We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yasmina Hotel Merzouga
Nearby Hotels
Kasbah Hotel Tombouctou(Erg Chebbi)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haven La Chance Desert Hotel(Hassilabied)(Great Value!)
$59
$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Kasbah Kanz Erremal(Merzouga)(Great Value!)
$611
$546
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Auberge Takojt(Merzouga)
$34
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ksar Bicha(Merzouga)
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Azawad(Merzouga)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (245)
Filter reviews
245 results
Traveler rating
116
97
20
9
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
116
97
20
9
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssand dunescamel ridethe hotel offerstaginegreat swimming pooldonutstour grouplocker roomsleeping bagg adventures tourcooked dinnerdesert camprunning waterwarm blanketsyoung peopleguide driverwater pressure
Filter
Updating list...
102 - 107 of 245 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2012

We booked our 4 day trip with driver through Fleewinter, who were excellent, they booked us into the Yasmina, what this actually means is that you are taken there and booked onto their camel trek into the sand dunes and a night in the berber camp, so our luggage was left in our driver's car and we took a small bag into the desert.

We arrived at the Yasmina with a couple of hours to spare before the camel trek, we had some food, which was average and looked at the pool which was less than clean and not very inviting, no big deal, we were looking forward to our desert adventure. It was amazing, we travelled as a couple but there were 2 guys also doing the trip with us, so four of us and our desert guide, the camel trek was hilarious and the dunes have to be seen to be believed. The berber camp was fantastic, couldn't believe how lovely it was, rugs everywhere and each tent had a mattrass with sheets and blankets, very comfortable and oh so quiet. We were cooked dinner (another tagine!!!) and then a campfire was lit and the two Moroccan guys got the drums out which was great. The stars were so bright, it was probably our most memorable night of the holiday and worth all the hours spent in the car (which at the time did seem too much, despite having one night on the way and one night on the way back). We were woken in the morning at 5.30 so we could watch the sun rise and then back on the camels for the ride back to the Yasmina. We would have loved a shower, but we didn't fancy the showers that were on offer and no one had shown us where to get towels and we discovered too late that there was another shower block that was ok. Breakfast was the usual selection of pancakes, bread etc which we had on the terrace.

If you're thinking of doing this trip but worried about the travel, just do it, it's amazing, but don't stay at the Yasmina, its not that great and there are other place on the way which break up your journey.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magnoliasunday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights next to the impressive sand dunes of Erhg Chebbi. We where impressed by how the hotel was run. The owner made up a special desert trip for us birdwatchers whitch made it possible for us to see the more difficult desert species including Houbara´s bustard and Tawny eagle! For not birders there is also lots of options to do camelrides etc. The food was exellent with several dishes to choose from in the buffet. We had a flat tyre in the desert and Yossef said that we should not worry about that. The staff is hjust amazing and really cares about your stay. Highly recommended! Mats Dahlén and Peter Kuiper from Sweden

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mats D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We spent one night in a nice and big room in the hotel before we camped out two nights in the desert. This is our first time staying in a hotel in the desert. So we had nothing to compare to. We didn't expect much and were actually impressed by the facilities out there.

The next evening we set out on our camel ride to what we were told as the 'luxurious' camp equipped with flush-toilets. Again, we were impressed that there really was a tent that was set up with sinks and flush-toilets with running water! There was a small piece of soap for us to wash our hands. After reading previous reviewer's bad experience with the food and unhygienic staff, I guess we were lucky that we didn't get sick from eating dinner and breakfast there. Inside the sleeping tents, there were lights and good mattresses with 3 thick blankets for each bed to keep warm.

Guess we didn't realize that truly was a luxury Berber camp till the 3rd night when we stayed with the nomads. It was a unique experience that may not be for everyone. If you really want to get the nomads experience, you should try it at least once. But if you must have a certain level of comfort/hygienic standards, you may not want to spend the night there. Just make a stop and visit. Many people did that.

After camping out for 2 nights without shower, we were very glad that there was a big WC by the side of the hotel with multiple individual shower rooms and toilet rooms for a nice hot shower! The hotel provided towels, soaps, and shampoo, which was nice.

So, overall, we were treated pretty well there and did not get sick. Don't know how much that has to do with our Moroccan tour guide/driver (Hamid from Zebra Adventures / Morocco Expert Tour) who brought us there. He seems to know the owner and the staff well there, and he always make sure that food was cleaned with good water for us. He bought us plenty of bottled water for us to take on the camel ride for our two days in the desert.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Becky0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Last week we spent three nights in the most beautiful place I have ever seen. Hotel Yasmina is a gem in the Sahara desert. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. The staff were helpful and friendly.They sorted out the camel trips and the trip of the desert. We got stuck in a sandstorm on camels but the staff served us a delicious meal when we returned and made us feel at home. The meals were delicious and yet inexpensive. There is a beautiful pool in the hotel. We hope to return some day to this beautiful gem in the desert !

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fioden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Having just gotten back from Yasmina, I wonder why I left at all. The people were wonderful, the place was filled with beauty and awe and it was still possible to have a budget holiday. I am extremely happy with everything I experienced. We even got stuck in a sandstorm on camels, but it was amazing. No complaints, just memories that I will have forever!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CiaraBell7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews