We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Find”
other travelers have booked this property
Rose Cottage frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage frontage
Rose Cottage from the other end Front elevation of kitchen and dining room - sitting room is to the left
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Rose Cottage frontage
Rose Cottage from the other end
Front elevation of kitchen and dining room - sitting room is to the left
View from the car park
Wood store and patio doors
Patio and decking areas
Showing covered oak pergola and sitting area, perfect for outdoor dining
Another angle of patio and barbecue area
The summer house, with three piece suite
Sitting room with inglenook and wood burner
Another angle of sitting room
And again!
Kitchen with Range Master cooking range
View of sitting area in dining room (sofas now changed including a recliner; new photo to follow)
Dining area
Another angle showing patio doors
Stairwell
King size bedroom number 1
Another view
And again
King size bedroom number 2
Another view
Wet-room including WC and sink
Walking along the railway line from Knapton to North Walsham
Walking down to the beach
Keep up!!
Mundesley Ship Inn, good food and ale!!
The Ship Inn garden in summer
View out to sea from the Ship Inn
View from the Ship garden to the beach
From the Ship to the sea!
Winter in Mundesley
Donkeys overlooking picturesque Mundesley from the cliff walk
Lizzie and Mundesley from the cliff walk; out for a stroll, and a pint at the Ship Inn on the way!
The cool and shady railway walk, leading to Pigney Wood, a nature reserve, and the Dilham Canal
Fabulous parkland view from the railway walk, sheep in the foreground - perfect!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mundesley, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Tina M
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find”
Reviewed June 18, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is a real home from home. Comfortable and well equipped.You have sky TV and Wi-Fi.The sitting room, leading out to the courtyard garden was my favourite. Very light and airy. The garden area was ample with paving,decking, table and chairs,raised flower beds and trees. My little dog would not use it as he prefers grass but there is a good sized playing field just behind the cottage for morning and evening "Visits" but we were out exploring every day. The 2 king-sized beds are very comfortable. The beach at nearby Mundesley is vast and sandy. Perfect for families. It's quite a steep descent but there is a slope. However, if you have dogs you are only allowed either side of the promenade and beach huts.Check the high tide times as we couldn't access the dog part until the tide was turning. A must for dog owners is Felbrigg Hall. Although stick to the woods if you like to let your dogs run off lead as the walk to the church and lake is through fields of sheep and cows. The cafe is in a beautiful courtyard setting. We were lucky to be able to sit outside. Dogs are welcome inside too! If you don't want to cook there are plenty places nearby. The Ship pub was excellent.Again dog friendly as is the little corner cafe.The village chippy near the hotel was the best fish and chips I've tasted. Leaves Aldeburgh's standing!We used the Chinese in Bacton for a takeaway delicious. Wroxham barns has a little farm area and fair rides. Great for the little ones.The Bure railway from Aylsham to Wroxham was not great. It's little carriages not a full sized steam train like Sherringham so ok for children but hard on the old bones and view is somewhat restricted as it's so low to the ground.The boat trip on the Broads from Wroxham was lovely. Dogs welcome. I will definitely be going back to Rose cottage. It has everything you need and is in a great position. You can park at the front but this is on the road so you may prefer to use the car park at the back(or front as that's where the front door is). Excellent cottage. Thanks Graham.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2018
Thanks for your positive review! We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!"
We think it is very comfortably furnished, with loads of homely bits and pieces, giving guests, we think, a "home from home" experience! We are happy that, so far, all guests seem to have loved staying here, and have given us 4 - 5-stars!! Thank you, guests!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Go671373
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well equipped, large friendly cottage”
Reviewed May 29, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

This is a very well equipped, luxurious cottage in the village of Gimmingham. Suitable for dog owners with a secure walled garden. Beaches within about 10 minutes drive. I would not hesitate to recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2018
Thanks for your positive review! We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!"
We think it is very comfortably furnished, with loads of homely bits and pieces, giving guests, we think, a "home from home" experience! We are happy that, so far, all guests seem to have loved staying here, and have given us 4 - 5-stars!! Thank you, guests!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TractorMi...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday cottage”
Reviewed May 13, 2017 for a stay in May 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Took a weeks last min brake to Norfolk early may 2017 found the cottage online, the owners are more than helpful with a good amount of local info ready for us. As for rose cottage the rooms are large and well equipped kitchen is new and to a good standard the sun room and garden nice and large we took two labor dogs and they had plenty of room the best room downstairs has to be the lounge with its wood burning stove a real nice homley touch upstairs the two large bed rooms with king size beds really comfortable to the wet room works well. The property is in an ideal location to visit most of north Norfolk, the beach at mundesley was fantastic for the dog cromer with in easy reach loved the week's holiday and the cottage made it that little bit more special

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 25, 2018
Thanks for your positive review! We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!"
We think it is very comfortably furnished, with loads of homely bits and pieces, giving guests, we think, a "home from home" experience! We are happy that, so far, all guests seem to have loved staying here, and have given us 4 - 5-stars!! Thank you, guests!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve M
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage”
Reviewed April 14, 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Rose Cottage was a great stay. Two spacious bedrooms, an enclosed garden, a fully fitted kitchen all made this a wonderful stay. A few remarks about non-working ammeneties - lights, oven, heated towel rail, air defuser etc. were slightly irritating but on the whole a great place to stay. It is a long, long walk to Mundsley though and there's nothing around the cottage so come prepared for a lot of eating in - we did and loved it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 30, 2017
Hi Steve
I'm glad you enjoyed your time in Rose Cottage!
With regard to the oven, as it is a large, gas powered RangeMaster range, it has two ovens. Unfortunately one of the ovens only works on low setting, because of a faulty part. We are unable to locate a spare for it, so it can only be used for slow cooking, or for keeping food warm; but the other oven works perfectly well. If we replaced the range, we would put a standard cooker there which would have one oven, so because of the other benefits of the range, we decided to keep it. This is why we have clearly stated this in the cottage instructions.
With regard to the heated towel rails, both work perfectly. One of them is on a timer which is switched on in the dressing room, as clearly stated in the instructions. The other is fed from the central heating system.
Regarding the air diffuser, by which I assume you are referring to the extractor in the bathroom, this is operated by an isolation switch which is outside the bathroom. Again, this is working perfectly.
I have found one table lamp that is not working, and have traced it to one half of a double socket which is faulty. The other half works. I am repairing this.
Best wishes
Graham
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watton, United Kingdom
Reviewed March 1, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Mar 4, 2017
Thanks for your positive review! We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
adrkmr
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage with a really homely feel.”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Lovely warm cottage, with a very well equipped dining kitchen, two large double bedrooms and two lounge areas. It feels like you are staying in someone’s home, rather than a rental property.

We travelled as a group of 3 forty-something friends, 2 spaniels and a teenage daughter, planning to have lots of nice walks and sightseeing each day and then spend cosy evenings in, chatting and eating dinner. Rose Cottage fitted the bill for this exactly however there are a couple of things that we were not expecting.

Firstly the cottage is in Gimmingham, not Mundesley, and although is advertised as being 20 minutes walk from the beach is actually nearer to a 45 minutes (brisk) walk.
Secondly the description also says that the village of Trunch is easily walkable to get to the shop and pub, but the lanes are very narrow with no verges and so are totally unsuitable for walking with children or dogs or in the dark. During our stay the lanes were also very busy with huge agricultural machinery. Basically it means that you have to drive everywhere, as there is nothing at all near by.

Teenager reported that the Wifi was intermittent, and no Sky TV channels were available, so that was also something that we had not expected, as if its advertised I feel that it should be available and useable.

Overall we had a great time in a lovely cottage which has been thoughtfully equipped, but a more careful description on Holiday Lettings would have managed our expectations better.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very homely
Liked least: Location
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2016
Thank you for your review!
As this is our main home for half of the year, it is very comfortably furnished, with loads of homely bits and pieces, giving guests, we think, a "home from home" experience !
I am investigating the WiFi, although we have had no previous comments. Perhaps BT were having a rough time!!
I also realised that the link to Sky has not yet been made, so have changed the description to FreeSat. Sky will be available within the month!
I have also changed the main location as Gimingham. TripAdvisor had automatically put it as Mundesley!!
As for the walk, I shall amend; a "gestimate" was originally made!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose S
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Had a great holiday.”
Reviewed September 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottage was lovely just a little outside Mundesley ,but very nice .Just the right place for traveling around Norfolk

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 24, 2016
Thanks for your positive review! We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing