We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Like a Tardis!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
Rose Cottage frontage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage frontage
Rose Cottage from the other end Front elevation of kitchen and dining room - sitting room is to the left
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Rose Cottage frontage
Rose Cottage from the other end
Front elevation of kitchen and dining room - sitting room is to the left
View from the car park
Wood store and patio doors
Patio and decking areas
Showing covered oak pergola and sitting area, perfect for outdoor dining
Another angle of patio and barbecue area
The summer house, with three piece suite
Sitting room with inglenook and wood burner
Another angle of sitting room
And again!
Kitchen with Range Master cooking range
View of sitting area in dining room (sofas now changed including a recliner; new photo to follow)
Dining area
Another angle showing patio doors
Stairwell
King size bedroom number 1
Another view
And again
King size bedroom number 2
Another view
Wet-room including WC and sink
Walking along the railway line from Knapton to North Walsham
Walking down to the beach
Keep up!!
Mundesley Ship Inn, good food and ale!!
The Ship Inn garden in summer
View out to sea from the Ship Inn
View from the Ship garden to the beach
From the Ship to the sea!
Winter in Mundesley
Donkeys overlooking picturesque Mundesley from the cliff walk
Lizzie and Mundesley from the cliff walk; out for a stroll, and a pint at the Ship Inn on the way!
The cool and shady railway walk, leading to Pigney Wood, a nature reserve, and the Dilham Canal
Fabulous parkland view from the railway walk, sheep in the foreground - perfect!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Mundesley, Norfolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kimberley...
Northamptonshire UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Like a Tardis!!!”
Reviewed February 29, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is a hidden gem!! Firstly let me say the photos do not do the cottage justice. When we walked in I was amazed at how big all the rooms were!! The cottage has been modernised to a very high standard and in a sympathetic manner, all the internal doors are of the latch variety for instance.
The cottage is lovely and warm, despite the easterly wind blowing for the last couple of days of our stay. The oil fired heating is quick and efficient and the wood burner is superb if you require more heat!!
The kitchen is a really good size and well equipped with all that you might need, even down to a slow cooker. The cooker is huge and is great to work with. The end room is lovely and quiet, and I imagine that during the summer months would be lovely to sit in with the patio doors open in the evenings. The two bedrooms are a great size and are very sunny. The beds are very comfortable (we tried both!!) and there are huge wardrobes with loads of coathangers. Plenty of drawer space too and the dressing room is a bonus with more drawers and a dressing table.
The cottage was lovely and clean when we arrived and the heating was on so it was very welcoming. There is a book on the coffee table with information about the cottage (heating, wifi etc) as well as contact numbers, local attractions etc.

The cottage is well equipped throughout and the wifi is good. Phone signal (O2 and EE) were both good throughout the cottage. Basic Sky package is available and nice big TV ! There is a washing machine in the downstairs cloakroom, and washing line and pegs are available.

We did not use the garden as we visited in the coldest months, however there is a lovely summer house and deck area which I imagine would be lovely in the summer.

We brought our dog with us, who loved the walks in the area. One local beach is open to dogs all year round, Mundesley and Overstrand beaches have a no dog policy from Easter to October.
There is adequate parking for two cars at the front of the cottage and there is a car park behind if you do not want to leave your car on the side of the road. The views from the bedrooms are great, even a windmill in the distance (which is open to visitors).

The village of Gimingham does not have any shop or pub, but there are local shops in Mundesley which is about 3 miles away. (Post office, butchers, fish and chips X2, 3 pubs all of which serve food).

Overall this is a lovely cottage, I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warmth, cosiness, comfort, cleanliness, equipment
Liked least: Only the shower, but that's me being REALLY picky!!!!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 29, 2016
Well!! Thanks for the stunning review!! For those potential guests who read this, it is a real review, and no money passed hands!!
Of course, the review is correct in every detail...what did you expect me to say?
Thanks Kim!! See you next year!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mr christ...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very comfortable and a well positioned cottage for walks and well earned rest”
Reviewed December 3, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

we have just had a lovely few days in this cosy cottage, i was surprised at how spacious it was, lovely inglenook fire place, everything you could possible want in kitchen.The weather didnt stop us going out for dog walks on beach, bit of a trek to get there over the fields etc found it easier just to take car. The Ship inn became our local very friendly and good food with dogs welcome
The only downfall was it is very dark at night no street lights, so wouldnt advise walking to pub along country lanes as no paths.
Well worth a visit

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cosy cottage and comfy beds
Liked least: couldnt walk any where at night but this was in november and very dark, no street lights
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2016
Thanks for your positive review! We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon B
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable week”
Reviewed October 3, 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you for letting us stay in your lovely cottage. We have just got back from a wonderful week staying at Rose Cottage with our two dogs. The cottage had everything we needed and more it was clean comfortable and plenty of room, the dressing room was a bonus as well as a comfortable bed. We highly recommend your Cottage. This was our first stay at Rose Cottage and we will defiantly be back especially as there is so much to see and do in the area, one week is not enough. There are plenty of dog friendly places to visit including the beaches.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 25, 2016
Thanks for your positive review! We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mbond132
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Simply Superb”
Reviewed September 15, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We rented Graham's previous property in the same location earlier this year and loved the area so much, we were so pleased to hear they were continuing to rent to holidaymakers, despite moving.
My wife and I travelled with her mum and our 2 Beagles to stay here for a week. Wow! Rose Cottage is amazing. It is easy to find and there is parking at the front and rear of the property. One word of advice - if you park at the rear, make sure you park between the white lines. The locals will be watching, lol!
The property is just as shown in the photos. These are not enhanced in any way. The garden is fully enclosed and both gates can be secured with bolts. The wall is high enough to stop the dogs from jumping over! There is a decked area and a summer house for the 2 legged visitors and enough space to wander with 4 legs! If they are fussy about where to 'go', then there is a small playing field literally 2 minutes away to the rear of the cottage.
Downstairs there is the lounge with the log burner and huge TV and a coupe of comfy sofas and a second sitting room that leads out to the decking area. The kitchen is certainly larger enough and well equipped. There is a downstairs loo, which is handy!
Upstairs there are 2 large double rooms and the master even has a dressing area! The wet room is well equipped, too.
The area is so quiet. The location is superb for Trimingham Beach (ideal for the dogs, as there are no restrictions), for Mundelsey itself and for woodland walks, such as Bacton Woods and Pigneys Wood.
A week was not long enough!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet, relaxing location. Secure Garden.
Liked least: Coming home
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2015
Thanks again for a very positive review. We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise592
Luton
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Blooming marvellous!”
Reviewed September 10, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Just spent a week at this hotel and I have to say it was perfect. Spacious but homely. Excellent for my daughters small dogs as they were very safe and secure in the garden. I would definitely return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage has everything I needed.
Liked least: Bed was a bit soft but that's just me.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 11, 2015
Thank you for a very positive review. We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abigail W
Dunstable, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed September 7, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

I have just come home after spending a week in this cottage and I am gutted to be home.

I spent the week in the cottage with my Fiancé, our 2 dogs and my mother and father.

We have family who live close by who suggested this as a place to stay for a week away, and what an amazing week it was!

The cottage is very spacious, 2 double bedrooms, 2 living areas, a large kitchen, large bathroom and downstairs toilet.
The garden is spacious and very well enclosed, meaning my little Jack Russell had no chance of escaping!

The weather wasn't great whilst we were there, which is a shame, but couldn't be helped!

Its not too far from Wells next the sea, Trimingham, Mundesley, Cromer etc so there are plenty of places to go, and most are dog friendly!

I hale already recommended this place to colleague and will hopefully be returning in the near future

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: The mattress (my own fault, because our bed at home is very comfortable)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Thank you for a very positive review. We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HBBEDS
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Lovely dog friendly cottage”
Reviewed August 25, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We spent a lovely week in this cottage. It was far bigger than we had anticipated, despite just having the 2 bedrooms, which were both of a really good size. The lounge was also a good size with a log burner which would have been great in the winter, and on the other side of the well equipped and spacious kitchen there was a further reception room / dining area / reading room which leads out onto a lovely enclosed patio and decked area which, getting the sunshine all day was a real sun trap. Everything was spotlessly clean? The beds were comfy with plenty of storage (one bedroom had it's own dressing area!) and being equipped with a washing machine and dishwasher really helped. All in all it was a pleasure to stay in.

Location wise it was great. It took us 45 mins to walk to Mundesley (we couldn't find the track advised in the welcome book, just before the church, but found another by walking past the fishing lake and just after, on the opposit side of the road taking a signposted route next to Martha's Cottage). It was a fairly easy walk with a couple of stiles.

Being located off the coastline meant we were never caught up in traffic. Norh Walsham with various shops and supermarkets was about 7 mins drive away (check out the old tobacconist shop which sells pipes and loose tobacco!), Wroxham for hiring boats was under half an hour, Cromer and Sheringham were about 20 mins. In short, everything felt really quite close. On the one rainy day we had there was a Magic Show place in North Walsham so even during inclement weather we were catered for quite well without having to travel too far. Mundesley beach allows dogs at either end of the stretch covered by the promenade. The east end of the beach was fantastic with softer sand and fewer pebbles the further down you went (beaches change but during our stay this stretch of the beach was far better than main drag) in addition there are plenty of other beaches which permit dogs and Trimingham was a particular favourite where you can also walk west towards the next beach, Sidestrand, and hunt fossils! In general dogs are really well catered for in the whole area with plenty of clean water bowls and cafés where they are welcome.

A really nice holiday, thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: The wet room
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Thank you for a very positive review. We have tried to make our cottage as welcoming and relaxing as possible, so that guests can enjoy their break, perhaps with their four-legged friends!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing