We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of The Stables Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Stables Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Lamesley B&B and Inns
Durham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Wonderful spacious room, with its own sauna. The owners wonderfully hospitable. Felt at home immediately. Although it is very quiet and rural, it's only a few miles out of the city. Will definitely stay again next time we're in the Newcastle area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeandJu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
92
1
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Both Janet and Gary were fantastic hosts, very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The Red room was stunning and immaculate, with everything we could possibly want. Based on Janet’s advice, we decided to order take-away and stay in, rather then travel into Newcastle - so glad we did. The spa bath was CG’s favourite feature – she spent ages in it, I had difficulty convincing her to get out! There was a great choice for breakfast, the Light English in particular was scrumptious. If you visit the area, we would highly recommend booking there.

Thanks for the wonderful stay!

The Scientist & Calamity Girl ☺

Room Tip: Book directly rather then online, might get an additional offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at the stables lodge for 1 night in The Garden Room.we were greeted by the wonderful hosts Janet and Gary who were very welcoming.The accommodation was gorgeous,spacious and had everything we needed,A very relaxing stay indeed with the hot-tub was great.The whole place was really nice and we will be going back again,would loved to stayed for longer.we would highly recommend this place to anyone 5* luxury and more.

Room Tip: The garden room has the hot-tub in its own outside room across the garden,we also had a look at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed the 1 night and couldn't fault it. Janet is a very caring host and nothing is to much trouble, a very warm welcome. I stayed in the garden room which was very clean and comfortable. Excellent choice of tea, coffee, hot chocolate in the room. The breakfast menu was perfect! I'm looking forward to my next trip to NC, definitely will be returning to this B&B

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed for one night here on business. I met the owner and he was very friendly and offered to help with any thing if needed. It was not needed, the room I stayed in was extremely high spec with Molton Brown products a plenty !! The idea of the hot tub is very unique and all the guest areas are of a very high standard. The breakfast area is great and the breakfast itself was perfect. I would definitely stay here again when in this area, no question. All the essence of a 5* hotel in private surroundings.

Room Tip: I think from the short tour I was given that all rooms are of a very high standard....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The stables lodge is most definitely the best b&b we have ever been to.

We visited for two nights in February 2012 for our anniversary & stayed in the Garden room.
The garden room is a really beautiful and romantic room to stay in & well worth the price! You get private use of the hot tub which in February, was much needed! The room comes with sky tv and a great selection of DVDs, as well as tea and coffee making facilities & lovely shower essentials.

The breakfasts each morning were beautifully homemade and set us up for the day.

Janet and Gary were a lovely couple who couldn't do any more for you - provided us with enjoyable conversation and tips on where to go around the surrounding area :) although we drove, Janet and Gary will provide you with a menu for a lovely country pub within walking distance.

We will be returning ASAP!

Love Sian and matthew.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, Lincs, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed overnight at The Stables in the Tartan Room before collecting our son from Northumbria Uni the next day. Never have we been greeted by such a warm welcome. Janet was lovely and nothing was too much trouble. We were delighted by the array of teas, coffees, (including cafetiere) and hot chocolate in the room along with biscuits and toffees. Janet provided fresh milk to have in the hot drinks. There was also a mini fridge with 2 bottles of water. The room was spacious and had an ensuite. The menu for breakfast is the best we have ever come across; so much choice and all freshly cooked. I had baked apple with red berries and yogurt - divine, followed by croissants and pain au chocolate. Perfect location for visiting Newcastle and the surrounding area without being in the city. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: Any room would be fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louthgrays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamesley
1.6 mi away
Eslington Villa
Eslington Villa
#2 of 20 in Gateshead
343 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ravensworth Arms
Ravensworth Arms
#12 of 20 in Gateshead
459 reviews
4.6 mi away
Lumley Castle Hotel
Lumley Castle Hotel
#5 of 19 in Durham
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
268 reviews
0.8 mi away
Angel View Inn
Angel View Inn
#13 of 20 in Gateshead
276 reviews
3.1 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stables Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stables Lodge

Property: The Stables Lodge
Address: South Farm, Lamesley NE11 0ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Lamesley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lamesley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
The Stables Hotel Lamesley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing