We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right on the edge of the desert” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Yasmina Hotel Merzouga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Erg Chebbi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yasmina Hotel Merzouga
Certificate of Excellence
NSW
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Right on the edge of the desert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

I spent the night of my 50th birthday here. A sunset camel ride (though we didn't quite make it to sunset as we could see a storm coming) for the big day. We made it back just in time. As we dismounted the sandstorm hit full force and the sand and rain came barrelling in. The hotel itself though was pretty good. We took advantage of the pool in the hot afternoon, which was very refreshing. The staff were great (maybe because our tour guide knew them?) After dinner a few of the staff brought out the drums and we had an impromptu music session, along with an Arabic birthday cake. A great way to celebrate the big day! As far as the room goes, very comfortable and spacious, but a few minor things...our shower head was completely busted, so had to pretty much shower with a hose. And...I could feel sand on the floor when I was barefoot (before we had been out in the desert), so probably not the most thorough in the housekeeping department. Considering the location though, sand is inevitable so I wasn't too fussed.

Room Tip: They seemed to all be pretty similar. We were just near the pool, which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    85
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
28
73
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Creazzo, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We had no reservations and stopped at this hotel thinking it was a different hotel altogether but we were so glad we did. The pool was perfect our room was comfortable and clean. We arrived very early in the morning but were accommodated with a room until it was time for the desert trek. The grounds were lovely..my only regret is we couldn't stay an extra few days.. We were asked throughout the day if everything was okay and if we needed anything. The overnight in the Sahara was amazing as well...toilets! The camp is a private camp and the bed and food were good! We loved the hotel and the experience provided!

Room Tip: Poolside is best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brndyss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

Wonderful place in amazing location. Good food (no alcohol), comfortable beds, air conditioning at times, spotless bathroom. Sand dunes begin right outside the door. Attentive staff always helpful. Nice swiming pool with loungers. Camels and bedouin camps. Entertainment - drumming and dancing. Excellent birds, Catalan group ring birds everyday and will show you what they've caught.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterM98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

This was my second stay at Yasmina, and just as good as the first a few years ago. The hotel is not the simplest to get to, down 14km of corrugated dirt road - but still no problem in a regular vehicle, 4WD not required. On arrival, the staff are fantastically friendly and helpful, for instance they cooked us a delicious evening meal even when we arrived late without a booking. And the view of the dunes from the terrace over breakfast is simply stunning!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erfoud, Morocco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Wonderful place to stay in :) !!!!! Excellent hotel close to the sand dunes ! It's a very quite place where you can enjoy your self walking in the sand dunes and do a camel trek also ! the thing makes this place so pretty nice is a lake , and it's a place for Birds' watching too .

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Welovedesert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Kasbah Hotel Yasmina ist an excellent hotel right at the nothern end of the sand dune of Erg Chebbi. Therefore it is very quiet and lonely being far enough from the meanwhile somehow crowded Merzouga. The standard is very high and the rooms are tastefully furnished (sink with fossilesfrom Erfoud etc.) but the prices are reasonable. The food was delicious, the staff is very friendly and helpful. Everybody aims to make your stay in the desert a success. They know every place in that area and gave uns excellent recommendations even for non-standard-requests like birdwatching. As the hotel is close to the Yasmina salt lake it is anyway an excellent initial point for birdwatchers (for special trip wishes ask in advance). Also the sand dunes can be climbed alone in a short time for sun set ans sun rise. Even without 4x4 you can reach Yasmina hotel if someone shows you the way through sand drifts. The perfect hotel for all who people searching for an relaxing desert feeling at high standard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Nice clean room with very ornate ceiling. Shower worked and was hot, food very good and plentiful. Did not use the pool or the fitness areas but the pool looked very inviting. The worst part was the very long road which is badly rutted and is a real bone shaker for 14K

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Erg Chebbi
5.9 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
Hotel Kasbah Mohayut
#1 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
6.1 mi away
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou
#1 of 1 in Erg Chebbi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
4.3 mi away
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
Kasbah Erg Chebbi
#13 of 22 in Merzouga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal
#12 of 22 in Merzouga
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Rose du sable
La Rose du sable
#2 of 3 in Ait Ben Haddou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
9.1 mi away
Ali & Sara's Desert Palace
Ali & Sara's Desert Palace
#2 of 8 in Erg Chebbi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yasmina Hotel Merzouga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yasmina Hotel Merzouga

Property: Yasmina Hotel Merzouga
Address: Erg Chebbi 52202, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Erg Chebbi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Erg Chebbi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For leisure, business or party, Hotel Yasmina offer you choice and fantasy quality in the real Sahara Desert! Hotel Yasmina celebrates its new rebuild hotel facilities in order to provide the best conditions for its clients combining both the Saharan ambiance and clean comfortable accommodations. Kasbah Yasmina Hotel offer great lodging while in South Morocco in Erg Chebbi Dunes - Merzouga. With excellent ambiance, camping and car parking facilities, our hotel is ideal venues for pleasure, family vacation, short breaks, offering high standards of accommodation and service within Sahara desert. Yasmina is located right on the bottom of the dunes of Erg Chebbi, more precisely in "ras al-erg" which means in the head of the dunes, the dunes of Erg Chebbi. Yasmina has one of the best views for the dunes, as it is settled on the top a a hill, surrounded by a lake and sand dunes. The best spot in Merzouga. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing