We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Italian cuisine not to be missed!”

Spago Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #19 of 42 Restaurants in Holetown
Price range: $25 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: One of 3 locations in St James, this restaurant is located in the heart of historic Holetown; 2nd Street comes to life at night especially at weekends.
Worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Superb Italian cuisine not to be missed!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Spagos was recommended to us and it did not disappoint. Both the pizza and pasta dishes were simply delicious, well presented and with excellent service. Please ignore any of the (few) negative reviews and try it for yourself. The location is good and although the restaurant is small (booking essential after 7.30pm) the ambience is wonderful, our table was on the verandah and by the end of the evening we found ourselves chatting to other diners all of whom had had a similar experience. One Canadian couple had been coming to Barbados for many years and Spagos was their favourite restaurant of all. It's perfect for families with young or older teenage children and couples alike and whilst it won't be the cheapest Italian meal you enjoy it will certainly be one of the best and represented good value. It is worth noting that there are several other restaurants on Holetown's 2nd street, Spagos was certainly the busiest and most popular of all with many people turning up without a booking and unable to have a table. We would definitely return, thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buddyboyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    233
    106
    53
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly service.”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Perfect location in Holetwon. Small , cozy restaurant which can get quite hot and humid unfortunately during the rainy season due to poor a/c and fan installation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Noesurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent value for money too”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

went here several times during our stay. Food was simple and very tasty indeed and excellent value for money. Definitely recommend

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Johnson25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food remains good. Management leaves much to be desired”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Having eaten here a few days earlier, but mid-week, we had a pleasant experience and booked for Saturday night at 1930. On arrival no table was available and there seemed to be disinterest in accommodating us. Eventually a table was prepared, but it took one and a half hours and three chasing ups before we received our food. The Manageress showed no interest in the obvious difficulties afflicting the timely serving of orders - two other tables to our knowledge also queried the delays. We withheld the 10 per cent service charge and told the Manageress so - her attitude was then wholly unacceptable. We slipped the waitress a tip and unfortunately the Manageress saw it and grabbed it off her!! Need we say anymore? Be warned and if things start to go slow / wrong - cut your losses, leave a fair price for the food and drink and leave.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jnybgud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

This place had loads of good reviews so I thought it was worth checking out.

I ordered the Diavolo pizza but it was far too spicy, sprinkled with Chili flakes which left a dry burning sensation on your throat.

My wife ordered a lasagne which was tasty but absolutely tiny, so she was still hungry afterwards.

As usual for Barbados it wasn't cheap, and at these prices the least you should expect is to go home satisfied, but I'm afraid it wasn't to be

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kateandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spago Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 
Holetown, Saint James Parish
Holetown, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Spago Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing