We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average at best”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Holetown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goldenview Condominium Apartments
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed in 405...a very dated but clean and comfortable apartment. These apartments were built in the 1970s, and I would guess that this apartment hasn’t ever been updated

The complex is very private has a good swimming pool and nice grounds, but is possibly one of the ugliest buildings in Holetown. It resembles a 1980s hospital

There is a Chinese restaurant on site, but we found the food pretty poor and the service awful

Located in a nice area, only 5 minutes from beautiful beaches. Close to the supermarket, restaurants and main shopping areas of Holetown

Would I stay here again? Probably not, as I’m sure you could find better for the price

Room Tip: Don't choose 405
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richie247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doris S, Owner at Goldenview Condominium Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your review.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your week with us.
However I must refute your comments that our apartment has not been upgraded
since the 1970's. The terrace and lounge have been totally upgraded twice.
I am sure you couldn't have purchased a smoked glass circular dining table then.
The kitchen was completely replaced in 2011.

Perhaps you will recall I include in my confirmation letter not to be disappointed
on arrival as the building resembles a hospital.
There is very little you can do to enhance the car park on arrival
but the building is built back to front (again explained in confirmation) which in fact
does help to allow the trade winds through the apartment and alleviate the necessity
of the use of air conditioning.

Finally I take umbridge on your statement of the price paid for one week.
Please consider you are on the West Coast and whilst this is not a three star hotel
and is self catering You do get what you pay for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 85 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

These apartments are excellent value for money, They are not on the beach but only a 5 minute stroll away, which we prefered as they are more private. The grounds to the apartments are beautiful and well kept, loads of birds and you can watch the green monkeys playing. The pool is lovely, large and always clean, there are loads of beds and you never had to secure one with your towel which was a pleasure. The apartments are all different as they are all privately owned, some owners live in them all the time. Our apartment 316 was probably one of the best located in the complex, on 3rd floor where you get a lovely breeze blowing through and right next door to the lift (You don't hear any noise) next to the wifi room and next to the laundry room (Don't bother taking too many clothes, you won't need them and you can always wash them) The apartment could do with updating but was adequate for us. It was old but clean and well equipped, it had everything you could ever need in the kitchen. The Supermarket is only a 5 minute walk, ask the residents for the short cut. Tides, The Cliff and Lone Star, the best restuarants on the Island and ideal for a bit of celebrity watching are also only minutes away. There is a Chinese restaurant on site which also serves chips and English food which is inexpensive, they also offer a bar service throughout the day and happy hour between 5pm and 6.30pm when it is ridiculously cheap, however, they don't advertise this. There is a brilliant bus service just down the road which will take you into Bridgetown or Speightstown for $2. We caught the yellow reggae buses most of the time and never had to wait more than 10 mins before one turned up. Next time we will hire a car though as the roads wern't busy and they drive on the left. Would definatlely come back here and stay in these apartments again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed February 17, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
england
411
Reviewed January 15, 2013

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
edinburgh
43
Reviewed December 1, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Caldicot
Reviewed August 12, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We've been visiting Barbados for over 30 years. We still love it. After staying in smart hotels and villas, we found Golden View. It suits us perfectly. We go for 6weeks in Feb'March and have stayed in bith 313 and 321. Both are excellent and the owner/manager is available to deal with every query. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sinclair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Holetown
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Resort Europa
All Seasons Resort Europa
#1 of 1 in Sunset Crest
280 reviews
1.2 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
1,079 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tropical Sunset Beach Apartment Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The House by Elegant Hotels
The House by Elegant Hotels
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
625 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sandpiper
The Sandpiper
#12 of 26 in Saint James Parish
297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Discovery Bay by Rex Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldenview Condominium Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldenview Condominium Apartments

Address: Sunset Crest | Sunset Crest, St. James, Holetown, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Holetown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Holetown
Price Range: $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldenview Apartments/Condominiums are a perfect place to spend your Barbados vacation.Located right in the Sunset Crest properties of Holetown it is within walking distance to a shopping centre for your grocery needs, outstanding restaurants and pubs, boutique shopping and nightlife.Yet it is tucked away from it all on lush grounds which provide peace of mind with 24 hour security.The beautiful beaches are within an easy 5 minute walk and with all beaches in Barbados being public you can walk for hours along the gorgeous west coast, the famous Sandy Lane beach is a short 10 minute walk away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Golden View Apartments Hotel Saint James
Goldenview Condominium Apartments Barbados/Holetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing