay at this lovely well-managed hotel. Restaurant a la carte dining is first class. Rooms (we had a luxury garden cottage) were spotless. The botanical garden setting gives this hotel a sheer aura of relaxation. The O'Hara family are most welcoming. Nothing too much trouble - outside reservations, collecting medicine from pharmacy, extra radio for cottage.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near the waterway (mosquitos).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aviator2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

210 - 216 of 450 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

I've just returned from another excellent holiday here. The hotel is owned and managed by the O'Hara family who are constantly around and ensure that the hotel runs smoothly and efficiently.All the staff are friendly,professional and efficient. Our waiter David remembered us from previous trips and had our coffee ordered as we arrived for breakfast - a big plus as we are coffee addicts. Lenny at the water sports was very helpful arranging our water sports. The spa was excellent -first class therapists. The food is very good better than most luxury hotels on the island. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

This was our first time in Barbados and there is a lot of choice there for a hotel, however The Coral Reef is a really nice clean comfortable family run hotel, the staff are absolutely wonderful at all levels no matter what you ask them to do, it is done with a smile and done in a timely manner. Room service is great too. we stayed in Cassava villa which was close to reception, restaurant, poole and the beach so a great location. The restaurant is very good, food is varied for lunch and dinner and their themed nights are excellent especially the Bajan buffet yum yum.

We will definitely return to this hotel as it is close to the LimeGrove mall, cinema and the small bajan local stalls which are great fun. All in all we were pleasantly surprised on how friendly everyone was in Barbados - it a great place can't wait to return.

Room Tip: we had CASSAVA very close to amenities and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blake12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Our second visit to this hotel and it was just as good as we remembered. Lovely food, excellent service and a beautiful room overlooking the fantastic gardens. We can't think of a good reason not to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SalBUKSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had a brilliant holiday and did not want to come home!!
The hotel staff brilliant
The room brilliant Mango
The food brilliant
Beach amazing
No having a television was fantastic
We will return next year God willing
Thank you to everyone at the Coral Reef
Fond memories
Christopher Evans ,Justine Hammond xxxxxxxx

Room Tip: Cottage in the wonderfull gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were recommended to stay here by a number of people. We were lucky and got an upgrade to one of the cottages with had a large terrace area and a little plunge pool which was really nice. The room was spacious, but it lacked a couple of luxuries which you tend to get in other hotels. There was no television which was disappointing and inexcusable in this day in age, bearing in mind in October/November it rains quite a bit, it would be nice to go back to the sanctury of your room and watch tv otherwise there is nothing to do. The air conditioning units need updating, they were very noisy. There was a fridge with nothing inside it, bar two bottles of Evian which you had to pay for, so if you wanted any drinks you had to continually ask for room service which all adds to the cost of staying. Still and Fizzy water should be complimentary for a hotel of this standard. Turndown service very poor. Mosquito plugs should be placed in every room as a matter of course. We ate in their restaurant which was very nice with a guy playing on the calypso drums, service was very good. Small beach and getting into the sea was quite difficult as the beach has quite a lot of coral in and out of the sea, remember to pack some jelly shoes. The cocktails are some of the best I have ever tasted!! We would go back again, but would only stay for one or two nights max.

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a cottage at the back of the complex, there is a large water inlet from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mac146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was our second time at the Coral Reef Club and we were again delighted with our choice to return. The O'Hara family are exceptional hosts and hold a cocktail evening at their private residence within the hotel grounds every Monday evening with Mrs O'Hara senior doing a great job at making sure people get to know each other, it makes such a difference and you do feel you are in a private club environment. Familiar faces in the staff who are lovely and try to make sure you are being looked after is reassuring (well done to the person who trains them, it does pay off). We will be back.

Room Tip: Sea view ensures you have a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACAMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
0.1 mi away
Colony Club by Elegant Hotels
2.2 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
625 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Sandpiper
The Sandpiper
#12 of 26 in Saint James Parish
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#2 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
2,094 reviews
2.1 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
0.6 mi away
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Reef Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Reef Club

Address: Porters | St. James, Holetown BB24017, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Holetown
Price Range: $468 - $1,216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Coral Reef Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst twelve acres of beautifully landscaped gardens on the calm West Coast of Barbados, Coral Reef Club is the epitome of West Indian elegance. This family owned and run luxury resort renowned for its special ambiance and classic island style. A five star hotel, it is one of the finest in the Caribbean. Accommodations are traditionally designed with wooden balustrading, fretwork and shuttered windows. Fine dining and personal service are a high priority at this "Small Luxury Hotel of the World". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Coral Reef Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Reef Club Hotel Saint James
Coral Reef Hotel
Coral Reef Saint James
Coral Reef Club Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing