We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kongsfjord Gjestehus
Nearby Hotels
Kirkenes Hotel(Kirkenes)
$106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$128
$123
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$123
ScandicHotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveler rating
103
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnorthern lightsking crabtwo nightsguest house isout of this worldnext morningnorthern norwaycouple of nightsdining roomviews are spectacularwonderful stayguesthousepeninsulanaturekirkenesatmospherearctic
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 105 reviews
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights from 19th February 2013 although it ended up as three due to the fact that the Hurtigruten was unable to dock due to the weather . The hosts were excellent as was the food and best of all the views of the Northern Lights . Because we were unable to get the boat on thursday evening the hosts sorted out flights for us the next morning to Kirkenes which was actually better than getting back on the boat . We went snowshoeing twice with the guide who was also very good and kept us entertained . If you like being out in the middle of nowhere then stay here .

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwindonGooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent two nights here as part of an Inn travel package and the location is fantastic. Our room was probably one of the better ones with two single beds and a sitting area. Whilst there we took a 'Glass engraving workshop' run by two Italians who have moved to this remote part of the world and is a great way to spend a winter afternoon. We also had some fantastic walks in the mornings, straight from the guesthouse. We were rewarded by some stunning displays of the northern lights and could shelter between the buildings from the bitter winds. A much better way to see the lights from long treks into the wilderness. We popped out between courses of our evening meal and warmed up in between. It is a stunning location at any time of year.

Room Tip: I think we stayed in Erling, good choice-upstairs room across from reception, in separate house All rooms quiet
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivienneSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We echo all the other good reviews of this lovely guesthouse. We spent 2 days there between Hurtigruten trips and found the hospitality, food, setting and general care second to none. Most of all - given that the temperature was around minus 20 outside - it was lovely and warm!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank theF0sters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What a stunning place to stay. The most magnificent views, fantastic food (lunch and dinner are amazing), and friendly staff. I'm 100% certain that the guys on the Hurtigruten haven't stayed here because if they had they wouldn't be so clueless.

The staff were always helpful and very flexible. They provided us with snowshoes + other equipment to keep us walm and above the thick snow on our miniadventures up the mountain (road, leading to a great viewpoint) and we've captured some incredible photos.

I couldn't speak higher of the staff and the location. Outside its nature at its back, stripped back to the stress free ways we lived many many years ago and inside its warm and cosy. A brilliant stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blake1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

this guesthouse was absolutely fantastic! we were asked by a member of staff on the hurtigruten why on earth were we going there, which made me very nervous (i understand this has happened before!) and so i was quite aprehensive about going. but the reviews on here do not lie... the place is gorgeous!
we were picked up as promised and taken to the guesthouse... a lovely secluded area! We were on honeymoon and the fact that it wasnt busy or crowded and you were back to nature was fantastic! we were supposed to be there two nights but on the last day we were informed by our travel company that the hurtigruten had a technical fault and wouldnt be coming for us that night... i was so happy to be spending another night at kongsfjord!
margarite was amazing! so friendly and helpful! she made some of the most incredible food i have ever tasted and nothing seemed too much trouble for her. She even made us a thermos of tea for us to take on our walks!
thankyou so much to margarite for making our stay so special!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gemmafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews