We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous evening...............” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spago Restaurant and Bar

Spago Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #18 of 41 Restaurants in Holetown
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: One of 3 locations in St James, this restaurant is located in the heart of historic Holetown; 2nd Street comes to life at night especially at weekends.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous evening...............”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

I visited Spago in Holetown last month with friends, it was a little oasis from the hustle and bustle of 1st and 2nd streets. I found it to be a wonderful Italian Restaurant 'Caribbean style'.The staff where attentive and friendly.I ordered the Penne al Gamberi, it was delicious and reasonably priced. The next time I am on the Island i will definitely go again to sample some of the other delights from their menu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Deeonly68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    220
    104
    52
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Thank You - Best Pina Colada(s)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Thank you for making my birthday celebration a success and accommodating my noisy lot. I was a bit concerned because of the mixed reviews but so glad I followed my instinct. Actually the seafood linguine and pina colada's were as magical as when i visited in June. See you next year

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackielondon_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Awful seafood linguine”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

If you think Spago would be a lovely Italian with warm welcoming staff- think again. The staff were dreadful. Did they want to be there? There was no service at all. One waitress says sit wherever and shrugs her shoulders the other tells you you cannot sit at certain tables eventhough they weren't even reserved.

Then the food arrived. Well the seafood, if you can call it that, were hard and rubbery and I had to struggle to find any. It should have been called olive and caper linguine as it was stacked with these! Dreadful being by the sea one would expect really excellent seafood.

My advise - avoid this place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rubywatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, New York, United States
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Complete disappointment, unconcerned staff.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Second time to Spagos in two years-what a difference a year can make. The service was so slow and almost outright rude. Took over twenty minutes to get waitstaff to our table to get our drink orders to start? We arrived at 6:30pm (and had reservations). This is their opening time and it was not busy, so no excuse for such slow service. Food was ok, not great not really bad. For the price, it was way over the top. Total dinner time was over two hours and had to go to the bar to get the check?? Our waitress was nowhere to be found? I will not give this a third time!! Staff almost makes you feel like you are bothering them to place an order, like you do not belong there. It really felt like they were rolling their eyes with every word we spoke and we were incredibly respectful and polite, and smiling. We sat on the back deck and from the moment we arrived the aroma of cat litter permeated our table. This did not disappear, but we figured it was a fluke. Horribly disappointing. Feels like a different restaurant from last year. We were not alone, as the British couple near us was also disappointed with their service. At one point, they joked that they thought the waitress was going to slap our hands for trying to hand her the wrong fork. Seriously??? It was about $250 US for four people. One bottle of wine (not an expensive one, white), two orders of spaghetti with meatballs, one catch of the day (blue marlin) and one chicken alfredo, one sprite and 4 desserts. We totally don't mind the price, had the meal been outstanding and the service friendly. However, we felt like they didn't want us there and wanted nothing to do with us.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shannon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ok dinner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

The place is one of the better once in Barbados but that doesn't mean its better than 3 stars... Had a pizza and a sallad, both ok. Nice staff.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lill-paulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spago Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Spago Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing