We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real surprise”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erg Chebbi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yasmina Hotel Merzouga
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“A real surprise”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We had a huge 2 storey apartment with a roof top desert view. The rooms are basic, but a lot more impressive than we were expecting. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The location next to the dunes is awesome, it's a long way form anywhere else though so once there there isotherm else to go but that's ok.

From here you can do an overnight into the desert via camel which I highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a roof top terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BSBtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    89
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
29
74
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at a bivouac (tent camp) about an hour's camel ride into the dunes. Absolutely spectacular! Although we were a little late and missed the sunset, it was gorgeous at dusk and we loved watching the sky fill with stars. We got a kick out of the camel ride...our guide (Said) was very nice and even told us some funny "Berber" jokes. We were very pleasantly surprised by how nice the camp was. We had a big dining tent, where we shared a hot dinner with another couple, and a fun campfire performance of Berber drumming and music. There was a bathroom tent (with real toilets and sinks) and we had a sleeping tent complete with electric light, where we snoozed in the peaceful quiet of the desert. We were woken at 6:30 for a camel ride to a crest in the dunes, where we watch an absolutely stunning sunrise before riding back to the hotel for breakfast and a shower. (Note - the desert in December was VERY cold at night...bundle up with hat and gloves.) We loved it.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfan94611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The you staying in Kasbah (or riad) you are trying to feel "spirit of Morroco". Yasmina do not has it, but it has all the rest. You arrive to hotel by 14km long desert road - it can be done by any car (our Hunday I10 done it) with no risk of getting stuck, but the road is full of holes, rock's and etc. If i have been not with rented car i would be affraid to damage my cars suspension:) Kasbah is on the "shore" of dunes and you can see it eating breakfast (good for Morroco standarts) or easily walk on foot (we have done it to see sunset). Kasbah also has pool, that could be nice in summer. It has not the best price per value, but you have to pay to stay so close to dunes. Room is clean, has air conditioning and "ok" in Morrocan standarts. Wifi was not working,but we did not needed it in such view.

P.s. we paid 120 dihram per person for full dinner and later on saw on menu, that price is 100 dihram per full dinner per person. Have a look at menu before paying:)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Zimex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Yasmina is an outstanding place right at the gate to the desert. Take a few steps from the terrace and you can spend a day climbing the dunes!
Stylish and tasteful interior in Moroccan style, absolutely clean. The view from the terrace is breath-taking and a day by the pool is relaxing experience.
The staff is very professional, always helpful, speaking very high level of English.
An oasis amidst the desert! The breakfast was delicious, you can enjoy the coffee overlooking the dunes; a great beginning of a day!
The owner is very professional, fair person to deal with. Also the camel trip we did with Yasmina was amazing.
I definitely recommend this place to add to your pleasant experience from desert!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lenka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Having been at the Yasmina for eleven years running, there must be something wonderful about it. The scenery is magnificent, the hotel itself is like something from a film and the staff are always very helpful and interested in their guests. For me, this is like coming home because I am so well looked after. Trips out into the dunes on camels to sleep under the stars is sheer magic.
My advice to anyone is to just go and lap up the magic.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We cannot praise our experience enough. One regret---we did not stay another night. On arrival from a long road of barren terrain, we were greeted on the terrace with traditional tea BUT not the warm welcome nor the welcome tea can compare with the view from the terrace!! We were literally ON the dunes. You cannot see them as you approach and it was jaw-dropping to walk out and have them right in front of us. It seems most people arrive by tourist vans late afternoon and get right on the camels for the trek to the camp only to leave Yasmina after morning return without ever enjoying the kasbah at all. Yes, the accommodations do not have the luxury of turn-down service or flat screen tv but the opportunity to step down the terrace stairs onto the dunes at sunset was luxury for us. We had dinner for 2 on the terrace--the best meal of beef tenderloin brochette and kefta--and then another amazing thing--a full moon. Youssef (the owner) told us to watch the totally dark dunes. As the full moon passed overhead, the dunes were illuminated. It was a once in a lifetime experience. Then we arose early a.m. and in the dark--armed with flashlight--walked silently onto the dunes for sunrise. Wow. That night we nervously rode our camels to camp as 2 solo visitors unlike the tour group who went together to another camp. As Americans, we speak no Berber but a little French. Our camel driver, Said, and camp host, Mustafa, spoke Berber, some French and little English. This could have been a tense evening but in the end, we were chatting, laughing and playing drums until listening to Berber songs accompanied by drum and guitar until bedtime.
We were awakened in the morning to climb the dunes for sunrise. We were the only 2 people there. N-S-E-W....just us. It was the most remarkable experience ever. You realize your size and place in the universe. When we returned to Yasmina for fresh-up and breakfast we did not want to leave and but stay to again relax and enjoy the refreshing pool.
If you are going to go for a camel trek in Merzouga, you would do yourself a favor to spend at least the day before your trek and enjoy sunset, dinner and sunrise from the terrace (or on the dunes) at the Yasmina. We cannot say enough wonderful things about the accomodations.
A 'big' choukran to Youssef and his staff--especially Mohammed and Said and Mustafa ( great welcome of trees at the camp) and to ...Fatima the magical chef (the best dinner and delicious sweets at breakfast). We will always remember you and our visit to Erg Chebbi.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
201 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

After succoming to Morocco belly I was not looking forward to a camel ride to a desert camp. The option of a superior room in the Yasmina hotel was irresistable. The tradional mid brick architecture gave some authenticity to the experience. The room was large, sparcely but comfortably furnished. I had the best sleep for some nights in a comfortable bed. Good airconditioning quickly brought the temperature to a comfortable level. The bathroom with separate toilet, vanity basin area and shower was well equiped and worked well. Steps led up to a roof top terrace with view out over the terrace. A swim in the swimming pool in the courtyard was bliss. We had an excellent five course banquet on a terrace looking out over the dunes later in the evening. Dont expect an international five star hotel, but the whole experience is right up there.

Room Tip: Ask for a superior room- it is well worth the very modest expense.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erg Chebbi
6.1 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou
#1 of 1 in Erg Chebbi
267 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
519 reviews
5.2 mi away
Nasser Palace Hotel & Bivouacs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#15 of 22 in Merzouga
139 reviews
11.5 mi away
Hotel Nomad Palace
Hotel Nomad Palace
#5 of 22 in Merzouga
492 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#9 of 22 in Merzouga
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yasmina Hotel Merzouga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yasmina Hotel Merzouga

Property: Yasmina Hotel Merzouga
Address: Erg Chebbi 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Erg Chebbi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Erg Chebbi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For leisure, business or party, Hotel Yasmina offer you choice and fantasy quality in the real Sahara Desert! Hotel Yasmina celebrates its new rebuild hotel facilities in order to provide the best conditions for its clients combining both the Saharan ambiance and clean comfortable accommodations. Kasbah Yasmina Hotel offer great lodging while in South Morocco in Erg Chebbi Dunes - Merzouga. With excellent ambiance, camping and car parking facilities, our hotel is ideal venues for pleasure, family vacation, short breaks, offering high standards of accommodation and service within Sahara desert. Yasmina is located right on the bottom of the dunes of Erg Chebbi, more precisely in "ras al-erg" which means in the head of the dunes, the dunes of Erg Chebbi. Yasmina has one of the best views for the dunes, as it is settled on the top a a hill, surrounded by a lake and sand dunes. The best spot in Merzouga. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing