We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved it first time, not so great second visit” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spago Restaurant and Bar

Spago Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #19 of 41 Restaurants in Holetown
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: One of 3 locations in St James, this restaurant is located in the heart of historic Holetown; 2nd Street comes to life at night especially at weekends.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Loved it first time, not so great second visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Both times we went to Spago's we didn't have a reservation, and both times it was busy, but we got a table. The first visit was very good - the pizza and pasta we ordered was very good, and the staff were friendly and welcoming, and nothing was too much trouble. Unfortunately the second time we visited, we ordered a different pasta dish, and a strip loin steak - the meat that was served was very thin and very pale, and in addition, one member of staff was almost rude when we asked to have red wine glasses to drink with, rather than white wine flutes which was apparently the only clean glasses that they appeared to have. Eventually he did wash us a couple of glasses, but had a definite attitude problem - such a contrast to our first visit!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alli D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    219
    104
    52
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Really good pizza & pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

A great little Italian restaurant, serving good food. My pizza was one of the best I've ever tasted, with a lovely thin crispy base, and my wife really enjoyed her pasta. Main courses $30-50BD, so good value too.

The service was very friendly and efficient, and the restaurant has a pleasant ambiance.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank matttScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited the Holetown restaurant. Very friendly staff and decor inside. We had a patio table very nice. Being in the town was different as we have visted many beach restaurants and this had a very good atmosphere. This time of year many restauarants are closed so you do have to look around. Good food and our waitress was superb a real laugh which always makes the place a returnable venue. Quite busy compared with some other restaurants we have visited on this trip. So that tells a story.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jhulke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“If you fancy something different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Somehow after two weeks of fab carribbean food we had a hankering for a pizza and this place really fitted the bill. Sitting in a really lively area, we loved sitting out on the verandah watching the world go by while eating very good italian food, with just a little bit of a bajan edge.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank heather j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Holetown Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent food and great service. Reserve a patio table. Ate here twice and both times had a fabulous time. Guests were lively and the manager did everything we asked of him!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spago Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Spago Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing